We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in NZ!”
Review of French Fields

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
French Fields
Ranked #10 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best place in NZ!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

French Fields was the best part of our 2 week stay in NZ. We spent 1 night in the Petite Maison room and it was perfect. Even though we came at the time of year when the lavender was not at its peak it was utterly beautiful sitting on the private balcony with a cup of tea looking over the lavender and olive field and the surrounding vineyards, birds chirping all around. Perfect tranquility and relaxation. The owners who built the farm from scratch a few years ago were attentive and charming. We enjoyed the large delicious breakfast which catered to out vegetarian diet. The property is perfectly placed for winery tours and is a short drive from Blenheim. There is a pool and bikes available for guest use. Our only regret was not booking a longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

It may have been the lavender but we found we were sleeping really well in the beautifully appointed room. The setting is great with big drifts of lavender at the front and a small orchard at the back. Guests are offered the use of the swimming pool and courtyard. The breakfast was lovely and they catered for our particular diets.
An easy 10 minute drive to the centre of town but positioned out in the fields nearer some of the wineries.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

French Fields is fabulous and I would definitely recommend it. We stayed for two nights as part of a fortnight long road trip of the South Island and it was one of our favourites. Our self contained suite was gorgeous, beautifully designed and very comfy and it felt like a lovely luxury to have a roll top bath right by the window overlooking the lavender fields. Our hosts Ruth and Barry were lovely and welcoming and breakfast was delicious. We stayed in the winter but were lucky with beautiful sunshine and we spent our time cycling around the vineyards on the bikes that Ruth and Barry have available for guests to use (for free), and enjoying lots of the Sauvignon Blanc that the Marlborough Region is famous for. If you are visiting the area, I would recommend doing a tasting and lunch at one of the wineries (we went to Brancott Estate which was good) and also visiting the Aviation Heritage Centre which is a 5-10 minute drive from French Fields.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

The weather was not the best, but despite that we had a nice stay. We can't imagine how amazing this would be in the summertime!

The hosts, Ruth and Barry are very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was the best we've had yet, and Ruth was flexible and accomodating to my dietary needs. The grounds are well kept and relaxing to walk around. Our room was clean and comfortable. The soaking bath tub with a view of the lavender fields was picturesque. The bathroom and shower were nice, and had heated floors! Wifi worked well with our iPhones.

Just a short bike ride away from a few of the best wineries in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailinsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at French Fields for a one night break away from our children. The host was charming and helpful. Our self contained suite was everything that could be needed from one to several days. I enjoyed using the slipper bath looking out over lavender fields.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We spent two wonderful nights with Ruth and Barry in one of their amazing guest rooms. Our room was in a building adjacent to their house, and so is very private. The decor and setting speak of Provence, but Ruth and Barry's hospitality is genuine kiwi.

Our room was impeccable and had everything to maximize comfort. I asked Ruth how she does it, and she said simply that she considers what she would like to have when she travels. Our room had a stand-alone tub in the sleeping area (very cool!) as well as a shower in the bathroom, and a very functional pantry area and dining area. In fact, the night we arrived, I had fallen on the ferry and hurt myself rather badly. Rather than see us go out to eat, Ruth put together a light dinner for us. How thoughtful of her!

There is a washer and dryer that guests can use - we found this very useful. And we were able to air-dry our clothes in that lovely setting!

Breakfast was wonderful. It was served in a lovely dinette area in the main house. Everything about it was perfect.

The morning after we arrived, it was clear that I needed to see a doctor because of my fall, and Ruth was extremely helpful in terms of pointing us in the right direction. She and Barry are incredible hosts. They are both warm, witty, and generous. We enjoyed every moment of our stay with them, and if we are ever in that area again, we won't hesitate to stay with them again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 379Marie352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Blink here and you will surely believe that you are in Provence - fresh lavender fields, a perfect Provence farm house and the truly exquisite Maison Lavande the French style Gite situated directly next door to the Main house. Every detail here has been very thoughtfully put together with great style and élan. Ruth and Barry were the consummate hosts, looking after all the small and large details to make this a most relaxing and restful stay. Could not fault a single thing. Breakfast was bountiful and delicious, creatively served. Would seriously recommend to anyone traveling to the Marlborough area. Vraiment magnifique

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaBruceNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
3.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
4.5 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
615 reviews
2.5 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
267 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
3.2 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#4 of 43 in Blenheim
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Fields

Property: French Fields
Address: Fairbourne Drive | Fairhall, Blenheim, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Hotel Class:4 star — French Fields 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique French- country style Bed and Breakfast rests in fields of lavender and olives amongst the vineyards and wineries of Marlborough, and offers the discerning traveller understated luxury and charm in three French inspired suites. Maison Lavande Suite NZ$525 per night Petite Maison Suite NZ$475 per night. French Fields Suite NZ$450 per night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
French Fields Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing