We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vineyard in your backyard!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Vineyard in your backyard!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

Great setting in the middle of a vineyard. Our suite was literally overlooking the vineyard. Liza and I both loved it. We booked the package including a 3 course dinner and breakfast the next morning and enjoyed a romantic evening with a local bottle of bubbles offered by the hotel. The location is perfect for wine tours around.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bengrenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. It is most appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay and that you found our 'Gourmet Package' to match your needs for our visit to the Vines in Marlborough. Thank you again, Kind Regards, Catherine Bone, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    97
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
267
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Stayed for 2 nights including New Year's Eve. Excellent accommodation - smart, modern and spacious. Service before and during our stay was excellent. Room service was fast and delicious (and arrived with a recommended DVD). Views over the vineyards and the mountains were spectacular. Cafe across the road was an excellent option for lunch. Overall, a beautiful place to relax.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Many thanks for your great review. Its always wonderful to receive positive feedback. At Marlborough Vintners Hotel we really believe that its the attention to detail which makes the difference. Thank you again, Kind Regards, Catherine Bone GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
336 reviews
335 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

Spacious, modern, clean and comfy units amidst vineyards. Friendly staff. We had dinner at the restaurant one night. Food was excellent but servings (starters) were a little too small. What adds to the good location is the fact that you can walk over to Herzog winery/restaurant which we can highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Many thanks fo your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the Hotel and its great proximity to the world famous 'local ' wineries! Thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts. Kind Regards, Catherine Bone GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights over the Christmas period and were delighted with the accommodation and service we found at the MVH.

Our villa was No 16 and it looked directly out to the vines and mountains. The units are full of light with a patio at the back and a small area at the front. The patio has two chairs but didn't have the full view (and no patio table.... 'suggestion'). If I had a choice I would probably go for unit 13 next time as the patio at the back also overlooks the vines and would ensure you have the most privacy. The view from the front of the unit was wonderful.

The lounge had everything you would require with a comfortable sofa, desk and dining table, plus a/c. The kitchenette is well stocked, although has only a microwave (no hot plate). The bedroom was pleasant, good number of hangers in the wardrobe and a very comfortable bed. My only wish (and this goes for many new hotels) is for more drawer space.

The bathroom was top class, with under-floor heating, heated towel rack and individually controlled heating for the room. MVH have a range of luxurious Manuka honey products. (The reason I emphasis the heating is that we’re staying in a 5* hotel in Queenstown without any heating in bathroom – brrrr).

There is WiFi available at a reasonable cost (compared to many other hotels).
The first morning there was pouring rain and we found an umbrella at the front door for us. A nice touch. I have to agree with a previous review that the breakfast is basic, but keep in mind the accommodation is self-catering so we made our own breakfast on most mornings.

The housekeeping was top notch and despite a funny incident with a pair of “missing” items the unit was spotless when we returned each day. There is a guest laundry which we used.

The best part of the stay was definitely the dinner at the restaurant. We ate there a couple of times (as well as Christmas Day lunch) and have only praise for the chef. Whether it was the goats cheese brulee, steak, pork, lamb or salmon the presentation was first class and the taste superb. The Crème Brulee for desert was sublime (had it on every occasion) and they even brought me a little tray of toffee twizzels when I admired my husbands. Thank you to our lovely American waitress Hayley... you made our stay so enjoyable.

On a sunny day there are tables out in the small orchard or on the patio. It was wonderful to see the chef picking vegetables from their own garden.

Our time was spent visiting various wineries and the staff were very helpful in making suggestions (there are over 70 in the area so it all helps). We also went for a day cruise from Picton, which is about 30 mins away. Our favourite winery for food was Georges Michel (great platters). We bought wine from Seresin (check out their olive oils as well), Te Whare Ra, Gibson Bridge (specialise in Pinot Gris), Forrest and Georges Michel.

So if you're looking for accommodation in the Marlborough region seriously consider the Marlborough Vitners Hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smulholland24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Thank you so much for your detailed review. I am pleased that you had such a lovely time here and have so many positive aspects in your review to pass on to your fellow travellers! We certanly enjoyed hosting our guests over the Christmas period it was certainly festive! Thank you again for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Marlborough Vintners Hotel hopefully in the not too distant future. (I am glad that we got to the bottom of your 'missing' item and that you located it in your room!!) Kind Regards, Catherine Bone, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

We stayed here one night in December while travelling through Marlborough and really enjoyed it.

The rooms are clean and nicely appointed and are really on their way to being more "apartment" like in that there is a separate living space with a small kitchen and then a separate bedroom and bathroom.

We ate both dinner and breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and were pleasantly surprised by how great the food was - dinner was fantastic in terms of both food and service.

I'd recommend the hotel to anyone looking to spend time in Marlborough exploring the area and its wineries - it's very well located for that and has great staff and food.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of us on Trip Advisor. I really appreciate our feedback and I am so glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. I have passed on your praise to the staff. Thanks again, Kind Regards, Catherine Bone GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

Found the package deal that included accommodation and 5 course degustation great value. In addition, we were picked up at the airport, friendly service, great clean, new rooms & the meal was superb. Had a wine tour booked into all of this which was great too. Fantastic location and great trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDCD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2010
Thank you very much for your complimentary review on Trip advisor. I am very pleased that you found the package you chose so well suited to your needs. We like to offer a variety of opportunities for activities that we believe will showcase the best of the area and our Food and WIne experience at the Hotel. It certainly sounds like you made the most of your stay with us.
Thanks again, Kind regards, Catherine Bone, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We were travelling with friends around the South Island and stayed at the Vitners Hotel for only one night, but would have loved to stay another night. We booked the Gourmet Package and 2 x one bedroom Executive Suites. The suites overlooked the vinyard and were very spacious and spotlessly clean. The food in the restaurant was superb and the young lady who served us was wonderful. I can't fault the place. I also used the laundry facilities on located in the complex and found it great. Blenheim is a very small country town so there is not a lot to do, but it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rovers816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2010
Many thanks for your complimentary review. It was a pleasure to be of service to you and I am so glad the Hotel lived up to your expectations.

Kind Regards, Catherine Bone, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
6.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#2 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
4.9 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
6.4 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
18.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Vintners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Property: Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Address: 190 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Family Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlborough Vintners Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards, MVH is on Rapaura Road in the heart of Sauvignon Blanc country, MVH is Famous for its use of Local Marlborough produce, wether that be Food or WineOnly an hour drive from Nelson and 25 minutes from Picton.MVH offers luxury Marlborough accommodation and activities for your next holiday, wine experience, weekend escape, boutique vineyard wedding or executive retreat.The Vintners Room Restaurant offers modern cuisine with a seasonl menu created to show case the best of Marlborough Produce some sourced locally and some grown in our own gardenOptions range from a sharing platteror a two course meal to a wine matched degustation dinner. Marlborough Vintners Hotel 16 Executive Vineyard Suites are furnished with luxury in mind and the spacious 71m2 will ensure that you have ample space to relax in during your stay. Each suite is complete with all the amenities and facilities you would expect from a 5 star rated property such as King size beds, Towelling Robes, a spacious bathroom with handmade amenities from a local supplier, DVD player, TV, a great range of complimentary DVDs , private patio and a small kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary Wi-FI is also available in your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Marlborough Vintners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlborough Vintners
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing