We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Convenient Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blenheim Palms Motel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We found this motel was a very quiet and peaceful place to stay and so close to the town and its amenities. The units are very well presented with everything you need for a pleasant stay. Prices are comparable to other similar motels in the area but free internet puts the Palms ahead. There are 50 TV channels to choose from so plenty of choice if that's your thing. Martin and Heather are extremely good hosts and go out of their way to make your stopover an enjoyable experience. However, the servicing could be of a higher standard. The first thing we noticed was the very aged and marked toilet seat, then we found the bedroom drape hanging off one end of the curtain rail, leaving quite a gap. The next day we found that the bath had not been cleaned and our bed had been made by just pulling the covers up over the wrinkled sheets, leaving it pretty much the way we had got out. The servicing of the unit on the second day could, at best, only be called, very basic. While this aspect was disappointing it should not stop you from staying at the Palms as we would still rate it as a genuine four star motel. Thank you Martin and Heather for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: A downstairs unit on the north wing would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philygumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

I read all the Trip Advisor reviews of this motel and booked it based on them - and the fact they offered free internet. It's a good motel - very conveniently located close to town. It's also clean and modern and equipped with everything you need. There is parking outside the motel (it's tight, but all rooms have a spot) - so everything you could want and ideal if you're just a tourist or looking for an overnight stay.

The downsides...because it's virtually in town, you need to keep the drapes drawn if you don't want to be exposed to the street - so there's no outlook from the room - well our room at least which was no. 4. Ours was actually a 1 bedroom suite. It wasn't large but perfectly adequate but it was overful with furniture. The lounge-room had a double bed, a sofa (on an angle to fit in), a dining table and 4 chairs, a kitchenette and a long table with a TV on it. There was very little room to move about with all that furniture. Fortunately there was a separate bedroom! The bedroom was small but fine - but it did have one of those spongy/bouncy beds unfortunately.

The bathroom was a reasonable size - if you turned on the light a loud vent system went on that same time. The shower was more of a space in the corner of the bathroom with a curtain around it. It meant it was a bit bigger than a usual motel shower but inevitably you end up with water everywhere when it's not a contained shower. The motel had amenities (shampoo, conditioner etc) and a good sized hair dryer so that was all good.

The lighting is not great - not a problem if you're on holidays but we wanted to set up our laptops (and had to use the dining table as that was the only place to do this) and there wasn't a light in sight! In fact there was a scented candle on the dining room table. Mood lighting is great but if you need to see things when unpacking, using laptops etc, it's not so practical. We did get 'free internet' by way of these vouchers that give you internet access. However the signal was so weak we were unable to get a decent connection. The motel staff were obliging and gave us an internet cable to try and get a stronger connection and that worked. If we ran of time on the voucher, we simply went and asked for another one.

So the motel is good, clean, friendly - perhaps not ideally suited for those on business trips and needing a desk, good lighting and strong and fast internet - but fine for most I would imagine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blenheimpalms, Owner at Blenheim Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Hello Misha

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear your stay was not 100% as we pride ourselves on guest comfort.
Happy you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to a one bedroom unit and late check out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Have a great week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This motel is located within a short walk of the city centre which makes it very convenient for shops, cafes and restaurants. Although you are close to the city there was no noise issues at all. Parking is tight but enough spaces and we were parked right outside the room. The rooms are spacious enough, small kitchenette and with nice amenities. They provide free internet although the service level was quite slow and very disjointed. We had to visit the front desk several times to get new coupons to log in as each one has a short life and connection speeds were very low. Staff were friendly and helpful. Generally this is a good quality motel at reasonable rates so worth a stop for an overnight stay or short visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blenheimpalms, Owner at Blenheim Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Blenheim Palms Motel, we look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to the Top of the South.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The motel was fairly basic, but had everything you needed including a nice kitchenette. The room was very clean, but there was an overwhelming smell of air freshener. Sky TV gave lots of program choices on the tele. All in all, the stay was fine and the location was virtually in the centre of town. A bit noisy but settled down past 11pm so no problem sleeping. Would recommend particularly if you get a good rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We were just passing through Blenheim and stayed the night there. The staff were very accommodating and had good knowledge of the area. Friendly too, but by no means overbearing. We would definitely stay there again if passing through.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnoTheFusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a great night staying at the Blenheim Palms Motel - lovely room with modern decor in the city centre. What pleased us most was the service from Heather and her husband (sorry, don't know his name). Sorting us out when we'd not planned our stay particularly well - being accommodating when we needed to change our booking last minute, loaning a backpack because we hadn't brought our own and even taking me on their kids' school run to drop me off at the car rental company to pick up the car. Life savers! Thanks Blenheim Palms :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy0377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed one night at Blenheim Palms in a one bedroom apartment. The room was clean, which is top on my list. There were plenty of coffee and tea making supplies, a large bathroom with a spa tub, and nice Sukin products to use in the bath. The hosts were so kind and helpful and bent over backwards to be kind, even letting our kids borrow their children's personal scooters. Based on that alone I wish I could give a better rating. My big complaint is the main bed was so worn out and bouncy that my husband and I could not sleep in it together, it was like a waterbed. So, one of us slept in the single kids bed and one of the kids slept in the big bed which made for a rough night of sleep for all. The other negative for me is there was a lot of knick knacks in the room and we could not get the wifi going.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blenheimpalms, Owner at Blenheim Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a response Allison, We appreciate your feedback. We have just unwrapped a gorgeous Therapedic Royal Queen Bed from "Brownies"...so thank you for your comments.....Hope your boys enjoyed the rest of your trip..."gorgeous!"..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
387 reviews
1 mi away
Middle Park Motel
Middle Park Motel
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blenheim Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim Palms Motel

Address: 78 Charles Street | Corner of Charles and Henry streets., Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £77 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blenheim Palms Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SAVE $$ BOOK WITH US DIRECT! Modern motel within walking distance of restaurants, cafes and bars. Offering FREE wireless internet. Close proximity to ASB THEATRE - Clubs of Marlborough, Conference centre, Civic theatre and Stadium 2000. Central motel with a difference. FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS, 50+ SKY CHANNELS. "LOVE MARLBOROUGH WINE COUNTRY" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blenheim Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Palms Motel Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing