We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal and service, cool bar”

Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #69 of 917 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Zibibbo is situated in the historic Taranaki Street Police Station building in Central Wellington, and is co-owned / co-run by two award-winning chefs: Michelin Star rated Adam Newell and Glen Taylor. This iconic restaurant and tapas bar is renowned for its Mediterranean inspired cuisine. Relax in the lounge bar, sample a selection from Zibibbo’s famous tapas platter or a wood-smoked pizza while enjoying modern & classic cocktails and a wide selection of kiwi craft beers. For the discerning diner, the casual yet sophisticated restaurant upstairs presents fresh local ingredients prepared by some of New Zealand’s finest chefs, together with great service and an extensive wine list; all available at reasonable everyday Wellington prices. Private dining room also available for up to twenty people. We cater for all dietary requirements: Gluten free, dairy free, vegetarians, vegans, allergies, low FODMAP, and anything else you can think of! It’s great to know in advance, so let us know at the time of booking, but we can also cope if you just let us know at the time of ordering
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great meal and service, cool bar”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a great meal here with excellent service, and would definitely recommend trying this place. The bar downstairs has a great atmosphere - great for a pre-dinner cocktail or a post-meal dram.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stokes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    67
    41
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
314 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely food. Just took too long”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Had to wait an hour for our starters tonight which has put me off. When the food came it was great. Had the risotto for starters, steak for main and the yummy apple crumble. The food was lovely but the service left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing - but nice pizza.”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We went to Zibibbo having been told great things about their food - so had high expectations. Unfortunately they didn't live up to reputation on our visit for fine dining. We had a range of appetizers and mains with sides - but the pizza was our favourite. We found it highly priced. If you go for good pizza you'll be happy. The atmosphere was relaxed and pleasant, but the service was a little slow.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AbbeyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Glad we went”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

As is popular with others we shared the Tapas platter for two which was pretty delicious, then had separate desserts. We had dinner here before heading to a show at the St James theatre and made the staff aware of this. They kept this in mind and ensured that we were finished with our meal with enough time to make it to our show. Overall a pretty nice dining experience although certainly on the pricier side of things.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b_and_d_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Up to the best standard”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We dined at Zibibbo on a Friday night, arriving without reservation and being seated after the very welcoming hostess said she would have a table ready in 2 minutes. The place was busy - always a good sign. The dining area is up a fairly steep flight of stairs from a snug bar below. When we arrived there were patrons enjoying tapas with their drinks there, but don't be fooled that this is the restaurant. Signs directed us upstairs for that.

We began with an aperitif and a fine gin martini was presented - very well made, although a little on the meager side. Entrees consisted of mushroom risotto and seafood chowder. The risotto was absolutely fantastic - a wonderful infusion of truffle, mushrooms and parmesan with the rice cooked to perfection. The seafood chowder was one of the best I have tasted and, though a modest portion, the density of the seafood in it meant that it was filling and delicious.

For the main courses we tried the pork and duck. The former was served on an apple mash which was declared "divine" and came with wilted spinach. The duck dish was a breast cooked perfectly (the advertised confit leg was not available and the breast clearly was not confit, despite assurances to the contrary) and came with a puy lentil and cabbage accompaniment which lent the dish a deep taste reminiscent of coriander - wonderful. We chose polenta chips (served with parmesan flakes), a beautiful beetroot salad and citrus wilted spinach as sides which each tasted sensational.

But the dessert really made the meal. We had seen it being carried to tables as we arrived - a house specialty of "dessert tapas". One to share was more that enough and it was superb. If you are in Wellington and want dessert after a show, a visit to Zibibbo just for this dish would be well worth the trouble. It consisted of 5 separate dessert tastes: an "Eton mess" (cream, berries and meringue), sorbet cones, mascarpone with melon served as a boiled egg with shortbread dipping "soldiers", berry jelly macaroons and a creme brulee served with vanilla churros dusted with spice. We were talking about it all the next day, it was so good.

Wines are served by the glass, the bottle or by the (half bottle) carafe, a very good option which too few restaurants adopt. The main courses were enjoyed with a carafe of fine Akarua Pinot Noir.

Our meal for two with cocktails, three courses and 2 wines came to NZD283, so the place is not cheap if you go all out. But the pricing of individual menu items (entrees high teens and mains in the mid 30's) mean that you can enjoy very good dining for a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing