We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside balcony overlooks riverside park.”
Review of Waterfront Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterfront Motel
Ranked #29 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Souris, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outside balcony overlooks riverside park.”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Very nice room with doublle size spa tub and lovely little balcony to sit and enjoy cool evening breeze. Short walk to street with restaurant options. Friendly front desk lady. We would stay again and stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEILynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    18
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
22
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Our room was on the first floor and had a good balcony overlooking the river. The room was large as was the bathroom, and fairly modern in its decoration. The settee, kitchen equipment and beds looked new. The bedside cabinets and table were old fashioned, and the shower clearly leaked as paint and plaster beside the door was flaking. But nothing that a little care , attention and love couldnt sort out. However I have to agree with other comments in terms of lack of air-con and personnel on reception. We had a similar experience on arrival in that the cleaner had to go to the adjacent pub to find someone who could check us in. On checkout we were just asked to leave the key in the room. But it was pretty cheap in comparison to other Blenheim motels; so guess you get what you pay for. Would not stay again unless things changed

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with a balcony. At least you can keep the doors and windows open if its hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

After driving up and down the country, the giant bed and equally huge spa bath were a great way to end our trip. We were scared that it was going to be noisy given the pub next door and the complex across the river but we had a completely undisturbed trip. The rooms were lovely and clean and the view down the river was exceptional.

Blenheim itsellf is a little quiet though. We actually appreciated this given we were a bit exhausted from our trip but the only thing to do is go to winery after winery (not that that's a terrible option). I do much prefer Nelson as there's the beach and just a lot more to do.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We were from Sydney visiting friends in Blenheim. Our tip for accommodation around Blenheim is that it is better to stay outside of the town itself a couple of kilometres outside of Blenheim where there are nice, more country-style retreats which better reflect this famous vineyard region. The Waterfront Motel is located in quite an industrial area and is fronted by a large expanse of black tar car park, adjoining a run-down pub. Two rooms were booked by travel agents on our behalf and - big mistake - pre-paid months in advance. When we arrived at around 2pm there was no-one on reception to tell us what rooms we had booked or to let us in. The handyman and cleaning lady eventually took pity on us and let us into rooms on the ground floor - the only place the kids can run around is the car park area and they made their way to the pub where large signs advertised 'Pool' - they thought they could swim there. It was very hot and there was a function in the function centre across the way so we had to keep the windows closed due to noise. There was no air conditioning or fans provided and no matter what time of day or night we went to reception there was never anyone there. After a disturbed and hot night we made the decision to abandon this motel for a far more pleasant place on Raparua Rd - we had no-one to request our money back from as of course reception was abandoned - I told the cleaning lady we were checking out. There are far nicer places to stay in this beautiful region - choose one of those.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyFamily0fFIve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

On arrival we had a very pleasant greeting from the host Lisa who had booked us in a downstairs room which meant easier access for us with a young baby. Lisa offered us a portacot however we declined as we already had a carry cot with us, but it was good to know we had this option. My partner and I were impressed with the size of the room and bathroom, and loved the large windows with views of the river. The room was light, clean with basic but tasteful decor and plenty of space including a large wardrobe. The bathroom was also large and clean with great shower pressure. It's not far to stroll into town and a large supermarket is a 2min drive away. Although there is a pub next door the room was very quiet and I would stay again.

Room Tip: If you don't like having a connecting door to another room make sure you let the host know befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyleesmilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed in an upstairs balcony room with large corner spa for 2 nights recently. We were really happy with the accommodation. The room was very spacious, and clean. The view of the river from our room & balcony was lovely & interesting. Excellent location, we could walk into town to restaurants and shops along the riverside, very pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful. Only criticism would be that their winery information brochure available from their office was out of date.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here for a few days recently and although the room was definitely spacious with a lovely view over river and is close to town, it looked and felt like it had not been cleaned properly after the previous occupant. Lipstick marks on a glass, dirty mug, dirty streaks all over cook top, splash back with marks all over it. Bathroom mirror still had watermarks on it as did shower. Floor had bits floating everywhere, dust on bedside tables and to top it, what looked like a blood stain on the inside of the bed cover, just about where it would come up to under my chin. Balcony was nice to have, but furniture peeling and rusting with plenty of cobwebs. No colour in the room except for varying shades of brown. Could be a nice place if housekeeping improves and maybe add some colour. Will not be back and definitely not recommend, especially since this is suppose to be a 4 star qualmark rated property.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpmoittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
1.2 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
6.4 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#20 of 32 in Blenheim
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
1.5 mi away
Admirals Motor Lodge
Admirals Motor Lodge
#21 of 32 in Blenheim
96 reviews
7.3 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Motel

Property: Waterfront Motel
Address: 9 Grove Road, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing