We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Uncomfortable Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Uncomfortable Bed”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Renovation was done very well. Room was cleverly designed and compact. However,the hotel should invest and upgrade its bed quality as it is most uncomfortable. Because of the bed, I am not going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smurfette26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is certainly interesting to hear your comments in the matter of the bed, as the hotel and indeed the hotel group have invested a large amount of time, money and research in ensuring that our guests have a good night sleep. This has been reitterated by the large amount of positive comments. In saying this however, we will be investigating the bed that was in your room to ensure that there are no problems that we were unaware of. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    142
    23
    7
    0
See reviews for
27
178
15
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
christchurch new zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Scenic Hotel in Blenheim last weekend. The hotel is unusual and dated looking from the outside, but a recent refurbishment has turned the inside into a clean, modern, modern and comfortable hotel.
Mat at checkin was polite and efficient. Our room was spacious with a most comfortable bed. The mattress had a topper on it and was great. Pillows were good too, and there was a menu of pillows available. Good toiletries in the bathroom with a small bag available to enable guests to take away their unused toiletries. There is a swimming pool outside which, unfortunately for us, was too warm to be refreshing in the beautiful Marlborough weather.
We look forward to returning. Memmi

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
It was a pleasure to host you and, as with other guests that are not too far away, we look forward to seeing you when you revisit the hotel. We are getting great feedback in regards to our refurbishment and your comments certainly reitterate this. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the scenic Hotel Marlborough. We paid $109 a night on a no cancellation/no change deal. I think the normal price was $169 a night. We had a top floor renovated room that was simply outstanding value. We loved the room. Great comfy bed with pillow top mattress. Big flat screen tv you can watch from bed. Two chairs and small table and a work station. Great, although compact bathroom. Loved that they had a sign encouraging you to take away unused toiletries and gave you a bag to put them in. You have free access to the local Anytime Fitness gym about 500m away. We did not eat in the restaurant as we had meals provided elsewhere but the menu looked promising. There was a small pool outside. We would have been happy to pay full price and after having stayed at many other big name hotels around NZ feel that this was one of the best...and definitely the best value. Look forward to another chance to stay here.

Room Tip: Top floor room with sky light windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for your fantastic comments of which we have passed onto our staff. Christchurch is not too far away and we would be happy to host you again. Our Mondrians restaurant is receiving great comments so you must try this when you nest visit. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This hotel is recently renovated and it's nicely done. We had a good stay here, although we were not completely in the mood thanks to a car crash... The staff was nice to us though and we slept well. This is the kind of hotel we would like to stay in more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for your comments, and trust that your crash did not affect your visit to this region too much. The staff are great at what they do and your comments certainly reinforce this. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Excellent hotel refurbished to very high standard with the modern feel. Very clean throughout. The refurbishment is I think about 95% complete with a couple of public rooms near completion close to the reception area.Dinning area modern and bright with attentative staff on hand. Breakfasts good with large choice.
Reception staff very helpful, although internet access is a hefty 5 dollars to use.
Great touch on departure. Staff saw coach off with basket of fruit for us trippers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_baron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. The multi million dollar refurbishment finishes on 5th December and we are getting great reviews from both guests and the tourism industry. If you are ever back in New Zealand, please look us up. regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This hotel has just had a major makeover and we arrived a few days before completion. Our room was well fitted out and absolutely spotless.The service was exceptionally helpful. The hotel is next to the gardens and a short stroll to the central area and the riverside railway. Try the Scotch Bar which is the main outlet for Wired beers. In-room wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chase_Mollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. We are very proud of the new refurbishment and your comments certainly help us fell that we have got this right!. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

At the time I visited the hotel was being refurbished, but the disruption was very much kept to a minimum. The rooms are ultra modern, almost too clinically clean and white in decor, and with every electronic gadget and connection to the outside world you can think of. The staff are unbelievably friendly, though one senses a certain way of training them has this result! I did not eat in the restaurant as I thought the menu looked too fussy and avant garde, a bit pricey too. I had to pay for the wi-fi which in this day and age seemed unnecessary, and it was expensive. I would though recommend this as a place to stay as it is very convenient walking into town and only three blocks away fro an excellent Supermarket.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine on either side of the main corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thank you very much for your review. As you have seen, the refurbishment has been very successful with many fantastic comments. The staff are great and also receive many positive remarks. We forward to hosting you again. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
624 reviews
6.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
204 reviews
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.2 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Property: Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Address: 65 Alfred Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand (Formerly Heartland Hotel Marlborough)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Marlborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Marlborough is a contemporary and stylish property located in the heart of sunny Marlborough. The result of a multi-million dollar upgrade of the former Heartland Hotel Marlborough, Scenic Hotel Marlborough offers guests the ultimate in modern comfort and service. Located in the heart of Marlborough, the hotel is just minutes' walk from the centre of Blenheim, and puts some of New Zealand's finest food and wine virtually on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Blenheim
Scenic Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing