We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite lodging in all of New Zealand”
Review of Off The Mapp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Off The Mapp
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Not only are the accommodations spectacular (those outdoor tubs are incredible) and first rate (from the great bedding to the homemade breakfast basket), but the owners are amazing people who are ardent, practical and sincere conservationists. They are also great company, kind, bright and generous. Many times, you explore a website and imagine what it is like. When you arrive, sometimes you are disappointed by the actual property or find the service underwhelming. In this case, the experience was much better than we could have imagined, from the glowing rooms of the Cobb Cottage to the warmth of the owners who made us feel more like family than paying customers. The price was more than fair as well. Renovating this cottage was a labor of love and only recently have they started having guests. Once it is found out, bookings will be hard to get. The furnishings are incredible and sourced from the family's deep New Zealand roots. They look like a "best of" a designer's showcase house, but each item has a story ("ah, that was my grandmother's sink..."). And there was still plenty of room for all our luggage (family of 5). The cottage is extremely private, but close enough to the owner's home that I felt comfortable letting our kids run off to find their kids (in one case, our 10 year old returned on one of their horses--a small, old one, so she didn't even need a saddle--so cute!). This would be a great romantic getaway as well with those outdoor tubs and the outdoor shower. In addition to the many sub-businesses that owning a farm entails, Roland and Jenny recently started selling merino sleeping bag liners. They feel like the highest quality Icebreaker range. I bought one, but wish I had bought more. We were so impressed with the quality and authenticity of the owners and the way they care for their spectacular 5,000 acre property. When we return to New Zealand, we will return to Cobb Cottage at Spray Point.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris-Portland-OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Guido G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Manuela v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vajolettttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cob Quarter, leuk lemen huisje
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LKW246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
29.7 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
27.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
31.5 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 mi away
Ugbrooke Country Estate
Ugbrooke Country Estate
#5 of 23 in Blenheim
71 reviews
27.0 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
280 reviews
22.4 mi away
Straw Lodge
Straw Lodge
#1 of 42 in Blenheim
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off The Mapp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Mapp

Address: 4540 Waihopai Valley Road | Waihopai Valley, Blenheim 7276, New Zealand (Formerly Spray Point Station)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Blenheim
Price Range: £126 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Off The Mapp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a hidden conservation wilderness, a high country playground, an historic station, an exceptional retreat. Host Jenny Mapp invites you to step 'Off the Mapp' and follow in the footsteps of the old musterers from a bygone era on the banks of the River Spray in the Waihopai Valley in Marlborough, New Zealand. Enjoy the historic high country merino station, stay in our lovingly restored Cob Quarters, full of mementos from the past, explore the station from our Kiwi bush retreat, Boundary Creek or relax in the comfort of The Cottage. Hike on the tracks, swim in the crystal clear Spray and Waihopai rivers, explore our conservation wilderness, help with our predator control programme, go bird watching, hunting or fishing... you'll discover peace, privacy, adventure and rugged natural beauty all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Off The Mapp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off The Mapp Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing