We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Cheap, Basic”
Review of Raymar Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raymar Motor Inn
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Staying in Blenheim was not something we had planned for our Christmas holiday, but a mechanical emergency changed things a bit. We found and booked the Raymar on an accomodation website an hour before we arrived. I thought that it was a bit odd that there was no one there to check us in etc. When we rang the owner, he essentially talked me through checking us in myself, over the phone! I admit to being a bit concerned about security over that, but he was very nice and friendly. Our room was clean, if a bit cramped, with room for up to 6 people to sleep. The owner came round a few hours later to make sure everything was fine and to apologise for not being there when we checked in. The only complaint I have is that there was no air conditioning - and the two days we were in Blenheim were stinking hot!
The place is a 2 minute stroll from the centre of town, it is basic, quiet,clean and cheap. The owner is lovely - very flexible when it comes to helping people out - he allowed us to check out, but leave our bags in the room while we sorted our car out, without charging extra. I would happily stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shane_and_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Walls are paper thin, so don't expect to get any sleep during the night.
The unit was clean, but dated, and the fridge is one of the many noises that will keep you awake during the night.

Bed was comfortable.

Not worth the price.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Recently refurbished, Raymar was a comfortable, central two day stay for us. The Owner was pleasant and helpful and the facilites clean and warm. We travel extensively and know whats good or bad. We found this Motel in the Lonely Planet as a recommended stay and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ground level. Rooms nearer the office get the most early morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The room was basic very nice and good value for money. The owner was friendly and informative. TV was a bit old and small but hey, it was just an overnighter

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank am231058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Where do I start, we arrived and no one was here called the number provided and was told to take keys off the hook and let ourselves in. Was also less than pleased to see my credit card details sitting on the desk pad for anyone to see.
Rooms were not overly clean, linen was awful and it was so basic.. I realize for $95 a night you should not expect much but I have seen much better.

His rules were also awesome "Dave says no driniking, no smoking, no drugs, no guests no fun, no noise

Room Tip: Avoid and book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed here for Marlborough Wine and Food Festival as this was the cheepest option for that weekend. $95 is their set static rate. Very basic, level of clenliness was at par level but nothing exceptional. Upon check in there was no one in sight. All keys with each persons name checking in had been left on the reception counter, with a note saying any issues to call this cell number on ther green phone. So....Secure not really, could have taken any room even if i was not meant to be there. Great for one night stay over if price was lower. Just not worth $95.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dyl2dyl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vitor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Middle Park Motel
Middle Park Motel
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cherylea Motel
Cherylea Motel
#20 of 32 in Blenheim
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lugano Motor Lodge
Lugano Motor Lodge
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Montana Lodge Motel
Montana Lodge Motel
#23 of 32 in Blenheim
32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Admirals Motor Lodge
Admirals Motor Lodge
#21 of 32 in Blenheim
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aston Court Motel
Aston Court Motel
#19 of 32 in Blenheim
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raymar Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raymar Motor Inn

Address: 164 High Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Price Range: £50 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raymar Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raymar is an affordable single level Motel situated 300 meters or a leisurely 3 minute stroll from the Blenheim town centre. Comprised of Studio units containing a queen bed and either one or two single beds, kitchenette and private en-suite. Two full kitchens and a laundry are situated elsewhere in the motel. The units are warm and dry and parking is available right outside your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Raymar Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raymar Motor Inn Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing