We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pizza in Welly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizza Pomodoro

Pizza Pomodoro
Ranked #42 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Seating, Takeout
Description: Pizza Pomodoro was founded in 2000 and since the first day has specialised in producing authentic pizzas as eaten in Italian pizzerias. Pizza Pomodoro is a small outlet, we cater to mainly takeaway and delivery, but we do have two tables available for small groups and can cater for a group of 6. NOTE the pizza is eaten out of the box. As of 2013, our pizza can now be ordered and eaten at Goldings Free Dive Bar, adjacent to the pizzeria.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Welly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Buffalina is my favourite - this place doesn't disappoint. For dine in, head to bar Goldings in the courtyard where you get order pizza from Pomorodo.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NZer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    26
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best pizza I got since I am in NZ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I come from Italy and since one year I work in NZ as a structural engineer. One of the things I was missing from my Country was the real pizza napoletana. Some my collegues and people advised me to go to Pizza Pomodoro and with great surprised I ate the most nice pizza I have never eaten since in NZ! Strongly recommended!
Adonia

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_V-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Wellington's hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Some of the BEST Authentic Italian Pizza I have ever experienced has come from this place. This small little shop tucked away behind Courtney Place is truly a hidden gem. You can watch the chef roll out the dough for your pizza, use fresh ingredients and then place it in a stone fire oven. No preservatives or artificial flavours here. Cannot recommend enough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank francella81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pizza the way it should be done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I reckon there's three tiers of pizza available 'round these parts.

On the bottom, you have Pizza Hut and Domino's, which is pretty much mass-produced cheese on toast.

In the middle you have places like Hell and Wholly Pizza, who put a lot more effort in than those on the bottom, and make reasonably decent pizzas.

And then you have that top tier. Pizza Pomodoro sits firmly within there. They make their pizzas the traditional Italian way, the bases are thin and crisp, and the ingredients beautifully fresh. Pizza doesn't need to be loaded with toppings to be good, and Pizza Pomodoro demonstrate this with simple pizzas done incredibly well. They're a bit more pricey than the other options available, but I think it's well worth the extra - you can really taste the difference, and you know you're eating art!

Next time you have a craving for pizza, give them a try. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Feral_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic traditional Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great and possibly the best traditional pizza in Wellington, mainly takeaway however they do have a couple of small tables if you would like to dine in.

Very tasty pizza and fast in shop service however avoid the delivery service as it can often take an hour to arrive at your door.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_in_paradise_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Pomodoro also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Pizza Pomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing