We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT RELAXATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MARKET DEEPING
1 review
“PERFECT RELAXATION”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Our room was perfect and we had a delightful dinner with our hosts Marilyn and Phillip. The next day we took a half day wine tour with Phillip and I learnt more about wine in those few hours than I had ever before. In the evening we had a bottle of wine with a Antipasto prepared by our hosts. Both our breakfasts were a culinary feast and we were sad to leave.
In Christchurch we dined at a restuarant reccomended by our hosts and it was the perfect end to our holiday

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEEPINGIMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
80
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We had booked to stay in this B&B 2 months in advance. We rang from Nelson to inform hosts of our arrival time. Our bedroom though beautiful was freezing as was bathroom. The water was cold in shower and we had to use host's bathroom. We were due to stay 2 nights but it was so cold in bedroom and freezing bathroom, we left after one night. We paiid in full for 2 nights, no reduction given for lack of heat.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleyNZ, Owner at Marlborough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
We are truly sorry that these guests were so uncomfortable in our Garden Suite. Unfortunately on their arrival it was discovered there was no hot water in the guest room due to a subsequently diagnosed fault in the electricity meter. We offered our private facilities so they could shower before having dinner with us. The hot water was reinstated and fully functioning the next morning.
During the dinner the guests talked of replanning their tour and mentioned they may choose to alter their booking assuring us that there was no issue with the accommodation. There was never any mention of their room or the bathroom being cold. At breakfast the next morning they advised they did in fact wish to change their itinerary to leave us that day. When we mentioned our cancellation policy, they said they accepted this. We are committed to offering a high level of service and had we known of their dissatisfaction we would of course not have charged a cancellation fee. The Garden Suite is permanently equipped with two electric oil filled radiators (stored in the guest wardrobe in the summer), the bed had an electric under blanket, and the bathroom has a heat lamp. We will ensure that guests are fully aware of their existence in the future and will also upgrade the bathroom heating to ensure this situation never occurs again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

For our second stay here we decided on "Adelaide's Barn" a new self contained "flat" which Philip built in the barn at the rear of the main house. The exterior retains the appearance of an old barn,however once inside there are all the necessities-fully equipped kitchen,bathroom (with washing machine) lounge with TV,and of course the bedroom.All this while still retaining the old barn/cottage feel with exposed timbers,antique style furniture with lovely views of fields and gardens. The accommodation is actually a bonus..the reason to come here are the hosts-Philip and Marilyn. Philip is very inovative/informative with his wonderful breakfast and dinner menus using local produce- and Marilyn can't do enough to help her guests enjoy all aspects of the Marlborough region...If that isn't enough...Jess the dog will keep you amused....

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geebee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2009

This is a truly beautiful property set within the stunning marlborough vineyards. The rooms are stylish yet comfortable. It managed to get the balance between homeliness and luxury hotel spot on. I'd really recommend a tour of the wineries!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidgetandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

This turned out to be a luxury B n B experience. We were spoiled by the hosts, Philip and Marilyn. Philip is a former hotelier and chef and he made lovely meals for us, from simple late night ssandwiches (when we arrived) to delicious salmon dinners. On the day we left, he got up at dawn to make sure our croissants were toasted. Both are very knowledgeable about local wine and local winemakers. They also know the local sites--and events. We went to hear live music at the local pub on their recommendation. Great fun!

The house is in a magical setting, against rolling hills and down a quiet lane. The night skies are amazing!

The room we stayed in is lovely, spacious and well-appointed. I'm fussy about linen, and the bed was beautifully laid. We were drooling over the newly finished quarters--which weren't finished when we visited. I don't think there is a more romantic suite in all of Marlborough! That suite would be my first choice on our next visit.

Nothing to fault--would recommend this B & B to any couple seeking a luxury base in wine country.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StLouisWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We had the most relaxing stay at woodside, a charming period property set in its own private grounds with a river and walnut trees, mountains in the distance and open fields surounding it. The hosts were welcoming and relaxed - We had an outstanding meal cooked for us and great company for the evening. A stay here is a must and would be hard to beat!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newentic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand, west coast
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We spent 2 nights here and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The Garden Suite is spacious and comfortable with a lovely ensuite shower room. Lots of little touches were taken care of. Marilyn and Philip are great hosts. We didn't take Philip's wine tour but would if we visit again as this is a highlight! Breakfast was sumptuous with lots of choice so something for everyone. Would recommend to anyone thinking of visiting this great wine region - definitely for at least 2 nights three if you have the time!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
5.9 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
626 reviews
7.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.2 mi away
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Blenheim
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
5.4 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#4 of 43 in Blenheim
167 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Kaituna-Tuamarina Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1877 historic home set in 7 acres with tranquil park-like gardens and meandering stream. Quiet luxury, either in-house B & B or self-contained accommodation. Just 5 minutes to Marlborough wineries and 15 to Picton and the Marlborough Sounds.Choose either the Garden Suite with private entrance off the wisteria-clad veranda, delightful ensuite bedroom & sunroom; or charming self-contained Adelaide’s Barn with romantic ensuite bedroom, lounge, kitchen and sunny, private courtyard for indoor/outdoor living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marlborough Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing