We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day!”

Highlight Wine Tours
Ranked #2 of 40 Food & Drink in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing day!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

One of my favourite days spent in New Zealand. Coleen was so much fun and so obliging. We had such a nice day going to wineries of our choice. We did the full day tour and it was the perfect amount of time. Would highly recommend this tour :-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skibbereen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    31
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“A super day!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked a half day tour with Highlights and it was a brilliant day out. There were five of us including a non wine drinker, I know why did he come on a wine tour?!, all with very different experiences in wine tasting. Coleen made sure that everyone tastes were catered for and varied the day according to our requests including a beer and cider stop. One of the party commented that she felt like she was in heaven and we all left the afternoon with smiles on our faces.
Overall a 5/5! Thank you Coleen! And yes we did do the bump, woo hoo!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie84Filey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great people, great wineries!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Thank you David for a fantastic tour back in April! You made it really enjoyable despite the horrible weather and we came back with some lovely wine. David sent out of his way to help us and picked us up and dropped us off to our Campervan in the middle of nowhere!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elwoo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Agree it's great, but here's some helpful tips”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We did the 1/2 day afternoon tour while in Blenheim, which was the perfect amount of guided vineyard visiting we were looking for, especially while staying at gorgeous St. Leonard's vineyards, as you never want to leave the grounds!

Some tips, as all of the reviews are generally the same in agreement that it's a great tour. In the shuttle van it is impossible to hear in the back row, so if you are very interested in the commentary offered while driving, you may want to ask to switch seats, or for the driver to speak up. I gave up due to tip #2 - which is, if you are prone to any squeamish backseat motion sickness, you may also want to request a seat that's not the back row. We took the brunt of the fast driving / not so great roads combination , which meant lots of bad bumps, almost hitting head, etc... due to being in the last row.

Lastly, given the very strict drunk driving regulations (as they should be!), you may want to consider if so possible with driver and schedule, hopping out near town if you are staying further out like we were. As the driver stopped downtown, we had pre-arranged to also get off here and walk to dinner at Raupo, then taxi back to St. Leonard's. Note that the vineyards don't usually have dinner options, and if you're not prepared to cook at your hotel, you may want to think this through before an afternoon of drinking leaves you hungry and unable to drive! Be sure to talk to the driver first, though, as he/she would need to know and make arrangements to give you any of your purchased wine as you disembark the shuttle.

One last tip - when you stop at the chocolate shop and they give out samples, for anyone like me that has a nut allergy, you shouldn't feel shy about asking to sample another more suitable kind of chocolate. I asked (emboldened by the wine :) and they were kind and very willing to oblige if you just share the allergy.

Enjoy!! :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenhein
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highlight Wine Tours are the best bar none”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I live locally and for my birthday my wife took me on a tour with these great people Colleen and Dave Harper. From start to finish it was educational, entertaining, exciting. Don't look elsewhere; stop here at Highlight.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank StuartGreif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highlight Wine Tours also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Highlight Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing