We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and host!!!”
Review of 171 on High Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
171 on High Motel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We just recently were in Blenheim wine tasting and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the 171 On High Motel with Ian as our host. The room was spotless, the location excellent, and our host, Ian, helpful to all of our inquiries. One of the best places we've stayed in N.Z.!!!! Can't recommend it highly enough!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room...no noise at all and a bit of a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sher852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were greeted by Ian who was lovely and friendly, made us feel very welcome. We were given good advice for places to eat and visit. The room was very nice, modern and clean, there were electric blankets for the beds, TVs in all rooms and very comfortable beds and pillows. I would certainly stay here again when we come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ian Johnston met us at reception with a big friendly smile, good conversation and was very helpful. The rooms are modern, clean and have funky green retro furniture. The organic coffee and tea and cookies were also much appreciated.

My only complaint would be the price of the breakfast on offer. $6 for a sanitarium mini box of cereal and an orange juice in a glass? A bit much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niall82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here after reading the good reviews on TA.Blenheim was a logical stop after a long drive from CC.Did not have reservations and did have a choice of rooms
The owner, Chris, was very helpful in helping us plan our wine tasting the next day as well as pointing out where the supermarkets were etc
The room was comfortable and well appointed with a spa bath and fully stocked kitchen.The only negative was the road noise and that is outside the control of the owners

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank judik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Spent an excellent two nights here while exploring the wine estates. Rooms are boutique style, very clean and comfortable. Ian and Chris are super nice and friendly owners who are always looking out for their guests and also happy to give great pointers of where to go and what to do in the region. The motel also has a really good laundry and the dvd player / free dvds were an added bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 615Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This motel is very well furnished with well appointed kitchen and bathroom facilities and a sense of home away from home. Family members and I stayed there recently and because of unforeseen family circumstances in Blenheim had to change our room requirements at last minute which was no problem to the friendly and helpful owners Ian & Chris. We have stayed there before and found it very central, quiet and comfortable and will definitely stay there again.
Dianne R

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank AnneMarieR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great place to stay. Third time there now and everytime it's perfect. What I like as a traveling Sales Manager is the needs of the customer are taken care of. The power points are available and in the right places,lighting over the table is great,table is a good size,great TV size, solid big rooms which have been well thought out. Both bathroom and kitchenette are excellent to use and well equiped. Plently of big towels!! Hosts Ian and Chris are the best, nothing like being greeted by your name when you pull in after a long day on the road. A great stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you both for the fantastic review and for your repeat business! We look forward to seeing you next time. Travel safely - Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
653 reviews
6 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#15 of 32 in Blenheim
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 171 on High Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 171 on High Motel

Address: 171 High Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#1 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £81 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 171 on High Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MODERN,INVITING, CENTRAL - FREE Wi-Fi connected to Fibre. LCD TVs, DVD players and cooking facilities in every unit, some with some single spa baths. Sparkling clean, well equipped rooms, serviced daily. BBQ available for guest use. Located just 5 min/500 m to shops, restaurants and cafes. 700 m to ASB Theatre, Marlborough Conference Centre,Clubs of Marlborough. Qualmark Motel 4+ Stars. Ideally located for visits to the famous Marlborough wineries, Omaka Aviation Heritage Museum and The Marlborough Sounds. Warm & friendly southern hospitality. Your hosts Donna & Paul look forward to welcoming you to 171 On High Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your 171 on High Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
171 On High Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing