We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Outlet Holiday Park
Ranked #128 of 1,091 Speciality Lodging in South Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at Lake Outlet campground in Wanaka the week before Easter for two nights. It was one of our favourite powered campgrounds in the South Island. The hosts were very helpful and gracious. Our neighbours were quiet and respectful. Our favourite part of the campground was its proximity to beautiful running/biking trails along the river and lake. We paid $40 per night for powered site (2 people). Here is a run down of our stay:
Pros:
Away from noise of town (about a 10 min drive into town or a 30 min bike ride on trails into town).
Lots of secluded sites, some with great views. We were in powered campervan site number 11. Great views of the mountains and lake.
Lots of facilities: multiple toilet and shower blocks scattered around the property. Cute cabins
Beautiful trail access directly from campground. You can run/ride a bike into Wanaka or even Lake Hawea from the camground
Bike hire: well maintained bikes and helmets. We rented bikes for a day at $30 from dawn to dusk. Bikes are also available to hire on an hourly basis as well.
Lots of BBQ’s outside kitchen. Recycling bins also available on site.
Well maintained property. Small snack shop in main office.
Cons:
Kitchen a little small if multiple groups preparing food at the same time
Not within an easy walk into town
Coin operated showers ($2 for 5 minutes).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmileyJane33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Most beautiful location in a seemingly very remote and awesome peaceful and quiet surrounding. Views are fantastic, and the host lady welcoming. Amenities good, host lady very friendly and welcoming. Only drawback is that the whole camping ground is very dusty, no grass, and customers really must be considerate of each other when driving (and they should be made aware at arrival!), which unfortunately in some cases they are not.

Room Tip: power camping site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I used this as my base for the Big easy Mountain Marathon and recommend it for anyone doing an event in the area.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage, which was dated but very comfortable. Spacious and with everything needed for a pleasant stay. Private with a deck and garden plus BBQ. Great views. Definitely worth the price and the staff were very helpful.

The lake is 100m away and the views from the lounge and deck are superb. Would definitely come back and campers will love it as will boaties as there is a ramp onsite. A lovely riverside walk to Albert Town and lots of MTB and running trails right from the site.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Arriving here after a long drive from Queenstown, the staff at the reception was very friendly. The last part of the road is partly gravel, but that did not matter. We had a nice powered site above some long term caravans with a great view. Toilet and showers were clean, but for shower you have to pay (time limited). Just 100 metres down to the water of the lake. From here you can do a nice hike back to town, which is 7km with nice views. Back we took a taxi/van for 25$. Internet (Wifi) with IAC is available! Very dark as you are out of town which give you a great night sky watching possibility!
The dump site is a little bit down to the water and for big campervans little bit hard to reach. All in all a nice place with stunning views.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdickgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a great place to stay. Just beside the beautiful lake in Wanaka. The camp is well organized and clean with nice facilities. Glen, who runs the camp is very friendly and helpful willing to solve any problem with a smile.
We had an electricity problem in our campervan and Glen helped us quickly and efficiently. We had a wonderful experience - 2 nights, highly recommended!!
Plenty of things to do around the camp and the town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Beautiful location on the lake and on the Clutha River (which is gorgeous and a walk/ride along here is a must-do).

However, many things about this park were disappointing. Surprised that you had to pay for time-limited hot water for showers. There are also limited cooking facilities - something like 3 stovetops and 2 fridges for hundreds of campers.

I don't think the camp-sites are very well maintained, we were about to set up our tent when we noticed lots of smashed glass on the ground.

Could do better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danastarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We are a family of Wanaka locals who wanted to leave town for Christmas & camp for a few days. The Outlet holiday park is outstanding - great facilities, beautifully appointed sites at v reasonable prices & v friendly & helpful hosts. The place is well cared for and fits in with the native manuka forest whilst capitalising on the stunning views out to Lake Wanaka, the Clutha River and the Wanaka mountains. It was lovely to holiday in our own town and feel we'd really escaped, we will definitely be back. Thank you Glenn and Tracy!

Room Tip: Depending on the weather, you might want to think about opting for some of the spots further from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Island hotels
3.4 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
3.5 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
133.6 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.1 mi away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
139.6 mi away
Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
355.3 mi away
Furneaux Lodge
Furneaux Lodge
#18 of 86 in Marlborough Region
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Outlet Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Outlet Holiday Park

Address: 197 Outlet Rd, 9343, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 1,091 Speciality Lodging in South Island
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a traditional New Zealand camping and campervan experience with spectacular views over Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond. Although only six kilometres from Lake Wanaka town centre, its secluded setting and natural surroundings give Lake Outlet Holiday Park a feeling of remoteness and tranquility that is second to none. Individual wooden bush cabins complete the accommodation options at Lake Outlet Holiday Park. Sleeping up to four, they are ideal for families or couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Outlet Holiday Park New Zealand/South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing