We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Our stay at the Vintner's suited our needs as travelers briefly experiencing the Marlborough area. I would have to comment on the apartments and the misuse of space as it was quite striking in areas such as the bathrooms, which could benefit from the addition of a bath tub. Apart from this small observation, the facilities were above average.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    99
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
277
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Found MVH on wot if. Looked very good on the net so decided to book for a 2night stay. We were most impressed. Catherine is most helpful and will give suggestions of what is in the area to see and do. The accommodation is excellent and the breakfast should satisfy every taste. Loved it.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We just came back from our 3 nights stay in this hotel and I must say we really loved it.
The room was very well equipped, clean and spacious and the bungalow type units are situated almost in the middle of a vineyard. Lovely views and a big terrace. Free wifi as well. The room was serviced every day. There is also a restaurant with good quality food.
You can rent bikes from the hotel for half a day or more. I loved the special range of toiletries provided.You can buy them at the hotel, if you wish, but we made a special trip to Wairau Valley and visited the soap shop, just ask reception for the address. At the other side of the road of the hotel there are some shops and a cafe with yummy food and an outside play area with a pond and ducks. We would definitely stay in this hotel when we come back to Blenheim.

Room Tip: The rooms 9 to 16 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piririnha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights at MVH during a two week trip around South Island.

The best thing about this hotel is the location - it is located right in the middle of the vineyards and all the best known wineries. I can't remember another hotel in the area that is as well located for winery visits and tastings. As a consequence it felt secluded and quiet - just what is needed for a few days relaxation.

We stayed in one of the suites (I think they might all be suites), which consisted of a lounge and kitchen area, a seperate bedroom and a large separate bathroom. The fit-out of the rooms is of a high quality and the amenities are as you might expect for the price you pay. Overall very comfortable indeed.

The service in the hotel is excellent. The staff were super friendly and provided ample advice and help with seeing the surrounding area. No complaints in this department.

We had a high quality breakfast every morning, with fresh stewed fruit, homemade cereals and freshly baked breads and pastries. Having said it was of a high quality, it wasn't anything all that special in that many of the B+B's we stayed in NZ provided a breakfast of similar quality. We also had dinner in the hotel on the first night which was very good, if not excellent.

And here's the problem in my view with this hotel. Everything was good, if not very good, but I just have this nagging feeling that it didn't quite meet my expectations for the price we paid. A B+B costs far less (perhaps less than half) of what we paid for the room, and the service/amenities/food - whilst very good - just didn't quite add up to that premium price point in my view.

Nothing to complain about, but nothing to really shout about either (location aside).

I would stay here again I think, but I would certainly consider other hotels/B+B's in the surrounding area if I were to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldworn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We booked this hotel on a B&B basis, and were pleasantly surprised by the space provided by our self contained unit, with lovely views both front and back of the vineyards surrounding it. A large living area with a lounge at one end, and a kitchenette and dining area the other end. The separate bedroom was also nice, and there was also an enormous bathroom, but such a shame in this large space that there wasn't a bath as well as a shower, as there was certainly space for both.

You could stay here and just use the hotel's restaurant, or there is space to self cater if that is what you want to do, although please note there is not a full cooker, just a microwave.

If you are away for quite a long time, as we were, there were full laundry facilities on site which was a bonus.

Whilst out of the actual town of Blenheim which could be a down side for some, this will present no problem if your main intention is wine, as you are in the midst of some of the better wineries in the area, making getting about very easy.

All in all a nice place to stay in the Blenheim area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We attended a wedding on 11/11/11 at MVH. Staff were attentive and our room was ready ahead of time. Wedding went off without a hitch and that was due to the staff. Rooms were represented perfectly by the photos. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aureliia1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
403 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Loved this hotel! This is definitely luxurious accommodation and feels so much more special than an average hotel. The room was gorgeous and self contained with everything you could need to cook a meal. Very spacious with separate bedroom and large lounge including a good sized dining area and a massive bathroom with excellent shower pressure. The furnishings are modern and the whole suite was very clean. The bed was very comfortable too.
The surroundings of a vineyard are great and make you feel isolated from any hustle and bustle. My favourite part of the suite was the good sized outdoor patio facing the vines.
The food in the restaurant is also fantastic, as are all the staff I encountered.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_WLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
6.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.9 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
6.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
18.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Vintners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Property: Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Address: 190 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlborough Vintners Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards, MVH is on Rapaura Road in the heart of Sauvignon Blanc country, MVH is Famous for its use of Local Marlborough produce, wether that be Food or WineOnly an hour drive from Nelson and 25 minutes from Picton.MVH offers luxury Marlborough accommodation and activities for your next holiday, wine experience, weekend escape, boutique vineyard wedding or executive retreat.The Vintners Room Restaurant offers modern cuisine with a seasonl menu created to show case the best of Marlborough Produce some sourced locally and some grown in our own gardenOptions range from a sharing platteror a two course meal to a wine matched degustation dinner. Marlborough Vintners Hotel 16 Executive Vineyard Suites are furnished with luxury in mind and the spacious 71m2 will ensure that you have ample space to relax in during your stay. Each suite is complete with all the amenities and facilities you would expect from a 5 star rated property such as King size beds, Towelling Robes, a spacious bathroom with handmade amenities from a local supplier, DVD player, TV, a great range of complimentary DVDs , private patio and a small kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary Wi-FI is also available in your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlborough Vintners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlborough Vintners
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing