We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Would definitely stay again. Stayed 2 nights. Found the location ideal as it enabled access to many of the vineyards. Room was very spacious and tastefully designed. Beautiful views from the rooms. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in Suite 13 which was an end unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your review I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

This place is near to the end of Rapaura Road very close to five or six vineyards. We made a mistake of thinking it would be easy to get about around here without a car due to wine tastings and driving, but alas we were wrong, without transport you are cruelly at the mercy of the operators around the area. Make no bones about this it is far more expensive to travel anywhere here than New York, London , Sydney for that matter anywhere we have been. Local taxis will not come to get you, the only options are the shuttle bus or wine tours, both around the $80, so please take my advise hire a car at the Ferry, we should have picked up on this as everyone else headed that way but us!! Now to the place it's self, the unit layout is very nice, large relaxing area and good size bedroom with a King Size bed and oh my it is so comfortable ! Plenty of wardrobe space, but not many draws for T shirts etc. there is a small kitchen which with the food around you won't get used ! Cable tv but we noticed no movie channels odd that. Either side there are two large full length patios windows with views of the mountains in both sides, this is awesome , even in January to the southern range you can still see one mountain topped with snow. It's all about location here the place is beautiful. On the rear patio there are two rocking chairs to chill out in. With all that glass pricey is obtained by very heavy block out curtains and you don't here any sounds from your neighbours ! Overall this is very nice place, geared up mainly for couples but we have seen a child here so they must have accommodated him, there is a small spa, like the ones you have in your backyard and a gym, neither of which we used. The restaurant where you have a continental, breakfast is warm and looks over a lovely little garden where they grow veggies and fruit and olives etc. by the way the smoked salmon they do themselves and it is sooooo gooooood ! We did dine here but I will do another review for that.
Remember hire a car! we got stuck out here until we managed to get to Picton to collect a car, I suppose the only thing that got me about the car stuff was even though they tried to help the easiest solution was they have a mini bus for hire which they could allowed us to hire it / use for 1 hr to go and get a car from Picton but like the lady in Picton really wanted use to use the shuttle at a cost! Will come again as it is very close to Hans Herzog and if you have read my review on that place you can see why I would fly from oz to NZ just to go back there!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank IslandHopperQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your extensive review and I am glad you enjoyed all facets of the hotel. We do feel very blessed living in such a beautiful place.
I am sorry that your Travel agent was not clearer about public transport in New Zealand or should I say the lack of it. It is also a pitty that they did not advice you that you could hire a car at the airport.
The handy thing for us is we are only a 5 minute car ride from the airport and once you are here you can bike the vineyards.
Thanks again for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I spent 2 weeks traveling around New Zealand for our honeymoon and spent 2 of our nights in Marlborough wine country at the Marlborough Vintners Hotel. We were so happy with our choice to stay here. Our room was actually our own little 1 bedroom apartment with a very large bathroom, a small kitchen, a living room and a large deck to sit and watch the sunset over the mountains and vineyard with a glass of Sauv Blanc in hand!

The room was very clean and well maintained and you just can't beat the view - the rooms are practically in the vineyard! It was a great bonus to have on site laundry. The location is outside of town in the vineyards. When we were there it was very quiet and peaceful - didn't seem to be too many people around. We also ate some of the best salmon we've ever had at the hotel restaurant!

I absolutely LOVED this place and seriously wanted to move in!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drea1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Yes it is a great way to finish the day by sitting on your balcony sampling a great wine that you just picked up at a local winery and watching the sunset over the Wither Hills ... Bliss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Single storey, self-contained terrace houses, this accomodation is ideal if you don't want to interact with your fellow travellers.

Fixtures and fittings are of only average quality, however the units are spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is oddly large.

For a bit of rest and relaxation, the Marlborough Vintners is ideal as it is extremely quiet. However the design is such that the occupants look into each other. This was a bit disconcerting.

The wifi connection was slow and erratic. This was a constant theme of our New Zealand accomodation.

Overall however I would recommend this hotel as the location seemed ideal for doing the wine trail.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I apologise for the issue with the internet connection.
We have spend a lot of money to provide free internet for all of our guests but sometimes there is a wee hiccup that is out side of our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Spend three nights here to experience the vineyards around Blenheim after completing the Queen Charlotte Track. The location is excellent, close to many vineyards and only a short drive from Blenheim and Renwick.

We stayed in a Vineyard View suite although there did not seem to be a great deal of difference in the view from our suite and that from some of the Garden View Suites. The suites are bright and airy with floor to ceiling glazed doors front and back (although that did make privacy a bit of an issue with clear views from/into a couple of other units). Our suite was one of the ones closest to the access road and those on the other end of the blocks (ie furthest from the road) look as though they offer slightly better views and more privacy.

However, the suite was very well appointed with lots of space and a huge shower room - in fact the shower room was so big, it was a shame there was no bath. One minor negative is that there is no hob in the kitchenette, only a microwave. It would have been nice to have a hob to be able to cook breakfast more easily.

We only had dinner at the on site restaurant one night but the food and service were very good. there is a small gym (exercise room is probably a better description) and a hot tub which is relaxing although it is in an enclosed area so no vineyard views.

Overall through, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest away from the access road look as though they offer slightly better views and improve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi666Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights to experience the wine county and spent New Year's Eve and Day here. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Read many reviews about the lack of a bath and must say that once we saw the size of the bathroom and tranquil surroundings, we too wished for a bath. But having said they have a fantastic outdoor hot tub near the reception and that is where we rang in the New Year under the stars. It was quite memorable! The other reason our stay was awesome was the best over and beyond service we have had from one of their staff, Anita. She really made our NY eve dinner special and actually made us feel pretty special too! Which brings us to the food, which was spectacular (massive portions) - one must try their mussel appetizer and pork-belly main. The wine selection is very good, with a surprisingly good home-labelled Sauvignon Blanc. We rented good sturdy bikes from them to tour the vineyards and equipped with great advice. All in all - a great stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ReachP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Happy New Year and Thank you for your Lovely review.
We are very lucky at MVH that we have a great team of staff that are all very passionate about what they do and Anita is a very good example of that.
Our Bathrooms are rather grand you might like to know we have it in our plans to put outdoor hot tubs in two of them so watch this space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We only came here for dinner but after dinner we really wished we had stayed overnight.

It's a very quiet and beautiful place.

Perfect for staying in Marlborough for a night or two.

The rooms looked very nice. The food at the restaurant was delicious. They had really nice wines from all over Marlborough. At least several vineyards.

Very nice and relaxing atmosphere

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelingOnPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for you great review. We do believe we have a special property! The Location is everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
679 reviews
6.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
385 reviews
3.8 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
6.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#20 of 32 in Blenheim
217 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Vintners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Address: 190 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £87 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlborough Vintners Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards, MVH is on Rapaura Road in the heart of Sauvignon Blanc country, MVH is Famous for its use of Local Marlborough produce, wether that be Food or WineOnly an hour drive from Nelson and 25 minutes from Picton.MVH offers luxury Marlborough accommodation and activities for your next holiday, wine experience, weekend escape, boutique vineyard wedding or executive retreat.The Vintners Room Restaurant offers modern cuisine with a seasonl menu created to show case the best of Marlborough Produce some sourced locally and some grown in our own gardenOptions range from a sharing platteror a two course meal to a wine matched degustation dinner. Marlborough Vintners Hotel 16 Executive Vineyard Suites are furnished with luxury in mind and the spacious 71m2 will ensure that you have ample space to relax in during your stay. Each suite is complete with all the amenities and facilities you would expect from a 5 star rated property such as King size beds, Towelling Robes, a spacious bathroom with handmade amenities from a local supplier, DVD player, TV, a great range of complimentary DVDs , private patio and a small kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary Wi-FI is also available in your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marlborough Vintners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlborough Vintners
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing