We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service from a dedicated team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ASURE Sundowner Motel
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic service from a dedicated team”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Room was delightfully presented and thoroughly cleaned during our four night stay. The service was far better than the so called resort hotel where we stayed the night before checking in here; bathroom was more spacious and the tea and coffee were replenished daily. Everything worked well with the exception of the abysmally slow internet but this appears common to all the NZ establishments we have stayed at in the last month; second world countries like Morocco and most of SE Asia have far faster WiFi speeds and much lower costs - usually free as it was in this excellent establishment. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ocassi0nal_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our ASURE Sundowner Motel complex and we look forward to you visiting when you're next in Blenheim. Time is so precious these days so when guests take the time to review our complex, it is really appreciated, so thanks again.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    29
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
36
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

In Blenheim for a wedding and stayed overnight at the Sundowner. Very clean and very comfortable beds and lovely friendly owner. Location was good with supermarket directly across road. Would definitely stay again if back in Blenheim.

Room Tip: Could suggest a back unit if possible just to reduce the road noise which wasn't really that bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitebait2NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review ASURE Sundowner Motel and pleased you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to hosting next time you are in the area. Yes, we have a great location with the supermarket and shopping centre opposite and the Speights Ale House for meals 120 metres away - walking distance. Thank you once again.
Have a great year ahead.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our last two nights of our trip to the South Island was spent at this delightful motel in Blenheim. Last time we stayed here was 2011, the weekend the All Blacks won the World Cup. We had a enjoyable stay then and this visit was equally good. Our hosts are very helpful and pleasant. The unit is spotless, the pool lovely and the gardens well manicured. We had a lovely day going round the wine yards, Brancott Estate being the highlight. Blenheim is a lovely town and we will certainly be back and have no hesitation recommending this Motel. Thank you for a nice end to a delightful holiday in the Mainland.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for staying again at ASURE Sundowner Motel, always pleasant to see guests who have stayed previously, and for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Blenheim. Pleased you enjoyed your visit to Blenheim and enjoyed getting out and about and seeing some of what Blenheim has to offer. Have a great year ahead.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have had the enjoyable pleasure of staying at Asure Sundowner in Blenheim for 8 nights in total, We even made a weekend trip away to wellington and it was not a problem to leave our extra baggage and food in a fridge for the weekend, they even offered to park our car up for the weekend for them. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone who was going to Blemheim to stay for any length of time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review ASURE Sundowner Motel. It was a pleasure having you stay and we are pleased you enjoyed our facilities.
Look forward to having you stay again on your next visit to Blenheim.
Have a great year ahead.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A very nice place to stay on our first night in the South Island.

The Motel is handy to the newly opened Speights Alehouse and we went there for a meal.

The motel room was up to the usual excellent standard of Asure motels.

Highly recommend to travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review ASURE Sundowner Motel and for using our ASURE properties on your travels. We appreciate it.
Merry Xmas & all the Best for 2014.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darfield, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have the pleasure of staying at the Asure Sundowner in Blenheim twice yearly and can honestly say that it is a very comfortable home away from home. Outstanding hosts Doug and Dorothy treat you superbly. Great people. Can't recommend the Asure Sundowner Motel in Blenheim high enough. To stay elsewhere is letting yourself down.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night in a studio room. Everything was spotless and comfortable. I especially enjoyed the very comfortable bed and the lovely pillows. The owners Doug and Dorothy are very welcoming, passionate and knowledgable about the local area.
They encouraged us to visit Monkey Bay, Peter Yealands winery with a self drive around, and viewing the seal pups on the way to Kaikoura. We did all of these and are so pleased they recommended them.
There is a shopping centre across the road from the motel which includes a garden centre with a cafe. Great location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
1.1 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#23 of 32 in Blenheim
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Middle Park Motel
Middle Park Motel
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cherylea Motel
Cherylea Motel
#18 of 32 in Blenheim
50 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centre Court Motel
Centre Court Motel
#11 of 32 in Blenheim
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admirals Motor Lodge
Admirals Motor Lodge
#21 of 32 in Blenheim
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Sundowner Motel

Property: ASURE Sundowner Motel
Address: 132 Middle Renwick Road | Springlands, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — ASURE Sundowner Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Sundowner Motel in Blenheim, Marlborough, NZ is ASURE Rated 4 Star, and is an ideal motel complex for business and pleasure. Maurice, Kerryn and Kyra offer you quality, well appointed, self-contained, spacious, ground floor units with parking directly outside the door. ASURE Sundowner Motel is renowned for its quietness and the convenience of Springlands Shopping Complex directly opposite. We have Guest Select 50 Plus SKY Channels. We provide our business guests with competitive rates and chargeback facilities. With the Wine District on our doorstep, the beautiful Marlborough Sounds to the North, and Kaikoura and Nelson within easy reach, the ASURE Sundowner Motel is ideally placed for you to enjoy all aspects of the Marlborough Region. We are the Blenheim members of the ASURE Accommodation Group which consists of quality, independently owned and operated accommodation properties throughout New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ASURE Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ASURE Sundowner Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing