We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal self contained B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Longford, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ideal self contained B&B”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We enjoyed our 2 nights staying in the Garden Suite. Our Host was a gentlemen and nothing seemed to much trouble. The room and facilities were as described on the website and everything was clean and the suite was spacious. We enjoyed the location of it and the breakfast provisions were more the adequate. Overall a lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed in the studio and found it to be exactly as described on the website and perfect for our
three day stay. The location is first rate, just ten minutes downhill to the waterfront (fifteen back - it's quite a steep hill) and a ten minute drive to the airport. The breakfast provided is pretty good as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed in the garden suite for 4 nights, with our 6year old daughter. This place was perfect for us! It is very clean,in a quiet street and situated just 10min walk from center Wellington.
We loved having the little garden for ourselves. This brings a lot of light in the apartment.
Also good to have a parking spot in one of the garage. We were also able to use the washing machine, free of charge, situated in the private section of the house.
Wellington is a great city, If we go back, we surely book this B&B again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Disclaimer: A drop-down section requires that you enter a date of stay. It only goes back one year. Our stay was in March 2009, NOT October 2010.

Tired of staying in the Cuba Quarter (as we had on previous visits), we wanted someplace quieter, yet within walking distance to town, and near to our friend who lives in Hataitai. This property fit the bill - charming, private, quiet, clean and well-appointed. We stayed in the Studio Suite. It is self-contained, small and cozy-comfortable for two, but well laid out so you could entertain a guest(s) in the dining/living room area and not feel like you were in the bedroom. (Note: if you require a bit more privacy, the Garden Suite would probably be more to your liking as it has a separate bedroom.)

An ample continental breakfast is provided. I recall having eggs available, but we may have well picked them up ourselves at the market. (Over our month-long holiday, I developed a taste for 3-minute eggs, soldier fingers and Marmite 8D.)

They have off-street carpark available which was very much appreciated. Trying to find street parking on Mount Victoria is like trying to find parking in most neighborhoods of San Francisco, ie, difficult. Although we didn't hire a car, it was available to our friend so he could easily drive up to visit.

We stayed 4 or 5 nights. Zarli was a warm and wonderful host, making us feel very welcome. I don't recall there being any restrictions using the wifi as previous posters have mentioned, but then we weren't there to download movies onto our computer or "Watch Instantly" on Netflix.

Word of caution: The stairs from the street to the house are rather steep and were not wheelchair accessible at the time we were there. Also, the property is not suitable for children. If neither is an issue, be prepared for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badlittledogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at Austinvilla for five days of our honeymoon. It is a quiet, comfortable B&B halfway up the hillside of Mount Victoria, just a few minutes' walk from Wellington's bustling downtown. We loved it there; the Garden Suite has a private entrance and is entirely self-contained. It became our own little retreat, and we were very happy there.

Zarli, our host, is very helpful and friendly, with maps and advice for seeing the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chazathoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

SUMMARY - The garden suite is very charming and located in a pleasant, quiet residential neighbourhood within walking distance of central Wellington.

FACILITIES - The garden suite has a large double room, a large bathroom with bath tub and shower; a reasonably sized kitchen/lounge area. Cooking facilities included hobs, microwave and mini-grill. SkyTV and free WiFi available. Small, private garden with outdoor table accessed via French windows. Off street parking available.

STANDARD - Lovely decoration, charming architecture and design. Felt very homely. Only minor comment is that although WiFi is free, you are given a little note asking you not to use it too much which feels bizarre... a bit like asking guests not to shower for too long or flush the toilet too often!

Highly recommended if visiting Wellington.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

This is a wonderful little B&B which feels more like a boutique hotel. We were made very welcome and the breakfast was fantastic (see photo). We stayed in the studio which was small, but perfectly appointed, with everything you might need. The design is beautiful and tasteful, making it a lovely place to relax. Austinvilla is in a quiet area, but a short walk down the hill lands you right in the middle of everything. The only person I wouldn't recommend Austinvilla to would be my grannie, as the steps up to the house would be a challenge.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
#4 of 45 in Wellington
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast

Property: Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 Austin Street | Mt Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Mt Victoria's elegant turn-of-the-century villas with its leafy garden setting and historic residential neighbourhood, Austinvilla B&B offers you the charming character and relaxed comfort of a real home. No need to share facilities here as our two fully-equipped, self-contained apartments let you enjoy the peace and privacy of your own space to unwind in. Superbly located just minutes walk from the vibrant central city precinct and local attractions, Austinvilla is your perfect base from which to explore Wellington. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing