We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best dining experiences”
Review of The White House Restaurant - CLOSED

The White House Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: This is an exciting and stylish new restaurant led by well-known and award-winning Chef, Paul Hoather. The impeccable style of this stunning restaurant showcases the menu which is the very best and the freshest seafood and local produce. It's Chef Paul's creativity, his unparalleled experience, and his passion for exceptionally fine food that make every meal an experience par excellence.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Went here for a special occasion during our visit in Wellington.

Could not have made a better choice. Had the 10-course tasting menu which was outstanding. Also had the wine menu and the wines matched the dishes perfectly.

We were lucky to have a table at the window so we enjoyed the view over the beach and the skyline of Wellington.

Service was great and no hurries - we arrived at 8 p.m. and left around 11.15 after a great experience.

If we ever come back to Wellington we will RUSH bach.

Thank Hanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Wow, that is great feedback, thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I will make sure our team get your comments. Next time you are in Wellington we will be in our new location right on the waterfront overlooking the boat marina and our wonderful museum Te Papa. Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for The White House Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Walked up a narrow staircase to the restaurant. Has the feel of a private residence. Sat by the window with a great view of Wellington waterfront. Selected the 10 course degustation menu without wine match. Limited wine list for a fine dining venue. Had a radish in a clay pot with pumpernickel and cheese as the soil. To start. Cute ideal and good taste. South Coast crayfish a mush in rolled cucumber disappointing. Three small scallops seared from the US just ok. Mango sorbet as palate cleanser as a bar of soap very funny. Duck breast good, Venison great! Farmhouse cheese in mouse trap very very cute. Strawberries, lemon verbena and petit fours for dessert. Great service, good food, inventive presentation and a very expensive dinning experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spookyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hi SpookyFlorida, Many thanks for your feedback. We like to have fun with some of our dishes, especially on the menu degustation so pleased that you enjoyed most of it. We are in the process of reviewing our wine list prior to moving locations this may be why you found it limited. Regards Louise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I went there with my boyfriend for his Bday. I told it to the lady who took my booking a month before. Nobody called me on the D day to confirm the table so I called back. We started with 2 glasses of Billecart and then took the 10 courses degustation menu without wine match. We took a bottle of white wine to start with but I was disappointed because the wine list was different on the website and on paper so was the wine! Not the same year so not the same taste. A friend of mine who is sommelier advised me for the wine… Then we took a red one to follow and that was better. They do not seem to have a proper sommelier. It is sad for a place like this one… Regarding the food, all was very nice… Presentation, taste, explanations by the waiter. There were fancy touches for the presentation, that was great. For the Bday touch, my boyfriend has Happy Birthday written on his plate with chocolate. No candle. They could do better for the price we pay!
Anyway, we had a great time and do not regret! I highly recommend it for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma75015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Emma, Thank you for your review, we appreciated your comments. We usually confirm all bookings so I'm not sure why your booking wasn't confirmed. I have reiterated to all staff the need to confirm all bookings. We have recently appointed a sommelier who has just started as it was a gap that we had identified. Kindest regards. Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The White House seems to think of it's self as a bastion of high cuisine in New Zealand but nothing could be further from the truth. The menu selection was so limited our party of four all ordered the same main dish because nothing else was remotely interesting. Our food (fish of the day) was adequate but was swimming in a white cream sauce that diminished the natural flavor of the fish. Interesting selection of wines by the glass but don't expect a generous or even an average pour. Service was overly friendly bordering on sarcastic.

Skip this place as I'm sure Wellington has better to offer!

Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Tom. We were very disappointed to read that you hadn't had a good experience with us. We have never had a problem before with a lack of choice on the menu for out guests. We will always do a special dish for guests on request. Kindest regards Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I've been to the White House a few times and consider it amongst the best dining I've had. We went this time for my daughter's birthday. From the first, service was attentive and helpful, our waiter being very knowledgeable about the menu. We started with a bouche amusement which cleansed the palate nicely. I had the fish of the day as did one of my daughters, my husband had the lamb and my other daughter the pumpkin and amaretti ravioli. All were beautifully cooked and presented, with the flavours delicately balanced. The girls shared a cheese platter - very generous serving. My husband and I both had the chocolate - blancmange with mandarin and other delicious things. The wine list is extensive, ranging from the ridiculously expensive to some more affordable. The view of wellington Harbour is wonderful. A memorable evening, with the meal well spaced, allowing us time to talk and savour the food,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Sharron C. Many thanks for the wonderful review. We are thrilled that you and the family had such a wonderful evening. Kindest regards Paul and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White House Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing