We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with nice room views”
Review of Waterfront Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterfront Motel
Ranked #29 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Carmarthen
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Friendly with nice room views”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Many of the motels we stayed in during our stay in new Zealand offered a limited view from the room. This one despite being located in town offered a very pleasant view over the river. the location was quiet and the rooms were well equipped and spacious.There was easy car access to shops and foot access to eateries. Recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    18
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
22
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The view of the water was delightful to wake up to! We had a room upstairs and the little balcony was adorable. It was a little chilly to spend any time outside but if it were summer then I could definitely imagine morning coffee and a little light reading out there. THe room was clean, HUGE and the bed was large and comfy.

Room Tip: The balconies are only in the rooms upstairs so make sure you go upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnsey556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland_New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed here for two night for a reunion held around the Combined Marlborough Clubs. This was only a 3 min walk away.
Check-in took quite a while but this is a laid back part of New Zealand and I just accepted the delay.
I had an upstairs room which was very large, very clean, had a king size bed and an en-suite with a spa bath.
The kitchen facilities were more than adequate.
There was a balcony with good views over the landscaped river.

Room Tip: Upstairs have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Classics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Waterfront for one night on our journey south. In such lovely countryside we were very disappointed to be in this motel which is in a back street amongst a light industrial area of town. Nearby is the ocean so you think "waterfront", but water is just a small river running through the park at the rear. A scruffy tarred car park at the front, noisy pub very close by. Room had good facilities but was not as clean as it should have been. Bin in bathroom had not been emptied when we arrived. As other have said in their reviews, there are lovely motels on the outskirts of town that look so much more inviting. This was the worst location that we stayed in on our 23 day trip to New Zealand. Give this one a miss!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NS_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights directly after arriving on the south island.
Our room was on the first floor and had a good balcony overlooking the river. The rooms were spacious and clean with kitchen, ensuite facilities, flat screen TV. Staff was helpful and friendly.
There is a pub next door (The Royal, i think) but it seems to close around 10pm.
Blenheim is a pretty little town with lots of cafes and shops but seems to close down after 7pm. It is, however, an ideal place to stay for touring the wine region. We did an afternoon tour with Highlight Wine Tours.
Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souris, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Very nice room with doublle size spa tub and lovely little balcony to sit and enjoy cool evening breeze. Short walk to street with restaurant options. Friendly front desk lady. We would stay again and stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEILynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Our room was on the first floor and had a good balcony overlooking the river. The room was large as was the bathroom, and fairly modern in its decoration. The settee, kitchen equipment and beds looked new. The bedside cabinets and table were old fashioned, and the shower clearly leaked as paint and plaster beside the door was flaking. But nothing that a little care , attention and love couldnt sort out. However I have to agree with other comments in terms of lack of air-con and personnel on reception. We had a similar experience on arrival in that the cleaner had to go to the adjacent pub to find someone who could check us in. On checkout we were just asked to leave the key in the room. But it was pretty cheap in comparison to other Blenheim motels; so guess you get what you pay for. Would not stay again unless things changed

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with a balcony. At least you can keep the doors and windows open if its hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
1.2 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
6.4 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
1.5 mi away
Admirals Motor Lodge
Admirals Motor Lodge
#21 of 32 in Blenheim
96 reviews
7.3 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Motel

Property: Waterfront Motel
Address: 9 Grove Road, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing