We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great luncheon spot in among the vineyards.”
Review of La Veranda

La Veranda
Ranked #76 of 118 Restaurants in Blenheim
Price range: US$14 - US$18
Cuisines: French, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: La Veranda is part of the Georges Michel Estate complex, where visitors can choose a selection of wine tasting ‘flights’, matched with French degustation plates. For example, enjoy four of our Golden Mile wines featuring Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Rose, with a plate of imported French cheeses or a selection of French ‘charcuterie’.Nestled amongst the vines and bathed in Marlborough’s prolific sunshine, La Veranda is the perfect venue to rest and relax in a very special ambiance, either indoors or outdoors.
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is a favorite lunch spot of the locals as well in the Marlborough wine country. The setting is casual and the diner has great views of the vineyards. The service and wine list and food are very good.

Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for La Veranda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

The service here was so bad! They compained about how busy they were and said they didn´t have the time to serve the 4 different wines at the menu if you ordered food, really stupid since the restaurant was only half full! The platter was kind of average and it took forever to even order the food, the only good thing was the stunning view.

1  Thank Resigenochigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieYonge, Guest Relations Manager at La Veranda, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the slow service and the fact you were not able to enjoy a tasting flight of wines with your meal. We are addressing these problems and do hope you will return one day to sample a complementary tasting selection of our wines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We visited this winery over the xmas period expecting a good day out.The service will what service it was terrible.The menu was platters about 6 different platters.We were told we had to wait 20 mins before we could be served and then wait another 30 mins for our 2 platters to be served,there is no hot prep for these platters all cold so I could not understand the delay.It was not that busy,customers were leaving due to the long wait and a few unhappy customers were voicing there opinions quite loudly,not a good look.So we were very disappointed and we will never go back.

Thank caroline1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We were on our way from Abel Tasman to Kaikoura, and had read some good reviews in our guide, so we decided to stop there for a quick lunch with a glass of wine. Indeed, the food was fine and the atmosphere quite nice.
We arrived there around 1pm, on the day after Boxing Day. Maybe that's the reason why there was not enough staff (oddly enough, it seems there were 2 people in the room next door selling wine bottles that were basically doing nothing and that could probably have helped out in the restaurant) . The 2 ladies handling the service for the whole restaurant (including cashing in the checks) were running non-stop to wait the tables, but it was apparently not enough as it took a very long time to get the "plat du jour" (we were given a heads up, though, but did hope it would get better as already some people were leaving). But indeed, it took a very long time (didn't check my watch, but probably close to 40 m)... Food was simple but good, wine too, price reasonable (about 20 dollars / dish) but when we asked for some desert we were told that it would take another 40 mn (to get the single choice they offer, really?) so we had to give up and leave with a half full stomach (and a cup of coffee, but no espresso).
All in all, not a bad experience, but not up to our expectations. I would recommend you only go there if you're ready to spend a lot of time, and in that case try to arrive early so that you can sit outdoor and enjoy the scenery.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieYonge, Guest Relations Manager at La Veranda, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for your posting regarding our service during your visit. We do apologise for the wait you had. Unfortunately you visited on what probably was the busiest day of the holiday period and we acknowledge that we were under-staffed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We chose a nice sunny day to ride our bikes the 13km from Blenheim out to La Verandah for some lunch and a glass of vine.

Upon our arrival we were almost ignored for the first 15 minutes, the lady running the restaurant was busy with a big group wine tasting, unfortunately she was the only one there. She palmed us off with a splash (tasting size) of wine. After waiting 15 minutes for someone to come out to us I walked in and spoke directly with the chef to order a meal.

Another 15 minutes (which isn't bad for food prep - but quite long with no wine, water or service at all). As the meal was served, the other group left, the lady suddenly appeared, with wine lists, brought out our wine and was very attentive.

The food was fantastic; we chose two platters and were well and truely filled up with yummy local (and French based) delights.

Sitting on the outside deck area in the sun, looking out across the vineyards towards the hills in the sun was great.

Overall a nice lunch at a good price, but could easily have been a five star experience with a bit more effort (if you're going to be open for lunch and for wine tasting you should make sure you've good enough staff to do it).

I would recommend it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank andye10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieYonge, Guest Relations Manager at La Veranda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for your review posted 22 September. Please accept our apologies for the poor service you received. Unfortunately our chef/maitre 'd was unwell and away at that time and we were short staffed. We are pleased you enjoyed your food and the surroundings and our thanks for your recommedation. Please visit again some time so we can provide our usual five star service !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Veranda also viewed

Renwick, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Renwick, Marlborough Region
 

Been to La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing