We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Homestay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villa Rose Homestay

The Villa Rose Homestay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Villa Rose Homestay
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Lovely Homestay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Beautifully clean home, used Regina's bikes to explore the area at no cost. Honest and friendly host with a cute baby! Very helpful despite having a newborn, gave us good tips and recommendations on local wineries and eateries. We even had the big house to ourselves as there were no other guests at the time.

Would recommend.
Dat & Hong

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

nice clean rooms, but did not feel comfortable there, no locks on the rooms or privacy, milk for coffee very minimal, no shoes allowed inside but floor was very cold, even in summer time
not sure what an irish welcome is but didn't get one!!
the owner went into one of the rooms without knocking in front of us thinking they were out/away and poor guests were in room if you get my drift, it most embarrassing

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank praneeta71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa016, Owner at The Villa Rose Homestay, responded to this review, 3 April 2011
Hi there
I guess the friendly Irish welcome went out the door when prior to arrival one of your party emailed asking me to come out to the Airport and pick up her and her 4 friends (not guest's of the Villa Rose) and then went on to ask if they could all come back here at 0930 and loiter here and have refreshments as they could not check into their own accommodation until 1430. Now for people that are paying $33.00 per person per night that is a mighty big ask. (I could not believe her I actually thought it was a joke it was so rude) I guess I then realized what I was dealing with.
Yes I walked into a guest room by accident thinking they were out as they just moved their car from the driveway I am a human being I make mistakes it could have happened to anyone. My guest understood this and were not at all offended by my mistake what they were offended by was your group making noise late each night and from 0530 each morning laughing and joking with no consideration for the other 2 rooms that were here. (I believe they had to come out and ask you to lower your voices) I was asked by my other guests to ask you to leave you were ruining their time in the Blenheim and my home so don't worry about my mistake and pay attention to your own behavior and how you come across to people. I am only human and I can't like everybody that walks in my door. Some people make it harder than others.

No there are no locks on the doors it is a 3 bedroom homestay if locks were on the doors it would be very homely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

We only stayed one night at "The Villa Rose" and we really enjoyed it.
The rooms are good style furnished and clean.
Together with Regina and an American couple we had a very nice evening on the lovely terrace.

Regina, we wish you a lot of friendly guests, thanks for your nice hospitality!

Best wishes to you and Tara from Hamburg,
Finja & Christian.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FT1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa016, Owner at The Villa Rose Homestay, responded to this review, 3 April 2011
Hi Guys
Thank you so much for your review I really enjoyed having you both here. It was a true plesure to meet you both such lovely people.
Warmest Regards
Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Rooms are clean and quiete. It's comfortable and very nice. Gina is a very friedly and helpfull person. It's a worm staying in The Villa Rose. Is highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siciliana63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa016, Owner at The Villa Rose Homestay, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us we really enjoyed having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Villa Rose has many attributes, nice bedroom, swimming pool, washing and cooking facilities but we did not feel comfortable there. We had cause to return for night to Blenheim a few days later and we stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebedee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa016, Owner at The Villa Rose Homestay, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
I am so very sorry you were not comfortable with us. We really enjoy having travelers come and stay with us this is why we started the business. I am very passionate about my business and try to make everybody feel at home but I guess I can't please very body even though I wish I could.
I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.
Kindest Regards
Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

If you just want somewhere to crash for a night or two then Villa Rose could be a good option for you. If you're after personal service and attention you're probably best looking elsewhere. This homestay has a bit of a backpacker feel to it - too many rules and signs for my liking. Gina was friendly enough but I did feel like a bit of an intruder. Probably my own fault as I don't think I would have knowingly picked a homestay. In summary - good place for a short stay which doesn't cost you an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alku83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa016, Owner at The Villa Rose Homestay, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
I would like to start with staying The Villa Rose is indeed exceptional value for money but not a cheap place to stay. We are only a year old and trying to get as many guest as possible so hence the low rates on the rooms.
The signs around the house are there to help people find their way from A to B without having to ask lots of questions, As we are a homestay a lot of people are used to being in B&Bs and other accommodations and sometimes not quite sure how a homestay works 99% of our guests really appreciate them it makes them feel comfortable.
I am a little confused as to how I can be friendly to you and make you feel like an intruder at the same time it is quite a contradiction in terms. I have not opened my home to travelers to make them feel like intruders while here on the contrary I wish them to feel they are in a home away from home. I am very sorry you feel this way about the Villa Rose. I so wish the 100's and 100's of guests who loved being here would make more positive reviews. Kind Regards
Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masterton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Had a lovely time at Gina and Richards house, everything had been well thought out, and facilites were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dicaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa016, Owner at The Villa Rose Homestay, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Thank you guys
Kindest Regards
Regina and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tresco Blenheim
Tresco Blenheim
#13 of 43 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
3.0 mi away
A1 Ward Motel & Campground
A1 Ward Motel & Campground
#24 of 43 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Rose Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Rose Homestay

Property: The Villa Rose Homestay
Address: 16 Eltham Road, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful New Zealand villa. With such small numbers here it is easy to make friends but with five dining areas and three lounges it’s easy to spend time alone whatever your preference. Our home is your home - arrive to a warm Irish welcome. Come and grab a hammock to relax by the pool. Our home is stunning - you won’t be disappointed with prices starting at only $33.00 pp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Villa Rose Homestay Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing