We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Off The Mapp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Off The Mapp
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in the Cobb Quarters & had a wonderful weekend. Every detail has been carefully thought through. We loved the baths on the rocky outcrop above the river rapids. The outdoor shower was devine & the location is stunning.

The cottage has been restored beautifully - much of it handcrafted by Roland.

We ate delicious dinners cooked by Jenny both nights of our stay. The absolute peace of the area makes it very special to sit outside.

We would thoroughly recommend Spray Point - in fact, have already organised our next visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KiwiLocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We recently stayed in the Glazebrook Cottage (the newest addition at Spray Point Station). The Cottage is clean and tidy and so cute and romantic. This is the best place for a getaway and so relaxing. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Amazing views and walks. We will be back again. The owners are so lovely and have done such an amazing job. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Spray Point is really something special. Set in a beautiful valley in Blenheim, Nelson, this quaint homely cottage has everything you need to wind down and relax away from the rest of the world. The owners are lovely and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us! We especially liked the outdoor bath tubs over looking a meandering stream beneath the starry sky, this was something we'll never forget. The scenery is breathtaking, with great hiking and sightseeing in every direction. Thank you for a fantastic visit! We couldn't recommend Spray Point any more, what a very special place!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDukeOfYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a special place. The views are spectacular in every direction. The Cob has been beautifully restored and tastefully decorated, with lots of creative small details. The outdoor shower and bath by the Waihopai River are really well done and added to a memorable weekend. Hosts Roland and Jenny were fantastic. More than happy to show us around their high country sheep station, but with a sixth sense for judging when, and how much space to give us. This place is unlike any I have ever stayed at. A very authentic experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil4itz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Wow. A very special time awaits you at Spray Point. The owners are warm, welcoming & enlightened hosts who not only love their land but are delighted to share it. With grace and sensitivity they will gauge how much you do or don't want their connection & involvement during your stay & what your particular interests & desires are for the experience in general. The cottage itself is wonderful with lovely rustic detail and aesthetic with luxurious touches in a breathtaking setting. Memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed there 3 days on our honeymoon and we couldn't think of a better place to have it. The 2 tubs beside the river were just amazing and what a way to end each day we were there. Fantastic. There is also a fabulous outside shower that is so invigorating and what a view! the cottage doesn't have any clock, or radio/tv which is great so you can simply soak in the end of the road solitude and enjoy your time there. Roland and Jenny took us and showed us their Station and we loved the high country scenery as well as the lush, green native bush and mountain scenery. Great hosts and what a place to stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Cobb Quarters is a delightful historic cottage that has been restored with meticulous attention to detail and creative flair. Our stay was in winter so we loved the roaring open fire. The twin outdoor bath tubs are just fabulous! The cottage was well presented, clean, cosy and totally charming. We arrived feeling slightly strung out after a particularly hectic time and within our short stay left feeling completely rested and re-energised. The location is peaceful, beautiful and the high country station activities are interesting with incredible views and wonderful bush walks. We just loved our stay! For us it was a restful, romantic get away but could see it working well for a family too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjszea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
31.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
27.6 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
30.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#2 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
29.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
31.4 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off The Mapp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Mapp

Property: Off The Mapp
Address: 4540 Waihopai Valley Road | Waihopai Valley, Blenheim 7276, New Zealand (Formerly Spray Point Station)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Off The Mapp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a hidden conservation wilderness, a high country playground, an historic station, an exceptional retreat. Host Jenny Mapp invites you to step 'Off the Mapp' and follow in the footsteps of the old musterers from a bygone era on the banks of the River Spray in the Waihopai Valley in Marlborough, New Zealand. Enjoy the historic high country merino station, stay in our lovingly restored Cob Quarters, full of mementos from the past, explore the station from our Kiwi bush retreat, Boundary Creek or relax in the comfort of The Cottage. Hike on the tracks, swim in the crystal clear Spray and Waihopai rivers, explore our conservation wilderness, help with our predator control programme, go bird watching, hunting or fishing... you'll discover peace, privacy, adventure and rugged natural beauty all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Off The Mapp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off The Mapp Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing