We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst accommodation out of 16 nights in NZ”
Review of Waterfront Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterfront Motel
Ranked #34 of 44 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We were from Sydney visiting friends in Blenheim. Our tip for accommodation around Blenheim is that it is better to stay outside of the town itself a couple of kilometres outside of Blenheim where there are nice, more country-style retreats which better reflect this famous vineyard region. The Waterfront Motel is located in quite an industrial area and is fronted by a large expanse of black tar car park, adjoining a run-down pub. Two rooms were booked by travel agents on our behalf and - big mistake - pre-paid months in advance. When we arrived at around 2pm there was no-one on reception to tell us what rooms we had booked or to let us in. The handyman and cleaning lady eventually took pity on us and let us into rooms on the ground floor - the only place the kids can run around is the car park area and they made their way to the pub where large signs advertised 'Pool' - they thought they could swim there. It was very hot and there was a function in the function centre across the way so we had to keep the windows closed due to noise. There was no air conditioning or fans provided and no matter what time of day or night we went to reception there was never anyone there. After a disturbed and hot night we made the decision to abandon this motel for a far more pleasant place on Raparua Rd - we had no-one to request our money back from as of course reception was abandoned - I told the cleaning lady we were checking out. There are far nicer places to stay in this beautiful region - choose one of those.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyFamily0fFIve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

On arrival we had a very pleasant greeting from the host Lisa who had booked us in a downstairs room which meant easier access for us with a young baby. Lisa offered us a portacot however we declined as we already had a carry cot with us, but it was good to know we had this option. My partner and I were impressed with the size of the room and bathroom, and loved the large windows with views of the river. The room was light, clean with basic but tasteful decor and plenty of space including a large wardrobe. The bathroom was also large and clean with great shower pressure. It's not far to stroll into town and a large supermarket is a 2min drive away. Although there is a pub next door the room was very quiet and I would stay again.

Room Tip: If you don't like having a connecting door to another room make sure you let the host know befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyleesmilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed in an upstairs balcony room with large corner spa for 2 nights recently. We were really happy with the accommodation. The room was very spacious, and clean. The view of the river from our room & balcony was lovely & interesting. Excellent location, we could walk into town to restaurants and shops along the riverside, very pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful. Only criticism would be that their winery information brochure available from their office was out of date.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here for a few days recently and although the room was definitely spacious with a lovely view over river and is close to town, it looked and felt like it had not been cleaned properly after the previous occupant. Lipstick marks on a glass, dirty mug, dirty streaks all over cook top, splash back with marks all over it. Bathroom mirror still had watermarks on it as did shower. Floor had bits floating everywhere, dust on bedside tables and to top it, what looked like a blood stain on the inside of the bed cover, just about where it would come up to under my chin. Balcony was nice to have, but furniture peeling and rusting with plenty of cobwebs. No colour in the room except for varying shades of brown. Could be a nice place if housekeeping improves and maybe add some colour. Will not be back and definitely not recommend, especially since this is suppose to be a 4 star qualmark rated property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpmoittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Booked here for a spa room and the river view. Room was large, the spa bath was large, good size TV. Location is very close to town centre. Had a balcony (with ash tray for those so inclinded), looked like all upstairs room have a balcony. Fridge, Microwave, two Hotplates and sufficient crockery etc.

Only drawbacks were that there were quite a few small harmless flying insects that get into the room (via the bathroom window I think) probably because of the proxmity to grass/trees/water, and that the Television (mounted on a metal arm to the wall) couldn't move out the full range allowed by the arm because the power cord and/or aerial cord get pulled out.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Blenheim is not a large place and from what I could gather while walking around, nothing much happens here. BUT… a visit is a must if you have wine-tasting on your “To Do” list – some of the best wineries of the NZ Marlborough region are found in this area. Thanks to their attractive and informative website, the Waterfront Motel caught my attention while browsing on the Internet. Communication with Lisa and Calvin was excellent and the Waterfront Motel was everything it promised to be. There are standard studio units at ground level for NZ$130, but I booked a spa bath unit on the upper level for just an additional NZ$20 – and it was worth it. I do so love a long lie in a hot tub – spa’s a bonus – to relax after a day’s traipsing around vineyards, and the size of this spa bath was sheer luxury!
The rooms are fairly large and there is a kitchenette with all the necessary appliances and a lounge area. The décor and the bedding are modern and stylish. The units have a small balcony with table and chairs and the view is ever so peaceful and relaxing, overlooking a lush green area with a little river running through it. Evenings sitting outdoors with a glass of wine, watching the ducks on the water were particularly pleasant . Every now and then, a mini locomotive goes past, which adds to the charm. The staff were very helpful and there is on-site parking too. The Waterfront Motel was definitely a highlight during our stay in Blenheim and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times, both stays were fantastic. The rooms are incredibly large, clean and for being right next door to a bar, incredibly soundproof. Have only ever dealt with the motel owner and she is a fantastic receptionist - good for a chat and extremely helpful. It's a shame that there's no private path way down to the river, however there is a path to the river about 30 seconds away (would recommend to anyone that they walk the short distance down to Raupo cafe!).

Room Tip: The rooms at the end closest to the reception have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R-Beccstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
1 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
666 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
1 mi away
Tresco Blenheim
Tresco Blenheim
#10 of 44 in Blenheim
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Motel

Address: 9 Grove Road, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range: £70 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing