We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Outlet Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Outlet Holiday Park
Ranked #128 of 1,091 Speciality Lodging in South Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in the Cottage. We will be back we enjoyed it so much. If you want to go somewhere for peace an quite then this is the place. We walked the 3km to Albert Town along the river it was lovely. The cottage has two bedrooms, Kitchen, lounge open plan great views apart from one tree I wanted to cut down. Its a comfortable little cottage has everything you need.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

About 5 minutes out of Wanaka/town, Albert Town is just 3kms in the other direction around the lake (which has basic dairy/pub/fish and chip stores).
Beautiful, isolated location. Big camping ground, plenty of other campers around but everybody has their own semi-private areas.
1 minute and you're on the lake front, amazing lake and mountain views.
We had a bush cabin, which had a king bed (or two king singles together) and a bunk bed. Heater was provided. Very comfortable beds!
24hr internet kiosk or you can purchase wifi usage. Fast wifi.
Staff that we dealt with were brilliant, friendly and made us feel very welcome with our dog. We didn't see them at all except for booking in/out which was really nice, they leave campers to their own devices but are always available if needed.
Yes you have to pay for the showers, but at the time of booking in they gave us enough change (out of our our accommodation fee we had paid) to cover for all of our showers!
Bikes are available to hire for a small fee to bike along the lakefront either to Albert Town or Wanaka, or wherever else...
The only thing that bothered us was the quality of the showers (but hey, we didn't pay for them). Showerheads are low in the ladies bathroom, they are about chest-shoulder height. Water fills up at the bottom/clogged drains. No shelving to put your clothing/towels on although there are plenty of hooks on the back of each shower cubicle if you organise yourself properly.
Looking forward to coming back to this great holiday spot!

Room Tip: Maybe get a self-contained unit. Showers in shared facilites aren't the best but still adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mEl0n85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

we paid a post-Easter visit to this full service campsite on the shores of Lake Wanaka. Very warm welcome from Glenn who offered us a pitch with nobody nearby. Services close enough and very clean. I was doubtful about the hand-towels in the washroom until I noticed that they were changed daily!

Our level pitch was set into a hillside dotted with trees and shrubs, so very private. Trails and MTB trails nearby, Wanaka itself a short drive.

Room Tip: Off season: take your pick between front row (maybe busier) or set back (utterly private).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caw35uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed there in April 2013, and was really pleased to see that my pitch had a wonderful view on the lake and everything (with the sun setting, it was awesome). Then I was really not pleased to see that you needed $1 coins for the showers ($1 = 5 minutes).
It is located at the end of a gravel road (10-15 mins off the main road).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at this campsite whilst paying Lake Wanaka a visit. The site is a little bit off the beaten track and away from Wanaka, but once here you get a warm welcome and amazing lake views. There were probably only one or two other campites that we stayed at whilst in NZ which could match this site for the views.

The facilities here are good with the toilets, showers and kitchen areas all being clean and tidy. The showers are pay as you use, but unless you like a really long wash down this isn't going to cost you a fortune. The only slight downside is that the facilities can be a bit of a walk from some of the pitches and it was a bit hard to see your way at night.

We'd recommend this site if you're paying Wanaka a visit and are looking for a site with good facilities and some stunning views.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2xRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Booked this one online thinking we could easily ride/walk back into town but that's not the case. It's a great location, and the facilities were adequate. Although you had to pay for showers.
Nice walk along Clutha river.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wills68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed at the Lake Outlet Holiday Park for one night on a tour of the South Island in November 2012.
The staff were incredibly friendly, the camper van lot had the most astonishing views and the shower/kitchen block was possibly the best one we encountered on our two week holiday. There were even heaters above the showers so that in the morning you can have a comfortably warm shower, no matter the weather!
From the beautiful view of the lake to the magical walk along the river (recommended if you have a spare hour or so) we decided this was our favourite holiday park on the South Island. Don't be put off by its remote location, the gravel road almost had us turn back in confusion. This place is worth the visit alone, I wish we'd had more time to spend here, we certainly will be doing so in the future.

Room Tip: Choose one of the higher plots for a campervan to get the best view across the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLawrie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Island hotels
3.4 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
3.5 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
133.6 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.1 mi away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
139.6 mi away
Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
355.3 mi away
Furneaux Lodge
Furneaux Lodge
#18 of 86 in Marlborough Region
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Outlet Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Outlet Holiday Park

Address: 197 Outlet Rd, 9343, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 1,091 Speciality Lodging in South Island
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a traditional New Zealand camping and campervan experience with spectacular views over Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond. Although only six kilometres from Lake Wanaka town centre, its secluded setting and natural surroundings give Lake Outlet Holiday Park a feeling of remoteness and tranquility that is second to none. Individual wooden bush cabins complete the accommodation options at Lake Outlet Holiday Park. Sleeping up to four, they are ideal for families or couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Outlet Holiday Park New Zealand/South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing