We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ASURE Sundowner Motel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Friendly people”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Found this a great base for visiting Blenheim. Close to the airport. Great little shopping centre across the road with a lovely cafe. Lovely walks around the area. Short car drive to some nice takeaway shops and not too far from town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    29
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
36
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2012

As first time guests we were well and truly impressed by the friendly welcome we received when checking in. A quick tour of our unit and we had no questions at all. Very helpful hosts even set up a cot for my daughter. My friend and I, along with my 1 year old daughter stayed in the 1 bedroom spa unit with 2 king size beds. we were thoroughly impressed with the spa, and are glad we chose this unit purely on the spa itself. THE BEST spa in a motel ever! Plenty of hot water to fill the spa and extremly relaxing! I would recommend staying at the sundowner motel to anyone. Thanks very much for the stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khloe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Khloe and Family - appreciate the time you've spent reviewing ASURE Sundowner Motel. Really appreciate your effort and your feedback and look forward to seeing you again when next you're in Blenheim.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

As repeat guests at the ASURE Sundowner Motel we always enjoy the welcome we receive from our hosts - Doug & Dorothy - we always request unit 2 which has a double spa bath which we both can relax and enjoy. The unit is always spotlessly clean, well maintained, and has everything we require. The 50 PLUS Sky Channels is an added bonus. Thank you once again Doug & Dorothy.

Helen D Tucker

Room Tip: Unit 2 is fabulous, theres nothing more relaxing than having a spa, just lie back and relax, it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Helen, thank you for taking the time to review ASURE Sundowner Motel. It is appreciated. We always endeavour to make our guests welcome and enjoy their time in Marlborough. Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Kia Ora Travelers, four of us stayed in the 1 bedroom unit with 2 king beds and double spa unit. The unit itself was lovely and clean and the staff were kind but unfortunately there's very limited hot water. You can only fill the spa bath once, then you have no hot water left, due to the small hot water cylinder the unit runs off. There was no information informing us of this before we booked, had we have known prior to reading the notice in the bathroom as we filled the spa, I would've booked elsewhere. It didn't only disturb the spa, but also when we all showered in the morning one of us ran out of hot water. This was very upsetting for some of us. Motels should be running off an unlimited hot water system. This was the main reason our experience was of poor quality but also for the beverages there was only tea and coffee, no other beverage without caffeine like milo or herbal tea. Also the beverages didn't get refilled while we were there for the 2 nights either.

Room Tip: ask how much hot water your unit runs off
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hainz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The unit has a 200 litre hot water cylinder which is adequate to fill the double spa bath once only, and the hot water once drained will be reheated by the next morning, and the 200 litre cylinder should be adequate for 4 people to shower. We don't have unlimited supply of hot water in any unit, whether a spa unit or executive unit. All units have a 200 litre hot water cylinder.
We offer Dilmah Tea, Robert Harris Swiss Coffee, Decaf Coffee, Tutarara Plunger Coffee, Equal and Sugar and if the supplies were not replenished in this instance, then this is an oversight on our part and we apologise.
In the 11 years we have been hosts at ASURE Sundowner Motel we have always received wonderful feedback, have a good rapport with all guests and have excellent repeat visitors - and do take onboard this guests feedback.
Regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Appreciated the welcoming, friendly host, the unit was nice and clean. I got a fabulous recommd for nearby take away lovely fresh blue cod and fat free chips for dinner. The Unit was nicely warmed up ready for a great sleep before my big drive south.
The supermarket accross the road was handy and had friendly staff too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Robyn, appreciate the time you took to review our ASURE Sundowner Motel property. Look forward to your visiting us again. Thank you very much.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Dorothy and Doug are well suited in their roles as moteliers and run a very well organised motel.
If you are looking for clean, well appointed, easy accessible and flexible accomodation then Sundowner is your best option to stay at in Blenheim. We have stayed before and visiting elderly family nearby meant this was the ideal spot. Dorothy and Doug assist with anything - just ask !
We had extra people arrive last minute who could be accommodated and our previous stay had lots of other little issues that were easily dealt with - sending faxes, iced over car windscreens, last minute bookings, our laundry done for us and after our most recent trip they have even done another favour when asked as we are based in the North Island.Nothing seems to be too much trouble for this team.
We encourage you to enhance your stay and try the Sundowner ! Marie and John

Room Tip: We just stayed in room 3 and has the hugest spa bath ! two king beds with separated sleeping quarter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelllers-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Marie & John, thank you very much for taking the time to review ASURE Sundowner Motel. Always lovely to have you as guests and thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Always stay with Dorothy and Doug when visiting family in Blenheim. The cleanest, best motel we stay at around the country. Post Shop/chemist/supermarket across the road. Highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Hosts always give us the King executive suite if possible. Nice quiet area at back, with line to dry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethGoldsworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Middle Park Motel
Middle Park Motel
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ellena Court Motel
Ellena Court Motel
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lugano Motor Lodge
Lugano Motor Lodge
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Sundowner Motel

Property: ASURE Sundowner Motel
Address: 132 Middle Renwick Road | Springlands, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — ASURE Sundowner Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Sundowner Motel in Blenheim, Marlborough, NZ is ASURE Rated 4 Star, and is an ideal motel complex for business and pleasure. Maurice, Kerryn and Kyra offer you quality, well appointed, self-contained, spacious, ground floor units with parking directly outside the door. ASURE Sundowner Motel is renowned for its quietness and the convenience of Springlands Shopping Complex directly opposite. We have Guest Select 50 Plus SKY Channels. We provide our business guests with competitive rates and chargeback facilities. With the Wine District on our doorstep, the beautiful Marlborough Sounds to the North, and Kaikoura and Nelson within easy reach, the ASURE Sundowner Motel is ideally placed for you to enjoy all aspects of the Marlborough Region. We are the Blenheim members of the ASURE Accommodation Group which consists of quality, independently owned and operated accommodation properties throughout New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ASURE Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ASURE Sundowner Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing