We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent choice”
Review of Ryland Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ryland Estate
Ranked #10 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“An excellent choice”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay at your barn accommodation. Everything is beautifully appointed, the grounds and gardens stunning, accommodation is very comfortable and the apricots and cherries are the best ever! Peter and Trish made us feel very welcome and were lovely hosts. We really enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation recommending Ryland Estate.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Taylor266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed recently in the Barn. We absoutely adored the place. Peter and Trish are a delight - they kept giving us fruits and veggies from their garden, which we devoured daily. The Barn itself is gorgeous - the decor is excellent, the apartment very comfortable, the kitchen well stocked for your vacation cooking. Trust me, I am not one to cook on vacations, but the New Zealand lamb and the grill at the house were just too big of a temptation. Pair that with fresh salad and tomatoes from the garden, along with some corn and wine fmor the next door winery and you can pretty much picture the perfect idyllic vacation. The estate is very child friendly - our toddler had a ball running around the lawn, getting wet under the sprinklers or riding the tractor with Peter. The house is surrounded by tens of wineries, which we went exploring every day. The house also has all modern amenities, including wireless internet and cable TV.
The Ryland is a place to return to every year. We left it with heavy hearts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ognianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We were not expecting to stay at an orchard while visiting wineries but oh so glad we did. The cottage oozed charm and luxury, was light and airy and contained everything you could possibly need. You just knew the bed was going to be comfortable before you even got in it. Trish and Peter are wonderful hosts, genuinely delightful people, we were made to feel welcome the moment we arrived. Trish cooked us a yummy breakfast, freshly laid eggs, homemade jams,fruits from their orchard including the best tasting grapefruit ever. The gardens are stunning. Trish your roses are gorgeous. Ryland Estate is heavenly. The only regret we have is that we were only there one night, you definately need longer. Personally I could stay forever!
Heather and Tim Clarke, Australia

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My one night stay at the Ryland Estate was a highlight in my two month trip to New Zealand. Every detail about the room was meticulously and carefully designed to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. I enjoyed the fresh fruit in the room, the decor, the quality of the linen, all carefully crafted to create an ambiance of relaxation and luxury. I should not sign off without mentioning the gourmet breakfast served in the main house by the hosts. This was by far the best and loveliest breakfast I have ever had. The table was exquisitely set and the food all freshly made including home made breads and pastries, jams, stewed fruit and omelet. I would have stayed several days had I had more time and I will go back on my next trip to New Zealand.

Madeleine Ménard
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeleine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My husband, son, daughter-in-law and 7 year old grandson spent five days at the Ryland Estate for Christmas. The apartment was beautifully furnished with many, many amenities. Our hosts Peter & Trish Taylor were delightful. Trish had our kitchen stocked with fresh eggs (from their hens), bread, cheese, yogurt, coffee, bacon, poached rhubard (Trish made), jams, jellies and so on. The apartment had fresh flowers from Trish's amazing gardens. And not to forget the wonderful cherries from their orchard! It was a perfect "home away from home" for our Christmas

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

After 2 days kayaking in the Abel Tasman this was the perfect place to relax and reload our battery. With great views on the orchard, fresh fruit on the table and in the fridge and a lovely better home away from home (ensuite bathroom for both the bedrooms) this place was heaven! I would recommend to everyone needing a relaxt place to stay in the Blenheim/Marlborourgh region.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daphny_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Peter & Trish made our stay memorable and incredibly welcoming. Our boys loved the ride on mower and we loved the afternoon drinks overlooking the orchard chatting with our hosts and sharing traveling stories. The fruit from the orchard was divine and reminded us of how fruit tasted as a child. The accommodation was lovely, comfortable, with the added touches of home.
If you mention Greg & Penny from Sydney, I am sure Peter will play the spoons for you after a few wines!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
4.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
6.7 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#4 of 43 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 22 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
6.6 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryland Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryland Estate

Property: Ryland Estate
Address: 92 Pauls Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryland Estate offers self contained accommodation set within our cherry and stone fruit orchards and overlooking our large garden. A tranquil retreat 15 minutes from Blenheim we're in the midst of Marlborough's finest vineyards and a short walk/cycle to many of our best cellar doors/restaurants. Enjoy breakfast prepared from our seasonal fruits and free range eggs. Trish would also be delighted to prepare a traditional New Zealand meal of local produce and wines to match. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ryland Estate Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing