We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous”

Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 966 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$60
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family had a special celebration and we chose this restaurant to hold it. They were truly marvellous. Our group ranged in age from teenage to octogenarian and this was no problem whatsoever. We needed to accommodate, gifts, a cake, flowers, lots of chaos and a pleasant level of chatter - this was all accepted with aplomb and no fuss whatsoever. The table was situated very well, the food was very good and consistently well presented. There was no problem with timing, no undue delays and the timing of serving each course was very balanced, nobody had to wait unnecessarily. We had the Seafood Chowder, Dips & Bread and Tuna Carpaccio entrees, followed by the Market fish (Salmon), Lamb Pie, Angus Steak and Fish & Chips mains. Once again they were all lovely, beautifully cooked, well presented and smoothly delivered. We had birthday cake with candles, which was first delivered very nicely to our table. Our guest of honour extinguished the candles and away went the cake again to be sliced and beautifully plated for our desserts all round. Overall, the entire evening was a roaring success and I have no hesitation in coming here again or recommending this to others. Fabulous evening.

Thank Ali_Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Ali_Hawkins

Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad we managed to accommodate your needs, and ensured a successful evening! We pride ourselves on outstanding food and service, and appreciate that you feel we deliver. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Shed 5 Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 589 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We booked into Shed 5 for our Wedding anniversary, as apart from being the few top Restaurants being open on a Monday night, our previous Lunch Dinning experience last year was very good. We were greeted and seated with an introduction from our waitress who was looking after us for the night. Service was impeccable. Starters of Oyster Kirkpatrick was as described with a very tasty grilled topping, Venison Cutlet was nicely finished and plentiful for an entrée. The Duck and Ox tongue was initially disappointing as we couldn't find the tongue, when we approached the waiter he advised he would look into it, our waitress then arrived and advised it would be under the duck, under closer examination it was not there at all, the waitress apologised and arrived with an extra portion of Ox Tongue which was very flavoursome, although the juices from the Duck would have completed it nicely. The pork was average a little on the tough side and no Crackling but abundance of fat. After finishing a sparkling water with our wine the waitress took the empty bottle away and replace with a fresh one, at $9-00 a bottle it would have been courteous to ask if we required another bottle rather than just deliver it to the table. We shared a dessert of home made ice cream and profiteroles which were a lovely finish.
Overall a nice dining experience apart from the main initially being incomplete which you would not expect from this class of Restaurant. The price was good value for money and no hesitation in going back for lunch or dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Welltravellednz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Mark H,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you felt your service was ‘impeccable’; we understand how much of an effect this can have towards having a superb experience, as adverse to just a good one. However, please accept our apologies concerning the bottled water being added to your bill without asking. This has been noted, and in turn reiterated to our wait staff that this is not acceptable. We are sorry to hear that your experience in regards to your food was not of the high standards expected. The product should be of the highest quality, so it is disappointing to hear that the pork was average, and these comments have been passed on to the chef. In regards to the missing ox tongue, we apologise for this mistake; it is a new dish and this element was unfortunately forgotten. We guarantee you that we have fine-tuned the lows you experienced when dining with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to try our new menu.

Kind regards,

Shed 5 Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

On Queens Wharf, phone 499-9069. Be sure you are in the right place, and not the attached Crab Shack. Great fresh fish, delicious and creative salads. Beer, wine, liquors, and cocktails. A really great meal all around. Great service, that perfect balance between attentiveness and restraint, but the waiters will engage in good conversation if invited.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

GreggSt_Louis,

So happy to hear you had a pleasant evening with us here at Shed 5. We believe we offer food and service of the highest standard, and appreciate that you feel the same. We look forward to welcome you back on another occasion, and encourage you to try our sister restaurant Crab Shack; they have an equally delicious range of seafood on offer!

Kind regards,

Shed 5 management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We entertained business colleagues at the restaurant for an evening meal.
My serving was returned to the kitchen twice. An apology was received from the front of house staff with the explanation that it was the chef's first night.
I was not charged for the meal. As the diners at the table had completed their meals by the time my second offering arrived, I left the restaurant without eating.
The wait staff were ambivalent about what had happened.
We have dined for many years throughout New Zealand with wonderful food at all times.
It is not the fact that we will never dine there again but the negative comments I made to numerous clients on both Islands

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lynn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Lynn h,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your dining experience with ours was a disappointing one; we strive to provide service and food of the best quality. In reflection of this evening, there were teething issues occurring with new staff, and the subsequent training of them. However, this is not something that should have been used to excuse your negative experience, and we apologize that your situation was not alerted to the Maître d’ on duty. We hope to welcome you on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Shed 5 Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Thought this place would be wonderful, but it was only average. View of the harbor area is blocked by other dock buildings, the service was slow, food wasn't exciting and I ordered brussel sprouts and they were awful! Prices are all high in NZ, but this restaurant was par with others of similar value. But the meal was disappointing over all.

Thank dreamtraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dreamtraveler4,

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear you didn't feel we lived up to expectations. Slow or inattentive service is unacceptable, and we are always trying to improve on this front, as we know what a difference it can make to your dining experience. We are disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy the food; we feel it is something we consistently excel in. We think the quality of the produce is reflected in the price, with all our fish being sourced, and then filleted on site daily, by our fishmonger Richard Waru. The menu is completed with comfort food classics with a twist, using only the best, seasonal ingredients. This being said, we are sorry that you were underwhelmed with our offerings, and warmly welcome you back next time you stop off in Wellington, to try our new arrivals on the menu.

Kind regards,

Shed 5 Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing