We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ASURE Sundowner Motel
Nearby Hotels
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
171 on High Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlborough Vintners Hotel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic Hotel Marlborough(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston Court Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,168
US$978
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Marlborough(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Admirals Motor Lodge(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blenheim Palms Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
45
29
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
29
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadsouth islandcomfortable bedslovely poolswimming poolexcellent locationone nightstayed for nightson arrivalgreat place to staysundownerssupermarketunitmotelhostswifilaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Found this a great base for visiting Blenheim. Close to the airport. Great little shopping centre across the road with a lovely cafe. Lovely walks around the area. Short car drive to some nice takeaway shops and not too far from town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

As first time guests we were well and truly impressed by the friendly welcome we received when checking in. A quick tour of our unit and we had no questions at all. Very helpful hosts even set up a cot for my daughter. My friend and I, along with my 1 year old daughter stayed in the 1 bedroom spa unit with 2 king size beds. we were thoroughly impressed with the spa, and are glad we chose this unit purely on the spa itself. THE BEST spa in a motel ever! Plenty of hot water to fill the spa and extremly relaxing! I would recommend staying at the sundowner motel to anyone. Thanks very much for the stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khloe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Khloe and Family - appreciate the time you've spent reviewing ASURE Sundowner Motel. Really appreciate your effort and your feedback and look forward to seeing you again when next you're in Blenheim.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

As repeat guests at the ASURE Sundowner Motel we always enjoy the welcome we receive from our hosts - Doug & Dorothy - we always request unit 2 which has a double spa bath which we both can relax and enjoy. The unit is always spotlessly clean, well maintained, and has everything we require. The 50 PLUS Sky Channels is an added bonus. Thank you once again Doug & Dorothy.

Helen D Tucker

Room Tip: Unit 2 is fabulous, theres nothing more relaxing than having a spa, just lie back and relax, it's so refreshing
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Helen, thank you for taking the time to review ASURE Sundowner Motel. It is appreciated. We always endeavour to make our guests welcome and enjoy their time in Marlborough. Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Kia Ora Travelers, four of us stayed in the 1 bedroom unit with 2 king beds and double spa unit. The unit itself was lovely and clean and the staff were kind but unfortunately there's very limited hot water. You can only fill the spa bath once, then you have no hot water left, due to the small hot water cylinder the unit runs off. There was no information informing us of this before we booked, had we have known prior to reading the notice in the bathroom as we filled the spa, I would've booked elsewhere. It didn't only disturb the spa, but also when we all showered in the morning one of us ran out of hot water. This was very upsetting for some of us. Motels should be running off an unlimited hot water system. This was the main reason our experience was of poor quality but also for the beverages there was only tea and coffee, no other beverage without caffeine like milo or herbal tea. Also the beverages didn't get refilled while we were there for the 2 nights either.

Room Tip: ask how much hot water your unit runs off
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hainz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback. The unit has a 200 litre hot water cylinder which is adequate to fill the double spa bath once only, and the hot water once drained will be reheated by the next morning, and the 200 litre cylinder should be adequate for 4 people to shower. We don't have unlimited supply of hot water in any unit, whether a spa unit or executive unit. All units have a 200 litre hot water cylinder.
We offer Dilmah Tea, Robert Harris Swiss Coffee, Decaf Coffee, Tutarara Plunger Coffee, Equal and Sugar and if the supplies were not replenished in this instance, then this is an oversight on our part and we apologise.
In the 11 years we have been hosts at ASURE Sundowner Motel we have always received wonderful feedback, have a good rapport with all guests and have excellent repeat visitors - and do take onboard this guests feedback.
Regards Dorothy & Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Appreciated the welcoming, friendly host, the unit was nice and clean. I got a fabulous recommd for nearby take away lovely fresh blue cod and fat free chips for dinner. The Unit was nicely warmed up ready for a great sleep before my big drive south.
The supermarket accross the road was handy and had friendly staff too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Robyn, appreciate the time you took to review our ASURE Sundowner Motel property. Look forward to your visiting us again. Thank you very much.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews