We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time in Wellington - thanks to our hosts”
Review of Gardens Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gardens Homestay
Ranked #5 of 48 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ingolstadt, Germany
2 reviews
“A wonderful time in Wellington - thanks to our hosts”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our stay at gardens homestay was wonderful. The house is beautiful and our hosts Neil and Sally were simply amazing. They provided us with a lovely plan on how to walk around the city and what to see. Most of all we enjoyed spending time with them chatting over a nice cup of tea. Breakfast was delicious, especially the homemade Muesli :). We will make sure to come back to this lovely B&B on our next visit to Wellington

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaT30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Eva-Maria and Susann were charming guests from Germany and wonderful ambassadors for their country. It was our pleasure to host them and direct them to Wellington's points of interest. We'd love to see them here again, until then - Auf Wiedersehen!
Sally and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Every good thing that other reviewers have said about The Gardens Homestay is true! The house is absolutely beautiful--an Edwardian gem. The accommodations are more than comfortable with a complete sitting area in addition to the bedroom. The location is super convenient, a block from the beautiful botanic gardens, and shops and restaurants are around the corner. He biggest value add, though were the fun and stimulating conversations with the owners, Neil and Sally. We got directions for a full walking tour of Wellington and great suggestions for places to eat. The tasty breakfast will keep you going for the whole day. I'm ready for a return trip already.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blue74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for the kind words, Pat and Peggy. It was a pleasure to host our American guests and having spent many years in the US it's like a visit from friends! TripAdvisor continues to send the nicest people to our door and we are grateful for the privilege of receiving them as our guests.
Sally and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
247 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our four nights with Neil and Sally . Where to start...well the house is lovely and we had a great suite although the bed was a little firm for our taste...others may like it of course. Neil was very welcoming when we arrived and every afternoon when we returned hot from our explorations we enjoyed a drink and a chat with him. The house is just walking distance from several reasonably priced restaurants which I liked very much ...no long trips to get food. Sally is an excellent cook and breakfasts are great...the only downside is that if you are like us and not very early starters, then Sally has to get off to work mid week early some days so breakfast compromises might be needed. One day we enjoyed bacon sandwiches cooked by Neil which were very good! Neil has a limited cooking repertoire!!!! Great conversation is also part of the package, Neil is an enthusiastic entrepreneur and Sally works in parliament so the conversation is broad and interesting! The only other downside is that it is on a steep hill so manoeuvring the car and luggage is a little tricky although we just left the car there on two full days so that shows you how easy it is to get around Wellington. Neil was also very quick to help with the luggage up the hill. Thank you Neil and Sally for making us so welcome in your lovely house.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinhood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
It's nice to have Gardens Homestay described as a "Wonderful, comfortable base" by our guests. While the bed may have been a bit firm for our reviewers, we're amazed by how many guests say: "That's the best night's sleep I've had in ages!"

We find most guests want breakfast at 8 am so they can get out by 9 am and explore the city. However, four days a month Sally needs to leave for work at 8.20 am to meet with senior MP's in her job as Executive Assistant at Parliament making an 8 am breakfast necessary (Yes - Sally is a much better cook than me!)

I always offer to move and park the car for guests as many people dislike driving on hills and helping with luggage is the norm around here. We want to help our guests in any way that we possibly can. Of course, the best part about the hill is that the views are great!

Thanks again for visiting us. We're pleased that you felt welcome in our home - that's exactly what we want.

Neil Harrap
Gardens Homestay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Make sure you stay here if you are in Wellington! Neil & Sally are wonderful hosts who welcomed us into their beautiful Edwardian home. Facilities are excellent, and it's easy to walk into town to visit the main attractions.Fantastic breakfasts too. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Once again we are treated to wonderful, well traveled guests! Richard and Margaret's company was so enjoyable, we had several lovely and interesting conversations, one was beside the fire as there was a cold snap (in February!) Having only one suite means that we're relaxed with our guests and can focus on their needs. Thanks again TripAdvisor, you send us the best people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were tired and very sore, having just completed the 33.5 miles of the gorgeous Milford Track, and our flight from Queenstown was delayed, so we were very late in our arrival. Our spirits perked up immediately upon viewing this splendid B & B, especially when we saw the American flag flown for our benefit! And with such a warm welcome from both Neil and Sally, our spirits continued to improve, especially upon seeing the beautifully appointed suite that was pure luxury after our hiking lodges! We slept like logs in the comfortable bed and loved everything about our suite. Sally makes an incredible breakfast and is a whiz at poached eggs! Both Neil and Sally are amazing hosts, warm, knowledgeable, engaging, and interesting. We enjoyed wine by the pool, loved meeting their charming daughter, Nina, and felt fortunate to be able to do some laundry. Neil took us to the top of the hill to Stellin park for an eye-popping view of Wellington. He also referred us to a delicious restaurant in the Tinakori village named Aubergine. We cannot say enough about how wonderful this B & B is! Stay here and you will feel pampered! Neil and Sally are the absolute cat's meow in terms of B & B hosts!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylance67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
For reasons unknown to us, Gardens Homestay attracts the most interesting and wonderful guests! Perhaps it's because they find us on TripAdvisor, the discerning traveller's guide? Whatever it is, our guests are the best and this charming couple were right at the top! Well travelled, knowledgable and personable, we were sad to see them leave. Taking them for a little side trip to see the panorama of Wellington was a real pleasure. Thank you TripAdvisor, for sending us the finest of world travellers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were in a bind trying to find a B & B in Wellington (as there was a World Cup qualifying football game in the city that we did not know about) and lucky for us we found this B & B. Sometimes good things happen and this was certainly one of them. The house is fabulous, the accommodations were top of the line and Neil and Sally topped it off by being wonderful hosts. Due to the soccer game and as the B & B was booked, we were going to leave Wellington the next day but Neil and Sally made arrangements for us to stay another night - they really put themselves out to help us. If you are going to Wellington, this is the B & B for you. John & Laurie Horrocks - Canada

Room Tip: Get Neil to show you his garage - the guys will love it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
We were pleased to be able to come to the rescue of Laurie and John with an alternative room that we don't normally book. Wellington was buzzing with the excitement of the World Cup soccer match and every hotel and B&B was full. Then they were lucky enough to get tickets at the last minute to a great soccer event and enjoy the party atmosphere that prevailed in the city.
Lovely people, probably the perfect guests!
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed with Neil, Sally and Nina for 3 nights and were very pleased we did! This is a truly splendid home in a suburb of Wellington which Neil and Sally are more than happy to share with their guests. The room is fantastic; spacious, light, well decorated and furnished, and comfortable. Being in a suburb provides the best of both worlds; an easy walk into the City but away from all the mayhem. We loved it. Neil and Sally are extremely generous and clearly passionate about catering for guests' every need. They are interesting and interested and breakfast conversations were illuminating and enjoyable. A little more expensive than the other excellent places we stayed but we thought it was worth it. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarebitwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
We were very fortunate to host this delightful family from Wales. Phil and Babs were visiting Wellington to visit their daughter who is practicing medicine here. Part of the pleasure for us was the lovely interaction between parents and daughter as they had not seen each other for some months.
Sally and I are pleased that their experience here was so positive and that their stay with us was so comfortable.
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
4.7 mi away
Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Homestay

Property: Gardens Homestay
Address: 11 St. Mary Street | Thorndon, Wellington, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gardens Homestay Bed and Breakfast was built in 1892 and lovingly restored during the 1990s. Your hosts are Fly by Wire Ride inventor Neil Harrap and his wife Sally Guinness. The elegant facade features stained glass, iron lacework verandah and bay windows. We're located in historic Thorndon, five minutes walk to Parliament and downtown Wellington. We're two minutes walk to the Botanic Gardens and many cafes, restaurants and specialty shops on historic Tinakori Road. Bird Sanctuary Zealandia is located three minutes drive away, a paradise for birdwatchers. 24 Hour parking provided at the door. We have one suite only and take one party of guests at a time so as to ensure the best of attention. Read our reviews to see what our guests have to say. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing