We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wellington City Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 March 2012

After a multitude of planes, trains and automobiles throughout the South Island, we arrived at this lovely Bed and Breakfast in Wellington to have a restful relaxing stay. Both Jeff and Dean were initially out, but we were provided detailed information prior to our arrival. Our room was full of helpful information, including restaurant recommendations (which we used and were very happy to have done so). Met up with both owners later that night and were invited to a glass (perhaps glasses for me - blush) of wine and very fun conversation. The living and sleeping quarters were really nice and the price makes this an absolute bargain. Traveled as a couple and would return again. The next day, both gents took us to the train station - which, at 6:45 in the morning, is as nice and unexpected as it gets. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cacetait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at City B&B for just one night about a year ago and I've been meaning to write this review for a long time, the house is gorgeous, located within walking distance from the city center. The hosts were really friendly and very helpful - they even drove us down to the ferry the morning after. This is just one of those places that really sticks out in your memory. Book!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgklotet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Would recommend to anyone staying in Wellington. Good accommodation, nice atmosphere and great location.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Bendy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

City B&B can be found at the very top of Majoribanks street, at the top of the hill. We stayed for two nights in the B&B room in the main house.
The room had a lovely double bed with an en-suite shower room. It also had doors onto a small patio area which would be fab to sit out in during the summer. The quality of the room is of a high standard with a small book exchange and plenty of information about the local area and comes with free wi-fi. The B&B is next to mount victoria so would be great if you are looking for views of wellington.
Breakfast was help yourself in the kitchen but still extremely good with a choice of cereals and museli. Different breads and Jams and some lovely fruit,yoghurt and muffins.
We didn't see much of the hosts but when we did, both Jeff and Dean were chatty and easy to get on with, Calvin the cat is also lovely.
The B&B I thought was in a fantastic location for all the bars and restaurants in and around Courtenay Place. It also walkable to Te Papa and the city centre shops.. Mind you the hill on the way back may be a killer!
All in all an excellent value for money place to stop in Wellington

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was our first experience of a Kiwi Bed and Breakfast as we travelled for 3 weeks north/south island. What a pleasure. This was our 1st holiday in nz but the hospitality which we received from Dean and Jeff was second to none and was very re-assuring. Dean met us from the railway station and after 2 nhts took us to the airport He neednt have done either but merely told us this was part of the service! We were immediately made to feel at home and the accommodation was first class Our hosts were at hand if we needed anything but were totally unobtrusive Yes their home is at the top of a hill but if 2 60 yrs young couple managed without an effort surely this didnt present a problem Good luck to you both and thank you for your kindness luv to Oliver Lynn and Margaret Jones

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed for two nights at City Bed and Breakfast. Received with a warm welcome from Jeff and Dean, nibbles and drinks overlooking Wellington from near Mount Victoria. City B&B is very well located for walking access to the city with lots of good restaurants and bars nearby: the walk into the city is much easier than the walk back as it's quite hilly in this area. We stayed in a ground floor room, toilet is not ensuite and there is no lock on the room door but this is not a problem as the basement is for you only. The self service breakfast is very good and the mid floor shared living room is very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffanddean, Owner at Wellington City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

As we only have one guest room in our home we do not feel it is necessary to have locks on any doors, except the bathrooms. Our office and bedroom on the top floor does not have any locks either.

The guest bathroom, with shower and basin, is ensuite however the seperate toilet is just outside the guest bedroom door. For any future guests reading this review, please note that the toilet is for your sole use and is very discreetly located. We mainly live on the top floor, and the middle floor contains the shared living area. The ground floor, with courtyard is for your exclusive use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Jeff and Dean's place is straight up the hill from the Embassy Theatre and at the base of Alexandra Park overlooking the city. The room is well appointed and has its own garden. The kitchen shared with the guys is stocked with lots of goodies for breakfast. They gave us great instructions on how to get around and things to see and were very welcoming. No surprise this place is rated #1. If only we could take Calvin back with us.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarheaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 46 in Wellington
682 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,670 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington City Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington City Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Lawson Place | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: £63 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington City Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A funky townhouse in downtown Wellington, built 2017. Self-contained studio with private entrance and courtyard. Or Queen room with ensuite bathroom in main house . All day continental breakfast (optional for studio). Wireless Internet. Parking. Please note, earlier reviews and photos relate to older property, now replaced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Wellington City Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City b&b
City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing