We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and friendly owners”
Review of 171 on High Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
171 on High Motel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom room with our 16 month old daughter. It had everything we needed and there was room for our daughters cot at the end of the bed. The owners were very welcoming and it felt like they really wanted us to enjoy our stay which was nice. The folder of restaurants was very informative as the town seems to shut down at night.

The place is not new, but it is clean and conveniently located to the town and vineyards.

I only rate it average because there was no air con and was so so hot and I found the bed a little uncomfortable and could feel my husbands every movement (saying that though, he didn't think it was).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hi We are sorry that you were disappointed that we do not have air conditioning, and that this spoiled your stay. We have put a fan in the room and apologize that we did not have one in there for your stay. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your holiday. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Chris & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our stay started with the hosts coming out to greet us and that service continued through the 3 days we stayed. We stayed in a one bedroom unit which also had a sofa bed in the living room. Well equipped kitchen. Lots of space and well located. Free wifii was a nice addition.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VMT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi & thank you for posting your TA review. Great to know that all was good for your stay with us. Wifi is such an important aspect of guest's requirements now - that's why we're so pleased to offer FREE unlimited (but monitored!) access via the ultra fast fibre network. Our guests tell us they love the upload & download speeds available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This motel is very comfortable, well equipped, very functional and spotlessly clean. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly, with suggestions for days out. We had a little difficulty obtaining a wifi connection.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornishyokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thanks very much for your positive review. We always appreciate when our guests have taken the time to post their thoughts of our accommodation & service. Cheers. Aint technology a great thing??? Our little hiccup with our wifi has been remedied and service as normal resumed once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

An excellent stay for 6 nights. The 1-bedroom unit had plenty of space. Spotlessly cleaned each day. Very welcoming and competent owner who remembered our names and was helpful in every way. good base for wine tours.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metroauck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi D & L
Thanks once again for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. Your positive words reflect the reasons why we're in this industry in the first place - we enjoy meeting new people and strive to provide an enjoyable & comfortable experience.
It was great to meet you both & to see you out enjoying much that Marlborough has to offer.
All the very best for 2014.
Cheers.......Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Not much to look at from the outside but step into the room and it's clear that the owners have put a lot of effort into the place with lots of clever and professional touches. Very well appointed rooms, high quality finishes, spotlessly clean. Add to that genuine hosts who made us feel very welcome - as well as giving us some great local info. Would have stayed longer if they weren't fully booked.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JayRayMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi & thanks for your review.
We really appreciate that you have taken the time to offer such positive words about our motel.
Cheers........Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Well priced and located, modern and friendly. After spending a week touring the upper South Island, '171 on High Motel' stands out from the rest on all of the above. Our only wish is that we had booked earlier and secured two nights instead of one. Thanks Ian for your help and friendliness.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanC-LondonKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi Dan & thanks very much for your great review - your positive words are very much appreciated. We really enjoyed meeting you. Hopefully our changeable weather has settled down for the rest of your trip. Best regards.......Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Accommodation is modern, clean, comfortable and well maintained. Internet access worked well. Plenty of hot water. Great shower. Comfortable beds. Tv in lounge and bedroom with a selection of Sky channels. Most helpful and accommodating proprietors who work very hard to make the stay a success. Nothing too much trouble. Kitchen well equipped (but no bread knife, and a bit short of work surface if you are cooking from scratch!). We extended our stay from one night to five and had no regrets.

Room Tip: Downstairs room advisable for less mobile people, or with lots of luggage, but you do get sounds fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi Tim & Judy.
Thanks for staying with us & also for your very positive review. Hopefully your little problem with your car is resolved now and you can rest easy on your way back north.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us for your 5 nights in Blenheim - you made things very easy for us by being "tidy campers"!!!
Cheers.........Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
385 reviews
6 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
171 reviews
17.5 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 171 on High Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 171 on High Motel

Address: 171 High Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Family Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £87 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 171 on High Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MODERN,INVITING, CENTRAL - FREE Wi-Fi connected to Fibre. LCD TVs, DVD players and cooking facilities in every unit, some with some single spa baths. Sparkling clean, well equipped rooms, serviced daily. BBQ available for guest use. Located just 5 min/500 m to shops, restaurants and cafes. 700 m to ASB Theatre, Marlborough Conference Centre,Clubs of Marlborough. Qualmark Motel 4+ Stars. Ideally located for visits to the famous Marlborough wineries, Omaka Aviation Heritage Museum and The Marlborough Sounds. Warm & friendly southern hospitality. Your hosts Donna & Paul look forward to welcoming you to 171 On High Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your 171 on High Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
171 On High Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing