We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb - the best place to stay, no doubt about it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I have very rarely given a 5 star to a place - but this one really deserves it. There's simply no other scoring for MVH!

We stayed 2 nights, on the Gourmet package, which was just excellent value. The hotel itself was really really nice - from the friendly staff at the reception, to the excellent layout of the suites, to the modern decor, to the enormous size, to the attention to details - it simply exceeds our expectation (and we already had quite a high expectation, seeing that it was No. 1 on TA). From the minute we walked in, we wondered - maybe we should stay 3 nights.

Each suite has its own bedroom, and the couch in the lounge can be used as a sofa bed. Both beds are very comfy (I know as I slept on both). Pillows are also good. Shower is great, with lots of hot water and strong pressure. The shower is enormous - it's like the size of the bedroom! The suites feel like they are brand new. Everything is finished at a high standard. There's a private courtyard for you to sit outside and enjoy the sun. And wait - there's one more thing - apart from the heat pump, this place has underfloor heating for the bathroom. What more can we say?

Both mornings we had breakfast there. It was a continental breakfast but with a lot of choice - at least 6 types of bread/english muffins/bagels - lots of spreads, a good selection of fruits, yogurt, cereals, ham, salmon, cheese. And freshly made coffee and juice. Sitting in the restaurant and tucking in, what a good way to start the day.

We also had dinner there on our first night - again, everything was delicious. Entree was their specialty bread which was really really yum. For mains we had the pork belly and lamb racks, both were very well done. My son's alphabet soup was probably a little disappointing, but I should've ordered pasta for him...anyway, desserts were divine. The waitress was very friendly, and the chef even invited my son to decorate his own sundane.

On the morning we were departing, it was pouring down with rain, and the reception happily suggested that we stayed in our suite for as long as we wanted, before we had to leave to catch our ferry.

We will be back. And I would gladly recommend this place to anyone. Food, hotel, service, everything is perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

Lovely well run Hotel in amongst the vineyards. Great views of the mountains in the distance with a lovely patio. The lounge was comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was almost as large as the bedroom next door. The beds were firm and the sheets were clean. The breakfasts were great and just what was needed before a day of tasting wine. We wish we had stayed longer and thought that the Hotel offered good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tank09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

What a great place! We booked the “Marlborough Wine and Gourmet Package” with a five course dinner with wine match and a guided wine tour. The apartments are very big (one bedroom) and you are in the middle of the vineyard. In the evening the restaurant is open only for hotel guests. It was one of our best dinners in New Zealand. The stay was on the pricy side but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueeye-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This hotel was a late addition to our itinerary and set the standard for accommodation. We stayed only 1 night but would have been happy for a week.
In the heart of Marlborough wine country.
Not cheap at $200NZ but left us feeling that we'd had a taste of luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psteph08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We had our wedding here last weekend with 40+ guests who stayed on site and every single one of them loved the place. What makes it really special is the service, Sara and David made sure they looked after all the little details for all of the guests. The accomodation was very roomy (in some units we had 4 or 5 people) and standard of cleanliness was excellent. We had elderly guests who are very particular about noise levels etc and they all had a great sleep, each unit was very quiet.The cleaning staff even ensured that we weren't disturbed in getting ready for the wedding, the room was beautifully made up when we came back later in the night and they even wrapped up the left over food on the platters they had provided us. The food at this place was amazing especially as they had to catter for the needs of such a large group and we were running behind schedule as well on the wedding which wouldn't have helped their food preparation. They even set up a barbecue the night before for 25 of the guests who had arrived early for the wedding and prepared salads for us which was a great way of relaxing before the big day. Sara and Dave ensured that any guest was collected from the airport if they wished on top of all the other running around they were doing for our party. I could go on for ever about all the things they did for us during our stay - all in all excellent service, it's the third time we've been there and we'll be back this year!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caleb5268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I think all of the previous positive reviews are an accurate summary of the hotel.Comments on the positive side:
1 Very good quality room with separate lounge area and ktichenette .We were in Studio 16 which was in the front row with great views over the vineyard and mountains.
2 Good restauant with excellent local produce ,a superb wine list and very friendly (but thankfully not over attentive ) staff.
3 Reception very helpful ..Fixed up internet connection for nominal charge and very helpful with tour recommendations.
Negatives-and this is nitpicking:
1 Rooms were a bit too transparent-you could see in to all of the other rooms to the rear which meant closing curtains all of the time if either of us wanted to change (although as my wife said why would anyone want to look at me )
2 The Hotel backs on to a road that is dead straight for a number of miles with trucks bombing up and down (we were told it has the highest casualty rate per kilometre of any road in NZ ).At night there was the constant background hum of the road-not a big deal but not as quiet as i would have hoped
3 Not the hotels fault but if you book a wine tour be very careful which vineyards you visit .In particular stay away from Cloudy bay-what a horrible place with rude staff shovelling out the wine to tour parties standing 3 deep at the counter .Perhaps a bit more time on staff training and less on selling t shirts may help Coudy bay.What a comparison to the positive staff at River farm Wines and Hunters.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

A great hotel located in close proximity to numerous vineyards. The rooms are a good size, with a separate living room. The restaurant offers a simple menu, but the dishes are prepared to the highest quality. Mussels, salmon, lamp chops and venison did not disappoint in anyway. Very friendly staff and they will assist with all your needs.

Would recommend renting bikes for the wine tours. Also stay away from the large vineyards, such as Montana and Cloudy Bay. Tasting at smaller vineyards is much more enjoyable. Try lunch at Wither Hills.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
681 reviews
6.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
387 reviews
3.8 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
6.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#19 of 32 in Blenheim
217 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Vintners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Address: 190 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £87 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlborough Vintners Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards, MVH is on Rapaura Road in the heart of Sauvignon Blanc country, MVH is Famous for its use of Local Marlborough produce, wether that be Food or WineOnly an hour drive from Nelson and 25 minutes from Picton.MVH offers luxury Marlborough accommodation and activities for your next holiday, wine experience, weekend escape, boutique vineyard wedding or executive retreat.The Vintners Room Restaurant offers modern cuisine with a seasonl menu created to show case the best of Marlborough Produce some sourced locally and some grown in our own gardenOptions range from a sharing platteror a two course meal to a wine matched degustation dinner. Marlborough Vintners Hotel 16 Executive Vineyard Suites are furnished with luxury in mind and the spacious 71m2 will ensure that you have ample space to relax in during your stay. Each suite is complete with all the amenities and facilities you would expect from a 5 star rated property such as King size beds, Towelling Robes, a spacious bathroom with handmade amenities from a local supplier, DVD player, TV, a great range of complimentary DVDs , private patio and a small kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary Wi-FI is also available in your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marlborough Vintners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlborough Vintners
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing