We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Running for the Best Wellington Mocha”
Review of Kaffee Eis

Kaffee Eis
Ranked #3 of 19 Dessert in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Description: This is Kaffee Eis original store...started in 2004 there are now 4 stores throughout Wellington specialising in locally roasted mojo coffee and their own award winning gelato.
Restaurant details
Description: This is Kaffee Eis original store...started in 2004 there are now 4 stores throughout Wellington specialising in locally roasted mojo coffee and their own award winning gelato.
Reno, Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“In the Running for the Best Wellington Mocha”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Densely chocolatey mocha, more of a snack than a drink. They also have pretty good gelato. This location is now right on Courtenay Place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    40
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gelato like Italy :)”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic place, I drool every time I walk past. They have a good selection from fruity to chocolates and although the price may put you off at first, they really do lump a whole lot into that cone do don't think you're going to ripped off. It's delicious and fantastic quality. Waffle cone is the way to go!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yummy ice cream”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Skip dessert at a restaurant and pick up an ice cream/gelato from here instead, just as Italy does it! Especially if it's a nice day to scroll along the harbour. Think there's 3 stores - near the lagoon at Frank Kitts Park, Courtenay Place and Oriental Bay

Helpful?
Thank rf80808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just my experience - The blueberry sorbet is amazing. Loved it and would have it again. But my friend and i went to Oriental Parade store, it was very busy sure. But the service was tardy. The man who served us was not happy, no smile, no friendly service. Maybe he'd just had a bad customer and it was weighing on his mind.

We got two single scoops. Handed over a $20 and got a few dollars change. We told him we had given him a $20 and he told us we were lying and had given a $10 and to get out of the store. We certainly gave him a $20.

We ended up just leaving with being short changed because it was ridiculous. I understand when you're stressed you can be busy but you really need to be sure that you're giving correct change.

As a result i wouldn't go back to this store. But i would try out some of the other Kaffee Eis'. Just make sure you know what note you're handing over. Very disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kate_adams_1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl T, Owner at Kaffee Eis, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Kate. So sorry to read you had a bad experience in one of our stores. We pride ourselves in the quality of not only our product but also our service and have obviously missed the beat on this occasion. If you email me the date of your visit I will speak to the person concerned and also resolve the short changing issue. info@kaffeeeis.co.nz. Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing ice-cream!!! ”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This place is fantastic.. If you fancy a dessert then don't walk past this place!! So many flavours of ice-cream and sorbet to choose from that you end up getting more than you planned to! I went for GingerNut and Pistachio, however all the fruit and chocolate ones looked amazing... I was at the counter for ages deciding what I wanted! I will be back to try out the rest.....

Staff are also really friendly :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaffee Eis also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Kaffee Eis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing