We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value, excellent location & service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We booked two nights directly with the hotel at a cost of NZ$180 per night. It is in the heart of wine country with vineyards in the adjoining fields and the accommodation is set out in single story units around the main hotel building. The accommodation consists of a large bedroom, sitting/dining area with basic meal preparations facilities and a huge bathroom. The suite was beautifully decorated and spacious.

Reception staff were friendly and efficient. A cold continental style breakfast was provided with cold meats, smoked salmon, cheese as well as the other normal breakfast items. On one evening we had dinner which was excellent. Restaurant service was excellent. Free internet/DVDs

Overall, a good location, excellent facilities, friendly staff, great value for money and we would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SeacatIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2008

We didn't not what to expect when we booked this place but was very pleased the minute we walked into the suite. Everything was modern, new and clean. Bathroom and Living room were big. Very impressed with the whole apartment.

Too bad we only stayed here for 1 night.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank yguns27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

Very fine establishment rising out of the grasses in this wine country.
Lovely and very private rooms with all the amenities one could wish.
Well cooked and presented breakfast.
Wished to stay longer and would love to go back.
Didn't eat here and was sorry for that.
Do try it!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olderperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

Stayed here in December for one night with my husband en route from Christchurch to Wellington. We wanted to spend some time in the wineries and have somewhere a bit luxurious to go back to for a nice dinner (and more wine!) in the evening.

Vintners was an excellent choice and we would have loved to stay for longer. We had a one bedroom suite which was bigger than some apartments I have been in! It had a kitchenette, a large sitting room, bedroom, huge bathroom and nice terrace off the sitting room. Also as other reviewers said, a driveway out front to park your car and lovely views from the terrace to the adjoining vines.

Check in was great and the receptionist organised for bikes to be delivered to our suite within half an hour of arriving so we would waste no time getting out and about to the wineries! We visited 4 in the afternoon then headed back to our suite to relax before dinner in the hotel restaurant that night. The restaurant was fairly quiet and the service a bit hit and miss but the food was top class-really well presented and tasty. You must have their take on afagato-vanilla ice cream with baileys and an expresso-to die for. After dinner we were able to retreat to our suite and drink some more wine and it was all very relaxing.

We had a breakfast basket the next morning (delivered to room while we were at dinner) and it was wonderful-muffins, fruit, cereal, muesli, juice, breads, cheese, yoghurt-more than enough for two people. It was lovely to be able to enjoy it in the suite at our leisure without having to walk up to the restaurant.

We were able to visit one more winery the next morning by car before we headed off to Wellington.

A wonderful place and a very pretty part of the South Island.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GaylePDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2007

Agree with all the previous posts. Large modern, well appointed comfortable suites in the middle of the main vineyards of Marlborough. Very helpful staff who, booked taxis, checked on tour bookings and arranged bike hire for us so we could cycle around the wineries.

Excellent restaurant. Some of the best food we had in 3 weeks in NZ.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank Ian_Stanworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite for 2 nights, and were very happy with the spaciousness and quality. Furniture, finishes, fixtures and linens, etc, were all very new and very well maintained. It was immaculately clean.

Location for proximity to nearby vineyards is great, and it's only 15mins drive into Blenheim town for cinema & other restaurants.

We did eat at the Vintners restaurant for dinner, and found the menu very good.

We certainly concur with the positive experiences that have been mentioned in the reviews to date.

The only thing we could fault was atmosphere - specifically its absence. Perhaps because they were so new feeling, or perhaps because they had done such a thorough job of providing a generically very good quality, there was a lack of character. We could have been staying in a high-quality serviced apartment villa anywhere in the world, hard to distinguish that we were in NZ, or anywhere as unique as Marlborough region.

That being said - we would still recommend it to anyone as a very good quality place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rach-Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

We stayed here for one night while staying in the Marlborough region and thoroughly enjoyed the great accommodation, the restaurant and the location. The vintners retreat is within walking distance to several wineries and driving to others is easy.

We stayed in one of the suite bungalows which were clean, comfortable and well furnished. Despite being "terraced" we did not feel that this took away from our enjoyment and the views from our bungalow (#16) over the rows of grapes and the mountains in the background was amazing.

I would recommend the vintners retreat as a great, convenient base for exploring Marlborough's wineries.

Moreover, we would also strongly recommend Allan Scott's restaurant for lunch and the Herzog winery which also had excellent food.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SixtyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
678 reviews
6.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
385 reviews
3.8 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
6.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#19 of 32 in Blenheim
217 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#17 of 32 in Blenheim
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Vintners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Address: 190 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £87 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlborough Vintners Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards, MVH is on Rapaura Road in the heart of Sauvignon Blanc country, MVH is Famous for its use of Local Marlborough produce, wether that be Food or WineOnly an hour drive from Nelson and 25 minutes from Picton.MVH offers luxury Marlborough accommodation and activities for your next holiday, wine experience, weekend escape, boutique vineyard wedding or executive retreat.The Vintners Room Restaurant offers modern cuisine with a seasonl menu created to show case the best of Marlborough Produce some sourced locally and some grown in our own gardenOptions range from a sharing platteror a two course meal to a wine matched degustation dinner. Marlborough Vintners Hotel 16 Executive Vineyard Suites are furnished with luxury in mind and the spacious 71m2 will ensure that you have ample space to relax in during your stay. Each suite is complete with all the amenities and facilities you would expect from a 5 star rated property such as King size beds, Towelling Robes, a spacious bathroom with handmade amenities from a local supplier, DVD player, TV, a great range of complimentary DVDs , private patio and a small kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary Wi-FI is also available in your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marlborough Vintners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlborough Vintners
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing