We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Unique, Fantastic New Zealand Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kawatea Farmstay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kawatea Farmstay
Ranked #478 of 1,016 Speciality Lodging in South Island
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Unique, Fantastic New Zealand Experience”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 wonderful nights and got a taste of life on a New Zealand sheep farm. The Banks Peninsula is not far from Christchurch, but feels like a great escape. The scenery is exquisite. Our room was beautifully decorated and the rimu woodwork was special. A wonderful, full breakfast was served in a great room overlooking the garden. It was early spring and there were lambs that to be hand-fed. Our hosts were fabulous at offering advice on places to hike and explore, as well as sharing what life on a farm is really like, with all our farming/animal questions answered. Got to see a working dog help move the sheep with lambs to another pasture. Don't miss sharing dinner with the family and if you're lucky, you can even experience watching a New Zealand rugby game! Don't miss this wonderful farmstay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoHappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This B&B is a very nice place to stay on the Banks peninsula.
The hosts know the area very well and can give you all the tips your need for your visits and for booking restaurants. They are also very welcoming and we'll make you feel at home.
As the B&Bs is located quite far from any restaurant, it is recommended to book the evening meal with them as well. You will eat at the family table and te meal and wine are all sourced locally. The dinner as well as the breakfast are both very good!
I will definitively recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Rimu Room and we were very happ
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodriguette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This bed and breakfast is somewhat off the beaten path, but what a beautiful spot to base oneself in order to explore the Banks Peninsula. We arrived on the first day of a three week holiday, and it afforded us a great opportunity to slow our pace and become acclimatized to the time change. It is a lovely home with a beautiful garden, and the hosts were generous with their time and knowledge of the area. Breakfast was excellent. It was an increible start to our holiday, and we wouldn't change anything about our first few days in New Zealand.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Rimu Room and we were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantirna
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We spent 3 and 1/2 weeks travelling the South Island and this was by far our favourite place. As soon as we drove up the drive way we knew we had found our own little piece of heaven (too bad we could only stay 1 night).
The house is over 100 years old and has been owned by the same family all this time. We had 2 bedrooms and a massive bathroom and although we shared the house with the owners, we felt comfortable and at home.
Although there was no internet, mobile coverage or TV (1 station) there was a large variety and genre of books to peruse or you could simply sit back and enjoy the magnificant garden.
There was a large variety of food for breakfast with home made jams.
The hosts were incredibly helpful and provided us with alot of travel information for the remainder of our trip.
The only regret we had was that we hadn't arranged to have dinner at the home (24 hours notice is required). Dinner is served using locally sourced produce. The hosts did however make a reservation for us at 'Bully Hayes' in Akaroa which we can recommend.
It is important to note that the farmstay is about 30 minutes from Akaroa by car, up and down a narrow and winding road however the drive is well worth it and the views are amazing. Okains Bay beach is only a few minutes drive from the farmstay and it is possible to walk.
We are all looking forward to returning one day soon!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNMWantirna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

This B&B is gorgeous, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the breakfast is perfect. We had the opportunity to see and hold their two week old litter of sheep dogs. They also offer dinner service for a little extra, which was absolutely spectacular. However, farmstay also can mean quite remote. In our case, the weather during the day was good, so a day at Okains Bay was beautiful and memorable. However, at night, when we returned home in the dark and rain over the narrow mountain pass, we were wishing, at that moment, that we had stayed closer to town. As nice as our hostess and host were, this place is not quite as friendly of a homestay as we would have liked. Several days earlier, we had stayed at Crown View near Queenstown, which set a standard that few can match.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rerBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
327 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

Our first stop in New Zealand the perfect antidote to 3 nights in Singapore. Judy and Kerry made us feel at home, gave us lots of information about the area, and provided us with great food. We had loads of space in the loft room, comfy bed, even fresh drinking water from the farm spring. Lots of walking over the coastal hills and inlets; as Kerry said, it 's paradise.
Don't miss the Okains Bay Museum just down the road which covers both Maori and settler history.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — bathroom a bit small
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Island hotels
6.2 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
65 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 23 in Akaroa
117 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Olive Grove
The Olive Grove
#8 of 24 in Akaroa
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
266.3 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
302.1 mi away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
301.9 mi away
Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawatea Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawatea Farmstay

Property: Kawatea Farmstay
Address: Okains Bay | Banks Peninsula, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #478 of 1,016 Speciality Lodging in South Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kawatea Farmstay 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kawatea Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawatea Farmstay Hotel South Island
Kawatea Farmstay New Zealand/South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing