We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B!”
Review of Ryland Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ryland Estate
Ranked #11 of 42 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect B&B!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Our stay at Ryland estates couldn't have been more perfect! We arrived and were instantly greeted by Peter, who led us through the amazing gardens and to our above-barn cottage. The accommodations were cozy and it felt like we were staying at my uncle's farm. There was fresh fruit waiting for us on the table. And fixings for coffee and tea. But that wasn't all. The small fridge was stocked with farm-fresh bacon, homemade jams, and there were fresh eggs, too. Peter gave suggestions on which wineries to go to the next day. And he helped make dinner reservations for us at Herzog & The Vintners Hotel. At night we sat on the deck and looked up at the billions of stars in the night sky. I couldn't recommend this slice of serenity more highly!

Room Tip: We stayed in the barn. I would highly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A couple of nights in the Cottage after hiking the Queen Charlotte Track... only a hot tub to soak our weary selves in would have topped our stay (but that shower's pretty good) :-)
After a few hiccups with the online booking system, arranging our stay via email was easygoing. Peter and Trish were wonderful hosts. Trish prepared a fantastic brekky on our first morning there, and kindly arranged brekky in our room for our early departure the next. The Cottage was comfy and tastefully decorated, with a fully-equipped kitchenette and laundry. All this, in a beautiful garden and orchard setting with some of the region's top wineries only minutes away, what more could you ask for? Thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzukzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We travelled as a family of 8 and stayed in both the Barn and the Cottage. Trish and Peter had been wonderful hosts, going into the details and providing us with fresh fruits off their orchard and food. The 2 properties were beautifully furnished, making us feel at home straight away. The grounds were also impeccable - countless pictures were taken by our 2 mothers. Needless to say, the taste of their cherries and apricots are simply the best - we even brought 12kg back home. and such great and peaceful location to explore the many famous surrounding vineyards. We would highly recommend Ryland Estate to our family and friends. Thanks again for a wonderful stay, Trish and Peter!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-KT_Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I decided on this place one day before arriving and made an online booking via some booking portal. However, upon arriving, we realised that our hosts, Peter and Trish, did not receive the booking. Very fortunately, they were not expecting anyone and made quick arrangements to settle us in the Barn.
Stepping into the Barn, there was a lot of oohs, aahs, wows... It's a cosy home away from home. Rooms were beautifully decorated and there's a window next to the dining table which overlooks the vineyard next door.
Indeed like what others described, it's a beautiful garden outside the Barn. Flowering plants, shy doves and the greenery were just heavenly treat for the soul. It's just such simple joy to be able to roam around the picturesque garden and relax in the warm sunshine.Trish offered us their cherries and they were the best we've tried. After trying those from the Rylands, the other cherries were just passable. My husband love the grapefruits and the jams made by Trish.
When we arrived at the estate, I had a slight sprained ankle. Peter offered me ice packs which really helped to reduce the swell. We were grateful that the next day, I was good enough to walk and we even attempted a quick cycle along the river behind the estate.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Ryland Estate is private and tranquil and even has doves roosting in the trees. The garden is exquisite and being able to wander around such a beautiful setting is very special. Drinks on the patio looking at the manicured lawns, well tended vegie garden and mature fruit trees and ornamentals is a real treat. It is also very close to some excellent vineyards: Giesen, Wairau River, No 1 and Nautilus. The fruit and the breakfast provided was first class and the welcome very special too.We stayed in the barn apratment and it is beaitifully decorated and furnished making you feel as if you are in someones cherished home. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay at your barn accommodation. Everything is beautifully appointed, the grounds and gardens stunning, accommodation is very comfortable and the apricots and cherries are the best ever! Peter and Trish made us feel very welcome and were lovely hosts. We really enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation recommending Ryland Estate.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Taylor266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed recently in the Barn. We absoutely adored the place. Peter and Trish are a delight - they kept giving us fruits and veggies from their garden, which we devoured daily. The Barn itself is gorgeous - the decor is excellent, the apartment very comfortable, the kitchen well stocked for your vacation cooking. Trust me, I am not one to cook on vacations, but the New Zealand lamb and the grill at the house were just too big of a temptation. Pair that with fresh salad and tomatoes from the garden, along with some corn and wine fmor the next door winery and you can pretty much picture the perfect idyllic vacation. The estate is very child friendly - our toddler had a ball running around the lawn, getting wet under the sprinklers or riding the tractor with Peter. The house is surrounded by tens of wineries, which we went exploring every day. The house also has all modern amenities, including wireless internet and cable TV.
The Ryland is a place to return to every year. We left it with heavy hearts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ognianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
0.8 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.7 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
630 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
4.5 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#3 of 42 in Blenheim
167 reviews
2.5 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryland Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryland Estate

Property: Ryland Estate
Address: 92 Pauls Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryland Estate offers self contained accommodation set within our cherry and stone fruit orchards and overlooking our large garden. A tranquil retreat 15 minutes from Blenheim we're in the midst of Marlborough's finest vineyards and a short walk/cycle to many of our best cellar doors/restaurants. Enjoy breakfast prepared from our seasonal fruits and free range eggs. Trish would also be delighted to prepare a traditional New Zealand meal of local produce and wines to match. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ryland Estate Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing