We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and relaxing if not private”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing if not private”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Single storey, self-contained terrace houses, this accomodation is ideal if you don't want to interact with your fellow travellers.

Fixtures and fittings are of only average quality, however the units are spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is oddly large.

For a bit of rest and relaxation, the Marlborough Vintners is ideal as it is extremely quiet. However the design is such that the occupants look into each other. This was a bit disconcerting.

The wifi connection was slow and erratic. This was a constant theme of our New Zealand accomodation.

Overall however I would recommend this hotel as the location seemed ideal for doing the wine trail.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise for the issue with the internet connection.
We have spend a lot of money to provide free internet for all of our guests but sometimes there is a wee hiccup that is out side of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    99
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
281
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Spend three nights here to experience the vineyards around Blenheim after completing the Queen Charlotte Track. The location is excellent, close to many vineyards and only a short drive from Blenheim and Renwick.

We stayed in a Vineyard View suite although there did not seem to be a great deal of difference in the view from our suite and that from some of the Garden View Suites. The suites are bright and airy with floor to ceiling glazed doors front and back (although that did make privacy a bit of an issue with clear views from/into a couple of other units). Our suite was one of the ones closest to the access road and those on the other end of the blocks (ie furthest from the road) look as though they offer slightly better views and more privacy.

However, the suite was very well appointed with lots of space and a huge shower room - in fact the shower room was so big, it was a shame there was no bath. One minor negative is that there is no hob in the kitchenette, only a microwave. It would have been nice to have a hob to be able to cook breakfast more easily.

We only had dinner at the on site restaurant one night but the food and service were very good. there is a small gym (exercise room is probably a better description) and a hot tub which is relaxing although it is in an enclosed area so no vineyard views.

Overall through, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest away from the access road look as though they offer slightly better views and improve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi666Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights to experience the wine county and spent New Year's Eve and Day here. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Read many reviews about the lack of a bath and must say that once we saw the size of the bathroom and tranquil surroundings, we too wished for a bath. But having said they have a fantastic outdoor hot tub near the reception and that is where we rang in the New Year under the stars. It was quite memorable! The other reason our stay was awesome was the best over and beyond service we have had from one of their staff, Anita. She really made our NY eve dinner special and actually made us feel pretty special too! Which brings us to the food, which was spectacular (massive portions) - one must try their mussel appetizer and pork-belly main. The wine selection is very good, with a surprisingly good home-labelled Sauvignon Blanc. We rented good sturdy bikes from them to tour the vineyards and equipped with great advice. All in all - a great stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReachP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Happy New Year and Thank you for your Lovely review.
We are very lucky at MVH that we have a great team of staff that are all very passionate about what they do and Anita is a very good example of that.
Our Bathrooms are rather grand you might like to know we have it in our plans to put outdoor hot tubs in two of them so watch this space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We only came here for dinner but after dinner we really wished we had stayed overnight.

It's a very quiet and beautiful place.

Perfect for staying in Marlborough for a night or two.

The rooms looked very nice. The food at the restaurant was delicious. They had really nice wines from all over Marlborough. At least several vineyards.

Very nice and relaxing atmosphere

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOnPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for you great review. We do believe we have a special property! The Location is everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had a lovely Villa / Suite facing the vineyards - really did enjoy sitting out on the deck chairs with a bottle I had just picked up from the wine tours earlier that day. A lovely retreat, peaceful, relaxing. Well comfortable and a fully spacious equipped suite for the two of us. Could not think of anything that was amiss. An easy central location, staff were great.

The hotel restaurant was billed as one of the best in the area, we opted for a series of the degustation starters but unfortunately it wasn't as memorable as we hoped for.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very lucky with having so many amazing wineries as our neighbours. we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great location and easy to locate when driving from Kaikoura. Comfortable and clean accommodation with good quality bathroom amenities, loved the body balm and hand lotion.
Although we booked vineyard views, it's really not necessary as you are surrounded by vineyards and mountains and thats what you see all the time. Guest laundry is available and an added bonus when you are travelling for 2 weeks. My only complain is that dinner service was really slow, we waited almost 50 mins before our meals arrived. Highly recommend Brancott Estate for lunch and wine tasting. Great food and fantastic views.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We feel the Garden views over the native gardens are just as beautiful as the vines. it is fun to sit and watch the native birds getting drunk on the nectar.
I am sorry to hear you had a long wait in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Lovely rooms situated right in the vines and gardens. Rooms were very clean, modern and spacious. Good value for money. Situated walking and biking distance to lots of vineyards. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Any are good, all very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very lucky that we are situated right amongst the vines and that you can have stopped at 8 different wineries before you get to th end of the road..bliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
6.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.9 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
6.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
18.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Vintners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Property: Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Address: 190 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlborough Vintners Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards, MVH is on Rapaura Road in the heart of Sauvignon Blanc country, MVH is Famous for its use of Local Marlborough produce, wether that be Food or WineOnly an hour drive from Nelson and 25 minutes from Picton.MVH offers luxury Marlborough accommodation and activities for your next holiday, wine experience, weekend escape, boutique vineyard wedding or executive retreat.The Vintners Room Restaurant offers modern cuisine with a seasonl menu created to show case the best of Marlborough Produce some sourced locally and some grown in our own gardenOptions range from a sharing platteror a two course meal to a wine matched degustation dinner. Marlborough Vintners Hotel 16 Executive Vineyard Suites are furnished with luxury in mind and the spacious 71m2 will ensure that you have ample space to relax in during your stay. Each suite is complete with all the amenities and facilities you would expect from a 5 star rated property such as King size beds, Towelling Robes, a spacious bathroom with handmade amenities from a local supplier, DVD player, TV, a great range of complimentary DVDs , private patio and a small kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary Wi-FI is also available in your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Marlborough Vintners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlborough Vintners
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing