We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden MUST SEE for New Zealand......”
Review of Off The Mapp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Off The Mapp
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
“A hidden MUST SEE for New Zealand......”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We spent just 2 days at this beautiful place, but it was just one of the most beautiful places in whole New Zealand.. And I traveled both north- and southisland!
Its so perfect located, between the mountains right on the riverside..
We looooved the outdoor shower overlooking the river surrounded by trees which gives you the privacy you need for a shower.. the best shower I ve ever had!!
AND not to forget the outdoor bath at night right under the milkyway, surrounded by candles listening to the water of the river... the most romantic place ever.. although I was with my friend, we enjoyed bathing next to each other (in 2 outdoor bathtubes) a lot... :-D

Jenny also gave me permission to just take her horse for a ride in the mountains, although she wasnt even there, thank you for the trust Jenny, your horse is lovely and it was a great ride throgh the mountains... :-)

We had a beautiful dinner, cooked on the BBQ outside, next to the fireplace... very cosy and every detail in the cottage just makes it the perfect place to enjoy your holiday...

I think its a place for everybody.. couples, families with their children (a lot of animals, swimming in the river, mountain trips, etc.), friends and even alone if you need some time to relax from the stressfull everyday life....

So a big THANK for your great hospitality and just for the love you put into this lovely place..
We had the time of our lifes.. :-)

Maria & Kimberley

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Staying with the Mapp's at Spray Point, Off the Mapp is something that I think everyone should do at least once. (If not many times!)

I had been living over in New Zealand from the UK, and when my mother came to visit, we were lucky enough to stay at Spray Point. Not only are the Mapp's the most welcoming family, (who are happy to take you riding, exploring, fishing, walking and really bend over backwards to make sure you have a happy time), but you get a chance to rest, recuperate and be part of the out doors. Perfect for couples, families and friends with a sense of adventure or who just need an escape.

Off the Mapp is a part of the real New Zealand, and gives guests a wonderful insight to a side of New Zealand, that is so often missed by staying in larger hotels and towns. Well worth the extra distance.

Spray Point is situated in the most idyllic location, close to the Marlborough vineyards, and coast, but far enough away to feel completely secluded. The cottage is charming, not to mention the two outdoor baths- a perfect place to chat with a glass of Marlborough Sav in hand and watch the stars.

I know of all the places I have travelled to during my 2 year stay in New Zealand, Spray Point at Off the Mapp will remain as one of my most unforgettable, fun, refreshing and really fantastic places I was lucky enough to experience. I will openly admit I already long to go back!

Room Tip: All accommodation has its own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laradek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We extended a business trip to Christchurch to spend a weekend at Spray Point Station with Roland and Jenny and their wonderful children and amazing diversity of livestock. This is really the ultimate New Zealand back-country experience - comfortable but rustic accomodation, spectacular landscapes and wildlife, endless opportunities to walk in native forests and the unique experience of taking a very hot bath next to the river whilst the snow was falling. Next time we will stay for much longer and make use of the back country huts - which are perfect for an absolute retreat.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batukaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2011, with my extended family. We had had a long drive to reach Spray Point Station, and arrived only after dark at around 9pm. Even though it was late, Jenny and her 2 children Ben and Sarah welcomed us warmly and showed us around the cottage pointing out how everything worked.

As city dwellers we didn't know what to expect, it was the first time we had been away from TV, phones and room service...but we were pleasantly surprised! My 19 mth old toddler was so excited about the bunk beds and the real fireplace, and I loved the outdoor shower (with hot water, thankfully!) nestled against the hillside overlooking the Waipaho river. It had rained that day and the river was full force, a sight to behold.

Fridge was fully stocked with breakfast items and Jenny came over the next morning with bread and an offer to tour the environs. We jumped at the chance to hop on to the back of her 4WD, sat ourself next to the (sheep) dog and on a bale of hay for a lovely tour around Spray Point station. We even got to collect mushrooms along the way, and cooked 'em up that night for dinner.

It is no luxury lodge by any means, but there has been a lot of investment in the cottage as well as the surrounding areas, so it feels like you are in your own summer country home. Just a few points for improvement: The floor and sheets could have done with a quick sweep/dusting before we came,and the outdoor bath tubs maybe need a new coat of paint.. but maybe that was just part of the package :)

Will definitely stay again, this time for longer!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Owner at Off The Mapp, responded to this review, 10 October 2015
Thanks for your review, just a quick note to let guests know we now use a commercial linen provider to assure consistent quality in all but our Boundary Creek Cabin which has merino sleeping liners.

Also, being in a truly rural wilderness environment, we have to deal with the likes of gravel roads and oncoming winds from the river and pollen from trees which makes it almost impossible to maintain the dust free levels of city accommodation. Likewise, the enamel surface of baths is unable to be painted and is subject to deterioration with prolonged exposed to sunlight but we generally find the enjoyment of bathing under the stars pales this to insignificance for most guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I booked 2 nights at Cob Quarters for a getaway for my partner's birthday. When you do that, you always cross your fingers that the photos are real, the location is where you think it is, and the overall experience lives up to your expectation.
Spray Station met all of my expectations and provided the 'off the mapp' experience we were hoping for. We organised a trout fishing guide one day, and took our 4WD up the valleys and over the ridges following the mustering tracks. We walked, and the fantastic Jenny cooked and delivered our excellent meals, picnic lunch. Breakfasts were catered in the cottage and were delicious, and everything was generous, detailed, and thoughtful.
Ben and Sarah were the cutest 5 and 3 year old hosts who showed us the shower in the rocks, and the outdoor baths, their dogs, and their favourite bits. Then they disappeared never to be seen again, as good hosts should.
I hate to go on, but we even saw real shooting stars from the bathtubs at night, and satellites racing across the sky... even for outdoor loving/dwelling Kiwi's - we were impressed!
Go there, pay every cent, even a bit more than that, and take your kids too if you have some... this place is magic.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethejetfuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We've given Spray Point Station/Cobb Quarters and the Mapp family 5* accross the board for very good reasons. Luxury 5 star hotel it isn't, far from it, but it exceeds those expectations for quality of experience, location, ambience and hospitality time and again (plus it was the best bed we slept on in 1 month away). We found the Mapp's unique accommodation through The Greenwood Guide to NZ. Roland, Jenny, son Ben and daughter Sarah are some of the most welcoming, open, people we have ever met. I hate to gush but we have travelled a lot and it’s rare to come across a family who welcome you not only to their property as paying guests but are genuinely interested in who you are and shared with us their home and their lives as well. Having listed to them speak with obvious knowledge of their unique environment we were able to enjoy our experiences with them at Spray Point even more. Cobb Quarters itself is a living work of art; a well restored sheep shearers cottage, constructed a bit like wattle and daub and with the character feel of a 16C English cottage; all exposed beams, wood construct and open fire! For information there is an indoor microwave and prep area with a mains operated fridge and electricity indoors and outside lighting. The stove is a Gas BBQ with flat plate located outside next to a great big handmade wooden sink, with good meat locally and the Marlborough delights for wine these humble provisions are all you need. I can’t finish without mentioning the outside 'ablutions'. Far from rustic as it sounds, the gas heated outdoor baths overlooking the Waihopai River (as seen on the website and in the brochure) and the cleverly constructed forever hot outdoor shower dreamed up by Rolland are just divine - he really is a clever man! There is something simply wholesome about running to a piping hot individual bath in the rain at night with a chilled bottle of wine to share. The outdoor shower is virtually on top of the river with its own magnificent view and still totally secluded – awesome – we practically had to drag our son away every time. As for if the place is suitable for children - I couldn’t think of a more inspirational and educational location for all ages. Our 2 year old slept in one of the bunks in the main sleeping room in the cottage and was toasty warm. He loved the outdoors – the pigs, sheep and dogs on the farm and the lambs and goats on the ridges. All in all we’d be there right now given half the chance – you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleG1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkmichael, Maybole, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We still dream of Cob Cottage at Spraypoint Station, Waihopi Valley - its the most unique experience we've had. The cob cottage lovingly restored by Jen and Roland is just wonderful, from the comfortable bedroom, the kitchen with its open fire, the veranda where we enjoyed a drink in the setting sun looking out over the mountains to the delicious meals enjoyed with our friendly hosts and their kids. It was all just pure magic. But the most memorable of it all was watching the sun set over the mountains then climbing into the hot foaming outdoor baths where we lay sipping wine, gazing into the heavens at the stars - priceless! The whole package has been so well thought out by the hosts, right down to the picnic bench overlooking the gorge on the walk en route to the hut higher up the valley. Every necessity and comfort is catered for including hot showers and all kitchen mod cons - but you feel you have stepped back in time when you arrive at Cob Cottage in its secluded, peaceful location - its just wonderful. We most highly recommend anyone to stay there - from a tent to the Ritz, this is the best.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frananden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
31.5 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
615 reviews
29.7 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
31.2 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
266 reviews
31.5 mi away
Two Tree Lodge
Two Tree Lodge
#2 of 23 in Blenheim
261 reviews
36.2 mi away
Ugbrooke Country Estate
Ugbrooke Country Estate
#6 of 23 in Blenheim
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off The Mapp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Mapp

Property: Off The Mapp
Address: 4540 Waihopai Valley Road | Waihopai Valley, Blenheim 7276, New Zealand (Formerly Spray Point Station)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Off The Mapp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a hidden conservation wilderness, a high country playground, an historic station, an exceptional retreat. Host Jenny Mapp invites you to step 'Off the Mapp' and follow in the footsteps of the old musterers from a bygone era on the banks of the River Spray in the Waihopai Valley in Marlborough, New Zealand. Enjoy the historic high country merino station, stay in our lovingly restored Cob Quarters, full of mementos from the past, explore the station from our Kiwi bush retreat, Boundary Creek or relax in the comfort of The Cottage. Hike on the tracks, swim in the crystal clear Spray and Waihopai rivers, explore our conservation wilderness, help with our predator control programme, go bird watching, hunting or fishing... you'll discover peace, privacy, adventure and rugged natural beauty all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Off The Mapp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off The Mapp Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing