We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked this hotel even though we live in Wellington to have a mother/daughter day out for my 19 yr olds birthday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Hotel Wellington
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Booked this hotel even though we live in Wellington to have a mother/daughter day out for my 19 yr olds birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

The queen twin room was amazing. Huge room with 2 queen beds and room for a few more! Really lovely room and huge containers of shampoo and conditioner. Great location, super staff and good value. Free wifi an added bonus (the 19 year old thought a necessity)!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roddanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Roddanz
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel facilities. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    188
    81
    16
    9
See reviews for
131
163
14
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Loved our stay here huge lovely room the lady that helped me with taking stuff up to the room from the carpark was very friendly and helpful fans were brought up from reception to cool the room. The bed was nice and comfy and the room was so clean and tidy wish we stayed for breakfast have heard the food is amazing thanks CQ was definitely money well spent

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Nat M,
Thank you for your reviews of CQ Hotels Wellington. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The team takes great pride in the service they deliver and I was pleased to share your comments with them.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again soon.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel which to offers a very high standard of accomodation and the staff were extremely courteous and accomodating. We arrived a little early for check in but were allowed into the room as we had all our baggage and wanted to make the most of the time we had, this was our first break away from the kids in 10 years. Our flights home were cancelled due to the fog, the staff were very quick to book us back into the room we had just vacated which was very helpful of them and the room was pristine when we arrived.

Room Tip: We simply asked for a quieter room and were given one which was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear seds1 ,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
153 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

We had a big room which had floor to ceiling glass on 2 sides overlooked by office buildings - it felt like we were standing in a goldfish bowl with no privacy. We could see people in the offices around us which was disconcerting, so we had to draw the curtains for most of our stay as we were showering, changing etc.
Initially we were impressed with the size of the bed and the coffee maker, but then when we actually started using things we realized that it is one of those hip trendy hotels where the designer concentrated on it looking good but not on it being comfortable or useable. The shower room was a box with little light, so tight there wasn't room to swing a kitten never mind a cat, and a lip on the entrance which we stubbed our toes on everytime we walked in. When you turned the shower on the whole bathroom flooded, including the toilet area, so you couldn't leave clothes or towels inside, you had to leave them outside, another reason the curtains had to be closed!
To make matters worse we had 2 rooms full of young drunken students beside us and it was party central till about 4am with music and shouting.
When we checked out next morning at 8am a group of late teens/early 20's started tunelessly playing the piano in the foyer and screaming obscenities. The staff did nothing. There are apartments for long stay attached to the hotel using the same foyer, etc, and it looks as though they are popular with noisy kids.
We wouldn't recommend this hotel or stay there again. Pity as it is very central on Cuba Street.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwisLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear KiwisLA,

Thank you for taking the time to tell me about your experience at the CQ Hotels Wellington. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I have taken careful note of your comment in regards to the shower configuration and noise. Your comment will help us to develop a refurbishment plan which will ensure that our product remains at a consistent high standard. In the meantime during your next visit, we would be happy to assign one of our quieter, east-facing rooms with a bath upon request; all suites are similar but these rooms are also very spacious and we noticed that the floor doesn’t get wet as much. Please feel free to let me know when you are next in Wellington and I would be happy to assist.

In regards to the noise coming from other rooms, please note that the reception desk is opened 24hours and are available for any assistance you may required at any time during the day or the night.

Once again I appreciate you sharing your concerns and feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.

Kind regards

Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

We only went to the bar to use a grabone voucher for 4 cocktails and a platter, the cocktails were all delicious. The barman was very friendly and helpful, my partner and I had a lovely end to our night. It even makes me want to stay here when we next visit Wellington (hopefully before April). The atmosphere at the time was quiet and comfortable, the cocktails were unique - loved the mandarins in the Cosmo!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SYM999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear SYM999 ,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed the cocktails and service provided by our barman.
I look forward to welcoming you in our hotel before April then; please check on our website for specials and information about the coming events in the Capital City Wellington.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We book the twin queen for 3 adults, 2 young children (6yr and 1.5yr) and slept comfortably. The stay was in the middle of our NZ trip thus the fact that we can do our own laundry in CQ Comfort just next door really helped. $3 will do your washing and drying perfectly. The Cuba street location is just so convenient for us. Te Papa museum is around 15min walk. What bug me a bit is the odd design of the shower, the glass only cover a wee part of it so the bathroom floor will surely be all wet after every shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aastari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Good morning aastari,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
I have taking note of your comments in regards to the design of the hotel showers; your message will help us to develop new projects which will ensure the bathroom floor remain dry after every shower. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eketahuna, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Got a voucher from grabone for 4 cocktails and a platter for only $35. What a bargain. We walked up Cuba Street and found a table in the very small bar. The bar man had a lot of couples using this voucher and told us there would be a wait, no problem. The cocktails when they came were lovely. We tried 4 different ones and they were all delish. The platter was small but we just ordered another one and that was fine. There was a little altercation in the lobby but that just added to the evening! It's a great match of buildings and I wouldn't mind staying here next time. If you see a voucher for cocktails go for it. The bar man was brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Good morning ekebabe,
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the value of the cocktail promotion voucher in our CQ Bar.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Wellington

Property: Quality Hotel Wellington
Address: 223 Cuba Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Family Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Wellington is a unique complex with an exceptional personality. Ideally located on the doorstep of all the restaurants, bars, shopping and attractions for which Wellington is renowned for. Just a 10 minute walk down vibrant Cuba Street to the Wellington waterfront and Te Papa, and only 20 minutes to the Wellington Railway Station and Westpac Stadium. Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus, this modern property within the CQ complex offers hotel suites and apartments that exude style with a relaxed ambience. The Quality Hotel suites boast some of the largest hotel rooms in Wellington (32m2) and are all equipped with kitchenettes and chic bathrooms. Our CQ Executive Apartments have floor to ceiling windows for abundant natural light and are split over two levels; perfect for families, groups or colleagues sharing. It's no wonder the Quality Hotel Wellington was named one of the top 9 Quality Hotels in the world by Choice International in 2012! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing