We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis before the hustle and bustle of Christchurch”
Review of Maruia Hot Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maruia Hot Springs
Ranked #515 of 722 Hotels in South Island
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little oasis before the hustle and bustle of Christchurch”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Awesome service, dinner and breakfast couldn't be faulted. Much more relaxing then Hanmer Springs. We were the last ones in the hot pools in the evening and the first ones the next morning. The slimy algae was a bit off putting at first but was explained by the posters around the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    97
    52
    25
    52
See reviews for
40
172
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I walked into the well presented reception area and handed over my 20 dollars for a dip in some thermal pools. Upon arrival I noticed that all the area around the pools was overgrown and the water and sides of the pools were slimy and not maintained at all. There was also a black sludge algae type stuff in the water too. The Japanese bath house was FILTHY, all mirrors looked like they hadn't been cleaned since Jim Morrison was alive. Keep on driving past, don't waste your time. Cheers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tyler_deallio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Island hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

This the first bad review for me too write but has to be said, anyway when here for first time and it's was $20 per person not a bad price then went in to the hot pools are not so good, hard to get in without slipping on rocks dirty water and sandfly biting everywhere.should of got a refund but they need all the money the can get to improve this place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank shaws83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

If you want a typical tourist visit to a hot springs, go to Hanmer Springs. If you want time away from the crowds where you are not stuffed in like cashed up sardines, do yourself a favour and spend a night or two at Maruia Springs.

My wife and I booked the Indulgence package in the Japanese room and we loved our time away from the mobile phone, other people and the stresses of life. The (Japanese) staff are very helpful and went out of their way to help us relax. The masseurs were brilliant and soothed our aches with expert touches.

The room was comfortable and well designed with no television or radio to interrupt our stay. The hot pools were great to sit in and enjoy the scenery with the temperatures on the day (they vary depending on rain etc) being just right with the cold rain.

Dinner and breakfast were both excellent with good portion size and great quality. Both of us ate from the Japanese menu and really enjoyed the dishes. The sake was warm as it ought to be and the Umeshu (plum liqueur) was ice cold.

The staff went to great lengths to let us know that the hot springs would tarnish any and all jewelry that was not gold or platinum. The advice was to remove any such jewelry which is absolutely correct. A cleaning service was available for a fee if this advice was not heeded.


Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnuthad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I booked the 'indulgence' package, which included a choice of room (we went with the Japanese one), unlimited access to pools, massage, private spa, 3 course dinner, and breakfast. It was very, very good. The room came with a massage chair, which was a nice touch, and it was clean, tidy and the theme was done tastefully. No TV in the room, which I think is good.
We both loved the massage, and the private spa was nice too. A highlight was the dinner - the food was of very high quality. Loved the tempura veges, and the dessert was also top notch. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roodlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Maruia springs is the perfect alternative to suburban noisy Hanmer. if you love peace and quiet and wild natural surroundings. Maruia Springs is for you. Who cares that its a bit run down and dated , that keeps all the plonkers out!!!.. It is still clean and tidy and perfectly adequate. The staff are gorgeous, the surroundings are to die fo, the massage is magic. if you want an experience like every other one stay at Hanmer. if you want something special go to Maruia. The sandflies are nowhere near as bad in the winter as they are in the summer. I believe the resort is up for sale. i hope the new owners dont ruin it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are Fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennydNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We just used the pools and private spa 'Kiwi.' This was our first visit to the place and we were overall very pleased that we took the extra time to drive their instead of just using the Hanmer hot pools as we usually do. However, as we had to been there before we and to find our way around ourselves, would have been nice to be told how to get to the pools, where to change etc. Bizarre that lockers are up in reception, not down by the pools and changing area so you have to walk back up the steps after getting changed and walk through the restaurant to open a locker (we didn't bother!) No drinking water around the pools either which was a shame could they provide a water fountain in the future? that would be very cooling, which is necessary! Annoying that you have to walk up the steps again just for a drink! The rock pools themselves were quite magical, we felt calm, relaxed and isolated, exactly what we were hoping for! We hired a private spa and were quite impressed with the spa. Could do with a tidy up though; mosquito net was broken so they flew in which was irritating, needs a good clean up too as it hasn't been for a long time! We'll definitely return but hopefully they will spruce it up a lot more soon otherwise we may not return as frequently as we could do. soap in the toilets would be nice!! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Island hotels
187.6 mi away
Otematata Eatery Bar & Lodging
Otematata Eatery Bar & Lodging
#682 of 722 in South Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
50.9 mi away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#700 of 1,028 in South Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
326.3 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
352.5 mi away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
352.1 mi away
Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maruia Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruia Hot Springs

Property: Maruia Hot Springs
Address: State Highway 7 Lewis pass, 7895, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in South Island
#296 Luxury Hotel in South Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maruia Hot Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maruia Hot Springs is located on the Lewis Pass in a National Park where you can enjoy picturesque mountain views and look out to the flowing waters of the Maruia River while bathing in our 100% Natural mineral hot pools. Our pools are completely natural (no chemicals used), enjoy bathing in hot water sourced directly from our bore, our water has a high mineral content, which is considered to have healing properties especially for skin conditions and joint and muscle pain. We have 3 outdoor hot pools, and an indoor bath house that are open 7 days a week from 8am-9pm. We also have a private bathing pavilion available by booking, or in our package deals. Come and enjoy a serene and quiet bathing experience away from crowds and cell phones. Our Cafe is open 7 days a week so if you are driving past grab a coffee and enjoy a foot bath amongst the wildlife and beautiful views from our deck. Perfect for bird lovers! The restaurant open 7 days a week and offers a fresh new Kiwiana menu and a classic breakfast menu that includes poached eggs with homemade Hollandaise sauce. Visit our website to book and come and enjoy a unique experience in the tranquillity of the mountains. As new owners we are passionate about working towards making Maruia Hot Springs into a World Class resort and a pure New Zealand experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maruia Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruia Springs Thermal Resort Ltd Hotel South Island
Maruia Springs Thermal Hotel Ltd
Maruia Hot Springs New Zealand/South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing