We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of La Veranda

La Veranda
Ranked #72 of 115 Restaurants in Blenheim
Price range: US$13 - US$18
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: La Veranda is part of the Georges Michel Estate complex, where visitors can choose a selection of wine tasting ‘flights’, matched with French degustation plates. For example, enjoy four of our Golden Mile wines featuring Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Rose, with a plate of imported French cheeses or a selection of French ‘charcuterie’.Nestled amongst the vines and bathed in Marlborough’s prolific sunshine, La Veranda is the perfect venue to rest and relax in a very special ambiance, either indoors or outdoors.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
238 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

What a disappointment our visit was. The platter I ordered consisted mainly of cold meats (of the exact kind that I buy vacuum packed from our local supermarket) and a lot of gherkins. There was a small bowl of homemade pork belly which was delicious but couldn't make up for the rest of the platter. As to service: what service? The poor "lady-in-waiting" had to do it all and obviously could not. Some guests sitting on the veranda actually started bringing their used crockery and cutlery into the restaurant area and plonking it down on unused tables.
There was, however, a highlight to our visit: la farandole de desserts... beautiful, delicious, worth every cent and thoroughly enjoyed by us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Slow food French style”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

A bit chaotic the day we went. Food average, nice veranda seating next to the vineyard and lovely after lunch lounge area. Not much French about it really, according to our French guests. The chefs aren't French.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyFrenchLarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
322 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great luncheon spot in among the vineyards.”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is a favorite lunch spot of the locals as well in the Marlborough wine country. The setting is casual and the diner has great views of the vineyards. The service and wine list and food are very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The service here was so bad! They compained about how busy they were and said they didn´t have the time to serve the 4 different wines at the menu if you ordered food, really stupid since the restaurant was only half full! The platter was kind of average and it took forever to even order the food, the only good thing was the stunning view.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Resigenochigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieYonge, Guest Relations Manager at La Veranda, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the slow service and the fact you were not able to enjoy a tasting flight of wines with your meal. We are addressing these problems and do hope you will return one day to sample a complementary tasting selection of our wines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed-Terrible Service”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We visited this winery over the xmas period expecting a good day out.The service will what service it was terrible.The menu was platters about 6 different platters.We were told we had to wait 20 mins before we could be served and then wait another 30 mins for our 2 platters to be served,there is no hot prep for these platters all cold so I could not understand the delay.It was not that busy,customers were leaving due to the long wait and a few unhappy customers were voicing there opinions quite loudly,not a good look.So we were very disappointed and we will never go back.

Helpful?
Thank caroline1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Veranda also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Renwick, Marlborough Region
Marlborough Region, South Island
 

Been to La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing