We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel and Cuba Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Wellington
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Just stayed for three nights with husband and friends in the room opposite on the eigth floor.
We requested a higher floor as had read there was noise in Cuba Street. Did hear some noise even on the eight floor on the Thursday night but it was the beginning of the Easter weekend so a lot of parties going on. Otherwise, the size of the the room was hugh, spotlessly clean, lovely kitchenette and spa bath. What I hated most was no air conditioning, the day we arrived the room was like a sauna. We had to open the windows, close the curtins and leave until the room cooled somewhat. This seems to be a common thing in NZ though. There was only one mirror in the bathroom, would be great to have another in the bedroom area to speed up getting ready. The staff were great, always friendly, helpful and were happy to give us late check out. I loved being able to walk to some of the most amazing restaurants in NZ but minutes from the hotel.Close enough to all the sights and harbour. Not sure if Wellington is always windy, but hard to sleep at night for the noise of the wind more so than the noise from the street. Breakfast had the worst scrambled egg I have ever tasted but the young lass serving the dining room for the three days was happy to order poached eggs for us with a lovely smile.
We ate at Logan Brown (in the top best five meals I have ever had in my life) Caffee Italiano (best pizza) Scapo (not sure of the spelling, but a lovely Italian just down from the hotel) and an asian restaurant called Rams (so good, went back twice. The food is amazing and very cheap. Try the roast pork, yum!)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheddyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2010

Rooms were spacious and clean Beds were comfortable. Staff helpful but uninformed. The elvator was having maintenance done and the room phones were out. The desk staff didn't know until we told them The location on Cuba Street s within walking distance to most everything. On the block with the hotel is an xxx adult store, a tatoo parlor, a body piercing parlor and a second hand clothing store. It is a busy street and the street noise goes on until about 2 AM. It is tolerable with the windows closed. The fordt 20 MB of internet is free and cost 10 cents per MB thereafter. Parking is $15 per day.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We stayed at Quality Hotel Wellington as a group of 4 in town to watch the Aussies smash NZ in the cricket.

We booked two twin queen bed rooms and were very happy with the quality of the accomodation. This hotel was well located for us. Just a short stagger to the Basin Reserve (a great venue to watch cricket by the way...well done NZ) and situated at the lively end of Cuba Street where there was certainly lots to see and do. There's a great little Indian restaurant just a couple of doors up. Nothing flash to look at but fantastic food. A couple of very good pubs in close proximity to the hotel. Most of the nightlife is within walking distance.

The rooms themselves were very spacious as has been pointed out by other reviewers. Housekeeping was efficient and pleasant to deal with. The beds were very comfortable and the only quirk to the place was the absence of air conditioning. I find this most unusual for a modern hotel. The room was hot and stuffy after being closed up all day and required the use of the small upright fan that is supplied. The windows do open and the downside to that was the street noise from below on Friday and Saturday nights.

It seems strange to be looking at a refurb when the place is only 2 or 3 years old but the addition of ducted air con would lift the rating greatly. Having said that, we were on a north facing room and with the prevailing northerly "breeze" that seems to be constantly blowing in Wellington we were able to regulate the room temperature with the window. I'd imagine it might be a different scenario in mid summer or winter.

There was a small bar fridge in the room and a hotplate etc if you wanted to eat in. As others have mentioned, just watch the shower as if you are not careful there you will flood the bathroom floor as there's no edge to the hob. Ive seen this before in other hotels and it's manageble with care.

Desk staff were courteous and efficient. No problems with check out/ check in. Hotel buffet breakfast was good value standard buffet fare. Limited parking is available on request. Overall, a very good hotel. Excellent if they decide to air condition. Happy to recommend to friends and would be happy to stay again if say.... we go over to watch the Wallabies beat up on the All Blacks ?? (might be dreaming there)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We booked this place based on positive Trip Advisor reviews and were surprised that it didn't rate higher as we loved it. The room was modern and very spacious and perfect for us and our small daughter. We made use of the gym, which was small but well-equipped, and the small swimming pool. The location was fabulous - as we didn't have a car, this was the perfect base from which to explore Wellington and we loved the cafes and restaurants in Cuba Street (Floriditas down the road was excellent, and the Italiano's cafe just below the hotel had a great 2 for 1 deal on main courses on a Monday and Tuesday). Very little to fault - only criticism would be that the receptionist wasn't able to answer our query about how best to get to the ferry terminal (in the end we plumped for a taxi, which was the cheapest option at under $20). Limited free internet, which was useful to check emails. All in all, we'd recommend this to couples and families looking for an attractive, clean and well-located base in Wellington with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniedownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

The Quality Hotel is in a great location, with restaurants and shops in close walking distance. Our room was huge and had a little kitchenette. The only downside was that we had to park our car on Cuba St overnight because their parking lot was full. Overnight someone smashed something into our windshield and we had to have it replaced. The staff was very helpful in letting us use phones to deal with this problem. I would definitely stay here again, but be careful where you park.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
Thank MC1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed Sat and Sun and thought it was quite hard to find at first, and when we did hubby had to park right down Cuba Street as there was no parks out the front and i had to walk to go and check in and find out where the carparking was. Room was huge, modern and clean but quite warm, the 2 windows only opened a tiny bit and we had no balcony.The bathroom was clean and modern but the glass shower curtain thingy wasnt long enough and the water from the shower went all over the floor. I loved the curtains in our room,very stylish! We liked the fitness room, and the pool looked lovely but we never got to use it. It is very close to everything, we walked to TePapa and theres heaps of food places nearby,you'll never go hungry. We didnt need to use our car at all , thought the $15 car parking per day was a bit steep. When quoted i thought it was for the both days ,as she said "car parking is an extra $15" i didnt realise it was each day. The first lady at reception was a bit frosty, when i checked in i said we got quite lost trying to find them and she didnt acknowledge me at all, no smile etc. When we checked out there was a different lady, i never got asked how our stay was. However we would probably stay again but would ask for a room with a balcony, but would mostly see if theres somewhere else to try first.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livewire0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We were amazed at the size of the double rooms (length & width) with two queen size beds, desk/work area, good comfy seats, a kitchenett that was closer to a full kitchen and a great bathroom, everything with modern fixtures & fittings, still with enough space to move around, kids to play and spread out. The rest of the hotels facilities including pool & spa were also very good. The rooms were also quite for being in the inner city with the normal hussel and bussle that goes on. Reception and customer service was excellent.

The only things to be aware was that as we stayed straight after new years the hotel resturant was only open for breakfasts (which was very good) and not lunch or dinner. However as Cuba street has so many close by cafes, resturants and eatery's it was great to try some where new each day. Also don't expect fab open views as it's inner city and not a full high rise so the views can be to the rooms/apartments across the way or other city areas however you can still get to see the sky and whats going on which is cool. One tip concerning parking is that there is normally plenty of free parking from 6pm onwards on the rear enterance street or even upper Cuba St so we did not have to pay for the hotel reserved parking.

We have travelled a lot as a couple and with our children (2yrs & 4yrs) and would rate this as one of the best for accommodation and value. The close by shopping is also excellent. Since staying in Jan 09 we have returned as individuals on business and have recommended this place to a number of friends on business and leisure and all have had similar excellent experiences.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2MEKES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 47 in Wellington
647 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Wellington

Address: 223 Cuba Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#10 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £62 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Wellington is a unique complex with an exceptional personality. Ideally located on the doorstep of all the restaurants, bars, shopping and attractions for which Wellington is renowned for. Just a 10 minute walk down vibrant Cuba Street to the Wellington waterfront and Te Papa, and only 20 minutes to the Wellington Railway Station and Westpac Stadium. Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus, this modern property within the CQ complex offers hotel suites and apartments that exude style with a relaxed ambience. The Quality Hotel suites boast some of the largest hotel rooms in Wellington (32m2) and are all equipped with kitchenettes and chic bathrooms. Our CQ Executive Apartments have floor to ceiling windows for abundant natural light and are split over two levels; perfect for families, groups or colleagues sharing. It's no wonder the Quality Hotel Wellington was named one of the top 9 Quality Hotels in the world by Choice International in 2012! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing