We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and restful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Everything here was so charming! The setting, the rooms, the people and the breakfasts.
It was a delight to stay here in the lovely gardens. Our rooms had flowers from the garden and comfort everywhere.It is the perfect place to stay when arriving off the ferry or waiting to go back to North Island and could not be better situated for visiting all the fabulous wine farms and seaside.
Everything was clean and comfy, beautiful and bountiful.THE place to stay for wine tasting and relaxing.

Room Tip: We would have been happy with any......ours had a little sitting room opening onto gardens and chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hadawayandfiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

When away from home either on holiday or otherwise I find a place to lay one's head extremely important.
I have just spent some time in New Zealand and was fortunate enough to stay at this lovely establishment which is located in a superb area yet conveniently located within easy reach of airports and ferry. It has recently changed ownership and is now in the hands of a delightful couple, Nanette and Steve Kirk who have achieved the wonderful balance of being efficient, incredibly kind and helpful but without being intrusive. I'm a fussy old fellow and found my stay most agreeable as was the knock on my door by their charming young daughter armed
with a generous slice of her own home made lemon cake, (their own lemons at that). My accommodation was spacious with views of the wonderful garden and breakfasts made me reluctant to leave.
Suffice to say I altered my travel plans so that I could have a further stay on my return journey en route home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This place is a real haven. We stayed two nights here in January in the self catering barn - a jasmine-clad building detached from the lovely wooden main house. I don't use charming very often, but it is: There is a huge bathroon, an airy french country style bedroom, spacious living room and neat kitchen. Also - a private outdoor area that catches the afternoon and evening sun.
The whole thing is made even more comfortable by the new owners Nanette and Steve Kirk, who get the balance just right - very welcoming but you're able to have all the privacy you need.
If you've been on the road in New Zealand this is a really restful stop, and would make a great romantic break for 2-3 days exploring the Marlborough area. You're given generous breakfast supplies and you can find great wine and produce locally, plus infinite lemons from the tree in the garden, so don't forget the gin. I'd really recommend the Barn, the only drawback being that you might just want to stay put in this leafy idyll.

Room Tip: There is a detatched self-catering Barn - this will also take extra beds for young children, or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonAmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My daughter and I just spent 2 weeks in New Zealand. We visited Auckland, Rotorua, Queenstown and finally Marilyn and Philip's oasis in Blenheim. It was a perfect ending to our trip. We ate well, drank well and felt extremely comfortable and relaxed. Our hosts even helped us get through a few unforeseen travel calamities with humor and warmth. I travel often so feel like I'm a credible source, if you're planning a trip to NZ, don't miss this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We loved it. Marilyn & Philip are what all host should be like. We went on the wine tour with Philip and it was great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 55truckn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here for three nights during a three week vacation in New Zealand in 2010. Loved it so much, we just had to return earlier this month [Feb. 2012]. Hosts Marilyn and Philip are the best! Be sure to have dinner with them at least one night. Philip is a world class chef. One of our breakfasts: thinly sliced melon in Pinot Noir, a three egg omelette stuffed with butter, brie and leeks [wow!], grilled tomatoes, potato crisps, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, toast etc. etc. Lee Ann and I rate Marlborough B&B the top place to stay in all of New Zealand.
Visitors from Boston, USA

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Garden room at Marlborough is a lovely place to stay and the welcome offered by Marilyn and Philip is wonderful. The breakfasts are a real treat and we also took a full day wine tour with Philip - exhausting but worth it, we found some amazing wines under Phil's guidance. On our last evening (of 3) we had dinner with Marilyn and Phil, delicious and the wine flowed with the conversation,. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will head back the next time we get down to NZ. Oh and Charlie (the dog) is a real character - welcoming everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A13SMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
7.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
5.9 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
653 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
93 reviews
5.4 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#2 of 43 in Blenheim
172 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tresco Blenheim
Tresco Blenheim
#10 of 43 in Blenheim
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Kaituna-Tuamarina Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range: £163 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1877 historic home set in 7 acres with tranquil park-like gardens and meandering stream. Quiet luxury, either in-house B & B or self-contained accommodation. Just 5 minutes drive to Marlborough wineries and 15 minutes to Picton and the Marlborough Sounds.Choose either the Garden Suite with private entrance off the wisteria-clad veranda, delightful ensuite bedroom & sunroom; or charming self-contained Adelaide’s Barn with romantic ensuite bedroom, lounge, kitchen and sunny, private courtyard for indoor/outdoor living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marlborough Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing