We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing experience apart from sandflies”
Review of Maruia Hot Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maruia Hot Springs
Ranked #400 of 728 Hotels in South Island
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We arrived about 8.30 am and had the springs to ourselves for most the time which was very nice and peaceful, it isn't a big area so I think too many people could be too claustraphobic. Its a beautiful spot. The algae does seem a bit odd to begin with but you soon get used to it. Half way through we got out to have tea and some delicious brownie that we bought there and then got back. The day we went the restaurant was closed because they were quiet so don't rely on being able to have lunch or dinner there and the next nearest places are some way away. The sandflies were ok to begin with but then became a bit much, but that is just part and parcel of being in that area of the South Island, so i would reccomend making the effort to get there early in the day. We did arrive the night before and asked if they did an special room rates for walk ins but the man on the desk was adament that they wouldn't despite being empty bar one room that night, we stayed in our camper van so that was fine but at an obviously very quiet time of the year they could be missing out on opportunities for extra business by not offering any special rates when its so quiet anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank travelfair101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

Food was excellent and staff (Yoko & Mariko) were attentive, smiling and helpful. No complaints about the room (new wing) too. And for the negative part ...... MOSQUITOES !!! THAT really spoiled our stay, cause on the way to the private spa and rock pool, we were bitten. Even when we were in the water, mosquitoes attacked our faces, necks and shoulders, REALLY ANNOYING ! Others at the pool also shared our sentiments. Private spa and rock pool need attention as they were dirty and slimy. There wasn't any proper place to hang our towels and clothings around the rock pool area. Massage was so-so only and it was pretty pricey. Don't get us wrong, the place is actually quite nice, but we hope the establishment would do something about these problems.

Room Tip: Get the newer rooms for NZ$20 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magbillSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

First impressions unfortunately make a difference, my wife and I had ridden down on the motorbike from Blenheim that day for our anniversary, we had come from Christchurch the day before and booked the indulgence package. The gentleman at the front desk took no interest in why we were there, and seemed almost annoyed. Because we got the package we had to book all our extras to suit them and felt rushed and pressured. Room was average, very dated, no wine glasses, water pressure poor, double bed two singles pushed together. Although the setting is nice the gardens paths etc do not appear to be maintained very well at all. The food and food service was lovely. All in all I'm not one to normally complain but we felt some simple good old fashion friendly service, a Gardner, and a bit of money spent on updating the decor would make the place very nice. Stop relying on the surroundings to sell your package, stop being lazy and make it a special place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abizmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

A kiwi mate of ours recommended we go here because it would be less touristy than hanmer springs and an authentic Japanese spa, and she was right. The staff were lovely and the indulgence package ended up being a real bargain. $379 for two people including a private spa, massage each, access to all pools day or night, 1 nights stay, 3 course exquisite dinner and breakfast the next morning. Those whinging on here about not having a tv need to get out more.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reedys8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have stayed here several times on the Indulgence package. The rooms are fine but a little outdated. The private pools were good, the outdoor pools very good and relaxing at night time. We really enjoyed the food at their restaurant. Overall it was a good break away, I would suggest avoiding holidays or long weekend holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kia_kaha2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We were given a night at the resort as a gift and went during the week for a night.
The accomodation was adequate but dated and the thermal springs had options of a private spa, Japanese style bath house, or outdoor pools.
We chose the spa pool option as it was part of the package and spent a very pleasant hour in the pool which had an air bubble option . The pool water contained algae as part of the natural springs.
An excellent Japanese/ European resturant certainly made our evening with nice surroundings and service that we could not fault made the stay well worth the 3 hour drive from Christchurch

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 45mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We didn't stay at Maruia however just had a dip in the pools for an hour or so on our way past. Stunning location, right by the river and in the middle of the mountains, and yes it was SNOWING! georgous. Highly reccommend it - only a couple of pools but have been there before and had the entire place to our selves. Lovely.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rachel249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Island hotels
50.9 mi away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#567 of 1,091 in South Island
24 reviews
326.3 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
352.5 mi away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
352.1 mi away
Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
130.7 mi away
Furneaux Lodge
Furneaux Lodge
#18 of 86 in Marlborough Region
281 reviews
130.7 mi away
Geraldine motels
Geraldine motels
#166 of 261 in Canterbury Region
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maruia Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruia Hot Springs

Address: State Highway 7 Lewis pass, 7895, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in South Island
#254 Luxury Hotel in South Island
Price Range: £125 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maruia Hot Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maruia Hot Springs is located on the Lewis Pass in a National Park where you can enjoy picturesque mountain views and look out to the flowing waters of the Maruia River while bathing in our 100% Natural mineral hot pools. Our pools are completely natural (no chemicals used), enjoy bathing in hot water sourced directly from our bore, our water has a high mineral content, which is considered to have healing properties especially for skin conditions and joint and muscle pain. We have 3 outdoor hot pools, and an indoor bath house that are open 7 days a week from 8am-9pm. We also have a private bathing pavilion available by booking, or in our package deals. Come and enjoy a serene and quiet bathing experience away from crowds and cell phones. Our Cafe is open 7 days a week so if you are driving past grab a coffee and enjoy a foot bath amongst the wildlife and beautiful views from our deck. Perfect for bird lovers! The restaurant open 7 days a week and offers a fresh new Kiwiana menu and a classic breakfast menu that includes poached eggs with homemade Hollandaise sauce. Visit our website to book and come and enjoy a unique experience in the tranquillity of the mountains. As new owners we are passionate about working towards making Maruia Hot Springs into a World Class resort and a pure New Zealand experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maruia Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruia Springs Thermal Resort Ltd Hotel South Island
Maruia Springs Thermal Hotel Ltd
Maruia Hot Springs New Zealand/South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing