We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise and Wine Tour is a good option”

Marlborough's River Queen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sit back and relax in our cafe during the day or take a cuise along the picturesque Opawa Rivera Beginning in the heart of Blenheim, the River Queen and its charming crew takes guests on an unforgettable journey meandering through eastern Blenheim and into the surrounding countryside through vineyards and farmland. Guests will experience an enjoyable cruise along the river with hearty meals and drinks available. Each cruise can be individually catered to meet an array of budgets and tastes, ranging from finger food through to full three course meals. The Marlborough River Queen holds up to 99 guests and is available for private functions or for individual guests wanting a dining experience with a difference. Marlborough is famous for its wines and boutique beers and a selection of these together with other national and international beers, wines and spirits are available on board..
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cruise and Wine Tour is a good option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We took the lunch cruise and wine tour which was a good option. The cruise was very pleasant with a great lunch. They dropped us off along the river where the wine tour bus was waiting for us and we then had a delightful tour of the local wineries. All in all a very pleasant afternoon.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephenvsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try it, you'll love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

A graceful slice of history on SH1 as you drive sounth off the Ferry. Signage is a bit sketchy but you'll find it-just ask a local!
Fantastic personal service from Peter & Sandra (owner operators) and Dylan the Skipper.
It's not the most spectacular stretch of river in NZ to be honest but it makes a relaxing start to your journey and is just something you can tick off your list!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine5755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
“A fantstic afternoon in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Having spoken to Peter the day before we booked for an afternoon tea/pre-dinner drinks and nibbles cruise (we went with drinks and nibbles), hoping they had room for 3 more. We were in luck - mid week of the first week of school we were the only passengers!
We sat up top, out the front. This meant no recorded commentary, but we enjoyed the quiet and as it wasn't busy, Peter joined us for a chat and was a great (& knowledgeable) host.
We have already recommended the trip to a shop owner in Nelson.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful Nostalgic trip down the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

A wonderful and tranquil cruise down the Opawa river on board a classic paddlesteamer. Travelling past the vineyards and farm land we were given an excellent platter of food and a bottle of the local white wine as we listened to historical information about the area. Our host Peter was very friendly and exceptionally knowledgable about the area and it's history giving us a very personal experience. We definitely recommend this river cruise as it is a unique way to view the beautiful area around Blenheim.
We would certainly do this trip again! Paul and Kate from Auckland

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome, great service, passionate and knowledgeable owner and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

The River Queen, River boat cuise in Blenheim is a treat not to be missed. From the welcoming and knowledgeable staff to the owner who was passionate about the craft, the whole experience was a pleasure. The River Queen has been exquisitely restored, looks a picture and the information about the area, presented as we cruised, was comprehensive, informative and enjoyable. The platter luncheon was just lovely (local fare) and the wine able to purchased, showcased Marlborough wineries. We were picked up from our hotel, and delivered to the boat - everything was done effortlessly making for a very enjoyable experience - we will definitely do it again, if we get the chance!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canterburyvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marlborough's River Queen also viewed

 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Marlborough's River Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing