We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Difficult to beat for a visit to Malborough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
reiveratsea
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Difficult to beat for a visit to Malborough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Ideally situated in the centre of the wine region the hotel has spacious and well appointed luxury apartments. Very welcoming and helpful staff make you instantly at home here and ready to enjoy your stay. The restaurant is of a high standard and the service good although perhaps lacking in a proper bar area in which to relax. If there is better on offer in the region we certainly saw no sign of it. This is a place you can book in confidence.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiveratsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Many thanks for taking your time to pass on your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed yourselves and you obviously appreciated the convinient location of our property to the wineries. Thank you again, Kind Regards, Catherine Bone, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    99
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
275
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is the first in a series of reviews during a recent trip on the South Island of New Zealand. As luck would have it, I had the good fortune at being able to stay the the Marlborough Vintners Hotel in the wine country of New Zealand.

I had been in country for two days and decided to tour the Marlborough area and happened upon this hotel after a Tripadvisor search. I arrived at the beginning of their spring season and was one of only a few guests at the hotel. This was my good fortune. For one thing, compared to other similarly rated hotels in the area, location sets it apart. It is literally located in the middle of a vineyard in a very quiet rural setting. The hotel is of a rustic, modern architectural design and this is carried over into the modern designed interiors.

I presented without a reservation and to my good luck hit "the sweet spot" where they did have plenty of rooms since it was very early in their season. The hospitality started on my arrival when Jen, the desk manager on duty, helped to find a room in my travel budget range- this happened to be a smaller suite at the very back of the property.
This had several advantages- for one the view outside my room was spectacular- surrounded by acres of grape vines with a fantastic background of the local range of the
South Island Alps --some still snow-capped! In the country setting it was very quiet and the view of the night sky was spectacular with very low light pollution- this is really one of the first times I have seen the Milky Way in my 50 years of life! ***NOTE TO ASTRONOMY CLUBS: with the rural location and excellent seeing this would be perfect place for a star party - especially for a club trip outside the US and northern hemisphere- the management seemed receptive to this idea for future marketing!

The suites are in separate buildings with two suites to a building. Again, the decor is modern, contemporary and the suite was VERY clean. Sliding glass doors open up the space of the suites with the fantastic views as mentioned above. Amenities include fridge, microwave and a bar sink in the main living area, bedroom with king bed and a spacious bathroom with tile by tubes in the sub-flooring - the walk-in shower also has plenty of room. The grounds are immaculate and have a small garden amongst the vineyard.

The main building houses reception and a rustic/modern, lodge-style restaurant which is complete with a sitting area and fireplace that makes it very cozy. A nice view of the garden and surrounding vineyards is afforded through glass doors opening onto a patio area with bistro tables and chairs. Anita, my hostess/server was more than gracious and made several good suggestions on food and wine combinations which were artfully and tastefully prepared by the hotel chef. The cuisine is centered around local foods and of course has a wide variety of local wines. I felt the service was superb!

One difficulty I did experience during my stay was the high-speed, wi-fi internet which was somewhat less than desirable, although the staff tried to help me connect to the system as best they could.

Overall, the Marlborough Vintners Hotel reflects the best that New Zealand has to offer in scenery, food and environment. I also found the staff to be reflective of the nature of New Zealanders with their friendly, honest and caring attitude. I give this hotel 5 stars for cleanliness, up-keep of the environment and the service in general provided by the staff.

I was fortunate to meet the guest relations manager, Sharyn and the General Manager, Katherine who were very helpful in making my stay a pleasant one,

Room Tip: Time your visits well, avoid the rush of high season and communicate your desires directly to the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzed12007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review and being so kind to pass on your lovely comments about your stay, the service and the property. I really do appreciate it. We are very lucky here with our location as we do get such magnificent night skies that it really is quite magical. With very little light pollution because of our quiet and rural location it makes the night sky seem more special than usual especially appreciated by star gazers! Thank you again, Kind Regards, Catherine Bone, GM Marlborugh Vintners Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

This is more than a room, it is a suite with 2 bedrooms and separate sitting room. Great views, spacious and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal we had there was fantastic, and the breakfasts were good as well. Very close to many wineries. They had bikes so we could cycle around not worry about having to drive!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve3591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You obviously had a great time biking around the wineries, which can be a great way to get around the cellar doors from the Hotel. Thank you again, Kind Regards, Catherine Bone GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

The location is decidedly rural, set in the heart of the Marlborough wine region and an excellent location to explore the local vineyards while having a very upscale room to retire to and a fine restaurant on site.

The suite was very clean, modern and spacious with an oversize bathroom.

Laundry facilities were centralized, but otherwise the suite was well-equipped and very comfortable.

Dinner was expensive but good value, breakfast fine but more limited in selection.

In addition to a fine wine selection, this hotel was one of the few locations we found in New Zealand that offered some good tasting locally-brewed beers.

Room Tip: All rooms are similarly fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalambaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Many thanks for posting your review on trip advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you managed to sample some of the local beers as well as the wine from the area.
Thank you again, Kind Regards, Catherine Bone GM Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

We were expecting a great stay and we certainly got it. The accommodation was memorably stylish with a vineyard view wherever we looked. The position of the hotel within the Marlborough area allows easy access to any vineyard for tastings. The a la carte menu was excellent as was the choice of both Kiwi and world wines. Two comments however - one that the breakfast serving area was rather cramped necessitating a wait at busy times and the other concerned the general layout of the hotel - ie. the entrance seemed to be at the 'side' with the obvious 'front' being ignored. Also it was a shame that for this standard of hotel that guests had to walk past the maintenance area to their suites.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangamgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have taken on board your comments and we are actually in the process of reviewing a couple of those items mentioned. Thanks again. Kind Regards, Catherine Bone GM Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch new zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

recently had a weekend break at this great hotel surounded by vineyards and not far fon Blenheim and the Marlborough sounds. The suite was very comfortable with a lovely comfort you would get if you were at home. But the food was out of this world. We tried the degustation menu for dinner and the chef gave us 6 delicious courses using local produce and combining them with the lovely wines of the region. The smoked salmon was to die for. I thoroughly recommend this hotel with it friendly nd knowledgeable staff and it lovely laid back atmosphere

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I have passed on your praise to the Chef and am so glad that you enjoyed your wine matched dinner. Thank you again, Kind Regards, Catherine Bone GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Having dropped people off at different accommodations when returning from a wine tour, it confirmed to us what a lovely location we were staying in! It's really in the middle of all of the wineries and is lovely and peaceful since it's not in the middle of town. The accommodation itself is large. Large lounge / diner, massive bathroom (although no bath) and nice sized bedroom. The only comment I would make is it would have been nice had the bedroom looked over the vines (rather than having the bathroom there) but that is a design point rather than anything else. Overall I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Thank you for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am very glad that you enjoyed the tranquility of the vines here at Marlborough Vintners Hotel and found yourselves to be well placed for your winery visits. Thank you again, Kind Regards, Catherine Bone GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
6.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.9 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
6.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
18.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Vintners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Property: Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Address: 190 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Family Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlborough Vintners Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards, MVH is on Rapaura Road in the heart of Sauvignon Blanc country, MVH is Famous for its use of Local Marlborough produce, wether that be Food or WineOnly an hour drive from Nelson and 25 minutes from Picton.MVH offers luxury Marlborough accommodation and activities for your next holiday, wine experience, weekend escape, boutique vineyard wedding or executive retreat.The Vintners Room Restaurant offers modern cuisine with a seasonl menu created to show case the best of Marlborough Produce some sourced locally and some grown in our own gardenOptions range from a sharing platteror a two course meal to a wine matched degustation dinner. Marlborough Vintners Hotel 16 Executive Vineyard Suites are furnished with luxury in mind and the spacious 71m2 will ensure that you have ample space to relax in during your stay. Each suite is complete with all the amenities and facilities you would expect from a 5 star rated property such as King size beds, Towelling Robes, a spacious bathroom with handmade amenities from a local supplier, DVD player, TV, a great range of complimentary DVDs , private patio and a small kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary Wi-FI is also available in your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marlborough Vintners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlborough Vintners
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing