We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
40
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suiteself contained apartmentoff street parkingnew zealandtown centrequiet locationeach morningwithin walking distanceaccommodationlinensluggagekitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2009

My partner Sebastian and I used the Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast as a base for our week-long stay in Wellington to visit family and friends - and what a great base it was.

Located about five minutes walk from the heart of Wellington's restaurant and bar scene, the guesthouse is ideally located. It's on a short, but steep, hill, which may be useful to note for some people who are not so mobile (but then again most of Wellington's streets are steep given the geology of the place). I totally agree with the comments about the echoes of San Francisco as the guesthouse has a relaxed, charming feel to it.

We stayed in the self-contained garden flat, which is furnished elegantly in a clean, modern, but comfortable style, making great use of the space. The flat was also extremely clean and tidy (important for a neat freak like me!). Wellington-based friends who visited the guesthouse all commented on the standard of decor and noted it for recommendation to other visitors. It's worth mentioning that the flat was also well-appointed for the self-catering option, which we'd selected.

Zarli was an excellent host and made us feel very welcome. He was relaxed and non-intrusive, checking in from time to time to make sure everything was OK, which it invariably was.

We would happily recommend the Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast to anyone who wants an elegant and relaxing experience in a excellent location.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We spent 3 nights in Austinvilla in January 2009 while in Wellington visiting friends. We stayed in the self contained garden suite. Located a short walk from the city and oriental bay (the harbour) - this is a great place to stay in Wellington. It is a wonderful old Victorian wooden house with character and the rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Austinvilla is a lovely B&B in the heart of Wellington. A great selection of bars and restaurants are all reached within a 5/10 minute walk and the Te Papa museum and harbour are only a few minutes on from that.

We had a self contained one bedroom apartment which had it's own entrance from a small garden, also for our use. It was spotlessly clean and had lovely furnishings - with a very nice, comfy bed. Breakfast was continental and left for us in the kitchen each morning, which meant that we could get up at our leisure. Zarli, our host, was very welcoming and gave us great tips on places to go - including Victoria Peak (a 5 min drive from Austinvilla) which was fantastic at sunset and had great views of Wellington. Would definitely stay here again if ever back in Wellington.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

Austinvilla is a gem of a boutique B&B in Wellington which is located a perfect distance away from the hub-hub of downtown and a short (but strenuous uphill) walk from the summit of Mt Victoria. Gorgeous, stylish furnishings, a beautiful view, delicious breakfast and a serene atmosphere make it a great choice for a romantic getaway. We stayed for only 2 nights but wished we could have spent a week there.
Our only critique is that we felt it lacked the warmth we encountered at all the other small B&B's we stayed at during our 3-week long trip across New Zealand. As soon as we arrived, we were given quite a long induction on the dos & don'ts we had to follow. I understand that the owners want to retain their privacy but they could have communicated the "rules" to us in a less repetitive, more friendly way. At NZ$ 210 per night, we were paying enough not to need to feel like we were infringing on someone else's space.
Still I'd recommend this B&B very highly - its the perfect base to explore the vibrant city of Wellington from.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chloe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We hadn't found the Austinvilla on Trip Advisor so were flying blind, but we were absolutely not sorry to have flown there. We were delighted by every aspect of this B and B apartment, from the location (a bit away from the crush of Wellington's vibrant downtown "scene", but only a short walk apart), to the accomodating, knowledgeable hosts, to the lovely, sequestered nook that was the studio apartment we came to think of as "ours". The Austinvilla is reminiscent of the best of a San Francisco enclave, almost a tree house in atmosphere, but right up the hill from some wonderful, funky restaurants, and a brisk, even more uphill climb to Mt. Victoria. The offstreet parking was a special boon in the city, so we could access our car if we wanted, but didn't have to, really, since everything was within easy distance. We loved our host's restaurant recommendation ("Hazel's") and appreciated his orienting us on the city map when we arrived, exhausted from a challenging arrival drive through the mountains. We'd love to go back -- tomorrow!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews