We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good way to see vineyards and taste wine”

Explore Marlborough Wine Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$86.40*
and up
Full-Day Marlborough Wine Region Guided Bike Tour
Ranked #7 of 40 Food & Drink in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore Marlborough Wine Tours offer fully guided biking and driving wine tours of the Marlborough wine region. We are the only company in Marlborough offering guided biking wine tours with both half and full day options available. All our tours include pick up and drop off from your accommodation,morning tea,the benefit of the local knowledge of our guides and an Explore Marlborough drink bottle to take away with you as a momento of your day. Our Deluxe biking and driving tours include a winery lunch and glass of wine included in the tour cost.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good way to see vineyards and taste wine”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The biking was very easy and not far. The wineries were close together. Our guide (Norm) was great company and quite knowledgeable. We had lots of fun with the 4 other people on the tour. Altogether a great day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Owner at Explore Marlborough Wine Tours, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thanks for the review Harry. Much appreciated. Both Norm and I enjoyed meeting you all - you were such a fun group. I hope you and Mary Ann had a great rest of your holiday. Kind Regards
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience with a fun and accommodating guide!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My partner and I arrived in Marlborough with the intention of visiting wineries without a guide, but when we arrived we decided to call Explore Marlborough and see if we could book a tour for the next day. They were incredibly accommodating and booked us in. This decision was the best one we could have made. All in all, we had a wonderful day and could not have asked for a better experience. Karen, one of the owners and our guide, was fun, attentive and very knowledgeable about the wines and vineyards. Although she had loosely planned our day, she was willing to change the plan to suit our particular needs. For example, she was more than happy to take us by car to other wineries that we especially wanted to see but were outside of biking range, effectively after our tour had ended. My partner and I would highly recommend Explore Marlborough to anyone and will be coming back with friends and family.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Owner at Explore Marlborough Wine Tours, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi Chris and Kristina ,
Thanks so much for your great review. I had a really great day out with you two. It was lovely to meet you both. Give me a call when you come back to Marlborough.
Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely day”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

None of us wanted to drive so we decided to book a private vineyard tour and are so glad we did. It wasn't cheap but we thoroughly enjoyed the day and thought the vineyards we visited were well chosen to offer different experiences. Hamish our guide was charming company but was also extremely informative and attentive and flexible. Definitely recommend this if you want to be able to taste the wines, learn about them and generally have a good day! We also had a very good lunch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank croffley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Biking the Vines, a great way to see Marlborough”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was at the start of our NZ adventure, and what a great way to start. Our guide, Norm, picked us up from our location in Picton and was a great source of information even before we got to the bikes. We did 6 wineries in the day most of them the smaller ones, with Norm giving us a great commentary as we rode about the Marlborough region, the history of wine growing in the area and about some of the characters - all this while taking photos as we went. It was great meeting some of the winery founders and hearing their stories. Not to mention picking up some great wines for the coming trip around the South Island and a few to take back with us. We thoroughly enjoyed the ride, the lunch and the heat company provided by Norm. We couldn't recommend it more highly!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravla64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
“A good experience and very worthwhile to gain insight from various locals to the region.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A great tour and worth the money (whilst not cheap) for those that wish to sample nice food and wine, and understand how local production works. This tour is particularly good for anyone who would like a deeper understanding of the Malborough region and it's history.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RossG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Explore Marlborough Wine Tours also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Explore Marlborough Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing