We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best hostel in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beaconstone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaconstone
Ranked #357 of 1,016 Speciality Lodging in South Island
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Probably the best hostel in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Wonderful stay in the mountain lodge. They really should charge more, this place is amazing.
They have just built a garden lodge too, which also looks beautiful.
Bear in mind there aren't too many places to eat or drink in the area so you must bring your own supplies but the kitchen is very well equiped and immaculate. And this is about being in a tranquil place with no Internet or TV but a lot of games!

Room Tip: Mountain lodge or Garden lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

A beautiful, tranquil place, run by two of the nicest hosts you're ever likely to come across, Grae and Nancy. It doesn't really feel like a backpackers, it feels more like your own home. Spotlessly clean, with excellent cooking facilities. Plentiful hot water and electricity. It proves that eco-lodges can be efficient and don't have to be expensive. I hope I have the opportunity to stay there again sometime.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmw_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Arrived late afternoon, welcomed by Grae & Nancy, and shown to our cabin set aside with lovely bush and mountain views from bed. The amenities are good, no shortage of water or hot water, great to know all is eco-friendly and not going on the vegie garden. Lucky enough to have a meal prepared from garden vegies and salads, can't get any fresher.
Enjoyed the tracks through bush to the river, and no evidence of others having passed that way. Comfort in nature and well respected environment makes the stay even more appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms all good but "honeymoon cabin" more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashman974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Beaconstone redefines the meaning of hostel.

The owners Grae and Nancy Stevens poured themselves into the building of this off-the-grid eco-lodge on the rugged West Coast of the South Island. It offers serenity from the well-beaten hostel route in New Zealand. It's the kind of place you want to stay for more than one night because...

- a rejuvenating sleep...the futons may appear hard but they do wonders for a weary back. Constructed of organic cotton fill and a coconut shell core - organic wool rugs and cotton wall hangings - all water is collected rain water - filtered drinking water - enjoyable compostable toilets that don't smell...the view of the Paparoa Mountains from the toilet tower is stunning - outdoor showers with hot water, beautifully hand-tiled and a storm lantern for a night time shower - an organic veggie garden where you pick what you want...for free! - solar power (and yes, you can plug in camera battery and cellphone chargers) - access to the natural, wild wonders of the West Coast: the Opahara Basin, the Heaphy track, the Pancake Rocks, Nine Mile Beach, the coffee and cake of the Bay House, Fox River and Paparoa National Park - no television, no internet, no loud parties...and that's what's great about it - you can learn how 'living green and off-the-grid' is done right and with comfort

The delightful Nancy and storytelling Grae should charge more for a stay! If you've ever wanted to surf, ask him about 'The Legend'.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpazek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Beaconstone is a bit of a drive, but worth it! It is a small, eco-hostel, just a few minutes from New Zealand's gorgeous west coast. The rooms are simple, but clean, with enough space for 2 backpacks. The kitchen is spacious, with a cozy livingroom. The daytime toilets/showers are outside, bit adventurous, however, clean. Also, there is one bathroom inside (spotless!) for the evening. As the hostel is small, I had no problem sharing. Comfy bed and warm blanket, very quite at night, ensured a good night sleep. The owners are really nice, they walked us straight out to his vegetable patch and gave us some delicious veggies to cook for dinner, yum! Be aware that you do need a car to get here. This is a hostel, but I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

We booked at Beaconstone enroute to the Glaciers. Along the way we stopped at the seal colony which was nice.
Although we did note that this is an Eco-lodge it was not the main issue for booking.
This is not a big backpacker and there are only a few rooms which lends a cozy feel to everything. You can see the effort that went into building the place and maintaining it. In the room you can find a book on how the place was built - including the special environmental considerations that were taken. We booked a double room which was clean and comfy. The lounge is very hospitable, there is no TV so you can sit and read or get to know your fellow guests for the night. Nancy was also a great host, introducing everyone and getting the ball going with conversations and giving travel tips for the area.
We greatly enjoyed our stay, but there is the matter of the eco-lodge which travellers should know in advance - the showers are located outside. The toilets are compost toilets (there is a regular bathroom inside the building for night use). Cell phone reception is also tricky and only works in specific points around the place - we did manage to find these (according to Nancy's directions) and make some calls.
You can also do some nature walks around the place and I heard that this is lovely (we did not manage to squeeze this in).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilelstka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

Stayed here for one night with my family. Nancy and Grae - the hosts were the warmest, most generous and open proprietors I have ever met. They built the place themselves and clearly it was a labour of love. Their house is all charm, and the lodge is really well designed with the perfect combination of privacy and communality. There are small cabins available also (se other reviews). All toilets are composting except for one (internal) for night time use. Power is entirely from solar panels. If you are looking for an affordable, beautiful place to stay near Westport, this has to be it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wairere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#1 of 17 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
17.6 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
8.8 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
8.6 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
19.5 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaconstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconstone

Property: Beaconstone
Address: 115 Birds Ferry Rd, Westport. Charleston, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 1,016 Speciality Lodging in South Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small custom built timber lodge set on 42 hectares of bush. Trails through the forest to the Big Totara River take a plunge or just enjoy the birds and the quiet of the rain forest. Running on solar power and sustainable principals used throughout. The interior lodge is homelike. The spaces are decorated with original art and weavings. There is a kitchen for self catering and a barbecue patio. We are Highly Recommeded by Lonely Planet ,Rough Guide and several guide books. Come and enjoy this special place in the country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaconstone New Zealand/South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing