We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Blenheim !!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed here for some weeks during my time working on a vinyard. Felt like a home from home, comfortable environment & good facilities, It was a wonderful experience. In the most part, this was down to the people. Always a friendly social atmosphere. The staff are incredibly helpful & went out of their way to look after me. Also creating opportunities for us all to get together; weekly bbq parties. The owner often having a fire or two on the go for us on chilly evenings after work, perfect! I've been in nz for over 9 months & never come across such a well run backpackers. Stay here anyone who wants to experience amazing 'kiwi hospitality'!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

We spent 5... yes 5 weeks in this motorcamp in blenheim while working during the sunny vintage 2013. We were even happier to come back "home" at the end of the day thanks to the awsome staff and good facilities. We were sleeping in our campervan but the kitchen was the heart of many encounters and friendships! Thank you for your welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We booked a double room for 3 nights over the phone and were told the room is next to the kitchen and TV area.
On our arrival the friendly owner offered us a quiet 4 bed room at noe extra charge. It was a quiet room with everything we needed so we paid for another 2 nights. To our surprise he offered us a discount as well!
The last day we were looking to rent a car, but being Easter that proved to be difficult.
Out of the blue the owner helped us out again and offered his own ute. Unbelievable!!
Thanks for a great trip that day and a pleasant 5 day stay!!
We will be back!

Room Tip: Tell the owner what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernardus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Owner at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you very much for this review. We hope your return flight home was pleasant and you arrived safe. We are happy we were able to make this a pleasant stay for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for one night in a camper and enjoyed it. The owners are very helpful. Toilets and showers are spotless. BBQ, kitchen and swimming-pool on site. Right beside the train-tracks so expect some noise. Only negative point the camper-van site is really only a car-park plot so don't expects privacy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Owner at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you very much for you review. We will look into better ways to provide privacy for our van site tenants as no one has really pointed that matter out to us. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This is a great place for backpackers. The management are really nice and went out of their way to help us out. The central area has a BBQ and seating, which is great when the sun shines or in the evenings for a few drinks. There is a swimming pool - as far as I know the only backpackers in Blenheim with one. Rooms are tidy, all facilities are functional and the manager is friendly and very helpful. They will give you a list of employers and contractors so you can find work, but there is no deposit/charges for doing so, unlike most other hostels in Blenheim. In my view, the best backpackers in Blenheim by a long way!

Room Tip: They have bunk rooms for 4 people +, so if you are travelling in a group it is a very cheap place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supertramp_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Owner at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you very much for such positive feedback! We have strived to try be one of the top backpackers in the Marlborough region and by your review we must be pretty good, once again thank you very much it is greatly appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

It's been a while since I last spent a night in a "backpacker style" accommodation place. For the price I paid for a single room, this was much better value than the average holiday park. Shared facilities left a bit to desire, but just for a night stopover for a lone traveler it is more than enough. Note that it is right next to the railway, so it might happen to feel "the vibe" of a passing train.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ignimbrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hostel is about a 15 minute walk from the city center which is convenient but it isn't very close to the wineries. I was traveling by bus with 3 other girls so it ended up being a bit expensive to get out to the vineyards for wine tastings. But if you have a car its only a 15-20 minute drive to the wineries. We ended up with a room to ourselves since we had 4 people so that was nice, everyone was very friendly and the rooms have a fully equipped kitchen which was such a treat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericahelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Blenheim Top 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
666 reviews
0.9 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Raymar Motor Inn
Raymar Motor Inn
#31 of 32 in Blenheim
45 reviews
6.4 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp

Address: 27 Budge Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Blenheim
Price Range: £8 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great selection of clean & comfortable accommodations with free unlimited wifi to suit all budgets. All rooms have a TV, jug, toaster, fridge and some with own kitchen and also rooms with bathroom and kitchen. Recently refurbished amenities, free showers, local phone, washing machines and BBQs. Rooms available short or long term for backpackers plus contacts available for seasonal work. We have also recently underwent a huge expansion adding another 30 sites! weather you want to park up in your van or pitch your tent you can do it under our large trees and wide open areas right beside the river, in the summer time we have a large pool and sun loungers to chill out after a long week at work, or you can park up in a hammock and meet people in our bbq area, We are a friendly family owned and operated Backpackers in a great location. We are well traveled and incorporate our years of experience to provide backpackers the best service while staying in the Blenheim and Marlborough area. Next door to a 24 hour service station, corner store, pub, Subway and KFC. 5 Minute walk to the town centre and Blenheim train & bus terminal. There is also a courtesy van which if you are licensed you are able to use to get out to the supermarkets instead of walking. If you arrive at the airport and would like to stay with us we will be happy to pop out and pick you up. Thank you for checking us out and we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing